Diesel economy for city driving

Thread: Diesel economy for city driving

Diesel economy for city driving

Well known fact that the diesels will do the best fuel economy on the open high way compared to a petrol engine - but how are they for day to day city traffic driving? Any draw backs/

Considering Prado or Pajero turbo diesel.

Re: Diesel economy for city driving

I notice little or no change in mine. Bare in mind that it's a 2.8 TD Rodeo 4x4, 10L/100km is the worst it's been.

I figure load and the size of the right foot have an effect. I get in the high 8lts per 100 around town out of a Fordza 2.5TD. I've only had it for a few months. With a load and towing a trailer, fuel usage gets up towards 10/100 if there are hills involved. I don't push it hard and I'm very happy with the economy. I'll be doing an unloaded run to Mackay next month and I'll be able to get a highway figure then.

Brenden

I live in hills.... Everywhere I need to go as a daily commuter is around hills.

The main thing is whether anyone has a Pajero or Prado of reasonably late model who can comment on them as a city commuter in hilly areas.

Fuel economy is obviously important compared to the petrol engines but what about maintenance as well. Do they need more injector maintenance etc from short trips in traffic in hilly areas?

Does anyone have fuel economy figures for the petrol models (Pajero and Prado), and someone else the figures for the diesel models?

IMO changing your driving style to suit a diesel it will out perform a petrol car (same specs) in the economy part.

Mate has a 4lt v6 prado gets around 16lt/100 on town runs and around 14 on highway.

I have a 2005 NP turbo diesel auto Pajero. Most of its life is spent being driven by the missus around town and she gets between 9-11L/100 this depends on how heavy the right foot is at the time. The highway figures are down in the 8L/100 area and towing a 493F Signature loaded up for a week away with the wife kids dog etc etc... returns around 9.5-10L/100 cruising at 100km/h. I am rapt with the performance and economy of the vehicle having previously owned Falcon wagons etc which were good to tow with but cr@p on fuel around town. The resale of a turbo diesel is always going to be better than an equivelent petrol model. The manual Pajero can get slightly better economy but after driving one I found the turbo lag between shifts was annoying, this is not an issue with the 5 speed auto which can be shifted manually anyway. Regular serviceing is important ie oil and filter changes, injector services maybe every 100-150 thousand k's but if regular services are carried out they should last for ages. If you want to know any more give me a hoy.

Cheers and Beers
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

you find a diesel economy will not vary much between most driving conditions
    thats is one of there strengths

as far as h/way is concerned,,, i found the comparasion between the old bravo and the new hilux that close it doesn't bear any great difference

other than the bravo was a 2.5ltr turbo diesel vs a 3ltr v6 petrol

after the rebuild on the bravo i was averaging around 450/500 km's to a tank,,, from memory they hold around 80 litres which is roughly 6 1/2 litres per 100,,,all of which is mainly h/way with a round trip of 180 km's day,,,,6 days a week

the 'lux holds 200 litres,,, and i'm getting no less than 1300 k's per tank,,, which again is roughly the same,,,

i cruise on 110/120 in ""most areas"" but haven't changed my driving in any way from old to new,,,other than i have fewer fuel stops per week than before due to the long range tank

when you compare diesel to unleaded,,, the s/shine coast is cheaper on most days than brissie,,, especially on tuesday/wednesdays,,, so if i really go into it,,, i haven't really gone backwards in that department either,,, example being last fuel was wednesday at the local liberty,,, ULP 186ltrs at $1.10/ltr = $205,,,

diesel was $1.21 per litre and was the same on the way back home

not in any way inferring that the bravo was not as good as the 'lux,,,, if the damn thing didn't cause so much grief towards the end it would still be part of the fleet,,, and even though i had reservations on the 'lux at first,,, its sorta grown on me,,,,

a bit

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Talking Re: Diesel economy for city driving

Quote Originally Posted by choppa View Post

after the rebuild on the bravo i was averaging around 450/500 km's to a tank,,, from memory they hold around 80 litres which is roughly 6 1/2 litres per 100,,,all of which is mainly h/way with a round trip of 180 km's day,,,,6 days a week

the 'lux holds 200 litres,,, and i'm getting no less than 1300 k's per tank,,, which again is roughly the same,,,
    My maths may be off; but wouldn't that be 6.5km/L; not 6.5L/100km
    6.5L/100 for 1300 (6.5*13) would be 84.5L used
    200/1300=15.38

The most important point is the economy between the 2 is the same.

QldKev

i realised i had it back to front after i posted it kev,,,,, meant to edit it but got caught short by phones,,,, then forgot

your right in your maths,,,, but as shown,,,, there fairly close in comparison,,,

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

True Blue

I have a 2003 Prado TD. Standard tyres, no towing and averages are as follows :

Highway 11 l/100k

City (Brissy suburbs ongoing nightmare lack of foresight Council etc) 12 l/100k

Excuse my rant, but there is my 2 cents worth.

Seamus

Depends on the cars you are comparing?

eg. Our rodeo diesels are great around town for enconomy, but due to gearing tend to use it on the highway.

Compared to one of the 6 speed 6 litre SS utes we have which drink like a fish around town, but are at around 10l/100 on the highway???? (Cruises at well less than 2000 rpm in 6th.)

Quote Originally Posted by GBC View Post
    Depends on the cars you are comparing?

eg. Our rodeo diesels are great around town for enconomy, but due to gearing tend to use it on the highway.

Compared to one of the 6 speed 6 litre SS utes we have which drink like a fish around town, but are at around 10l/100 on the highway???? (Cruises at well less than 2000 rpm in 6th.)
    a very fair call gbc,,,, from memory cruising on 120k's in the bravo was around 3000rpm,,,, (i'll get shot here),,, in the lux with overdrive,,, around 2100,,,

i drive and or drove both via the gps,,, so the tacho didn't/doesn't get much of a look see,,,

much the same tho when beach driving,,, i can vouch the bravo had more grunt and was a more ""easier"" truck to handle,,, but then again it probably weighed a few hundred kg's less ,,,

I recently did a test on the Patrol, used the subtank ( 30 litres) and 3/4 of the main ( around 75litres and got 800klms driving from Vicci Point to the city... ( also just had the car serviced so I reckon that helped a lot). No heavy loads and mainly 60-80klm per hr speeds on those roads.

Also didnt have all the usual recovery gear and tools boxes in either so reckon it would probably dip back to 700 klms. I know really rough figures but hey for all its worth

We have a TD 04 Prado, and do't put more than $50 a week in for town drivin. No point puttin 180lt in and luggin that around town. Only fill up when you hit the high way.