That was mad, makes me wish i still had my old lux. Got a 80 series now in good nick & want 2 keep it that way. Thanks 4 the laugh, brought back some good memories.
BenDover, Coils, 3 Link, trailer?? You have a serious problem there!! LOL
That is my idea with the old ute too, doesn't matter if it gets bashed up. Finances aren't there at the moment though.
I'm keen to do a run out to one of the parks, maybe a M&G. What do you think Phil? I've heard Levuka is really good, but have heard that Rover is too dry, really dusty. Don't know if any of the rain down south made it that far up.
I think I'm going to have to set up that camera mount in the lux hey Phil, would have been good on that hill we went up at Mt Mee.
May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line
Ho Yeh, spoke to my panel beater mate yesterday. He reckons he can modify the front guards to fit 33's. He would be able to keep a nice line and a factory look to it, but got to find if the larger tyres will foul the suspension components. I hope not!!
This means that with a body lift I might be able to fit 35's.
May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line
Been a cruiser boy all my life, i will be the first to agree that patrol drive train is the best!!!! Chassi on cruiser is better but everything patrol wins hands down, accept power . Cant beat the rear centre mounted diffs. Even the lsd works well. But oh yeah, you can break cv's and drive shafts. I have even seen super expensive rehardened cv's go snap! I have even broken (a supossed) unbreakable full detroit locker in my cruiser. Smashed the spider gears to peaces. I spent heaps and put a 60 series front diff centre and re enforced 60 series front diff housing in (instead of the pissy hilux ones that 75 series have) and then bent the tubes on the sides that the bearing go onto. So ya just cant win..... If ya drive it like wild man, you will find things to break.!!!! Atleast i can have laugh....
BD
and yeah brett 3 link on my trailer . But i used rhs and welded it all solid to the axle, so there arent any pivot points. It was pretty stiff suprisingly before i even put the panhard rod on. And NO "laugh" if your talking ifs hilux??? then no 35's mate. I had 2" body lift and 2 suspension and i didnt run flares and i still had to flatten the seem that runs under the door sils with a sleggy to run 33's. You can always go a superlift!!! Which just drops you lower wishbone arms under the diff centre and gives you 140mm lift in the front (but no extra wheel travel.)
ps. i luv hearing the cv's clicking and clunking when you get to the peak of the hill and it starts pig rooting .
Last edited by BenDover; 19-06-2007 at 06:15 PM.
i didn't say they wouldn't go , just you could be waiting a while dont compare them to hilux onesgees !!! there actually not that bad in the hilux's it's just when they use them in the 100 series cruisers that things go haywire
Chatting to robert at levuka one day , he reckons a 100 series does a cv every weekend of the year in the park
Hilux CV's are weak as p*ss.... just about as weak as their diffs.
Fair call that the GQ ones are strong yeah, but nowhere near as strong as a GU one, and certainly living on borrowed time if its driven as hard as it was up that hill too often.
Not sure about body lifting the new ones Brett, haven't they got airbags?
I know snake have got 35's under one of them, but that was with a sas and a lot of cash thrown at it.
Their new kit is limited to 33's simply because they can't body lift 'em.
http://carl.outerlimits4x4.com/viewt...ighlight=hilux
Try this thread as a start for the new lux's if you don't already have it.
C.J.
Hilux cv's arent too bad guess... But it all depends if you have 2 cv's (solid axle) or 4 cvs (Independant Front Suspension). Usually they break when steering is on full lock> then bounce, clunk and snap). Although ive seen a guy in a lux drive up this simple 2 metre hill and i heard a slight clunk and he rolled back down again backwards. I asked what was that noise and he said he had broken a cv "we both couldnt beleive it broke that easily". Having 4 makes them way weaker and adds to the amount of pressure applied to them.
Everybody keeps talking about having rear lockers. Personally id go rear locker first, then front. But really for 4x4ing you should go front locker first. As 90% of the time you can get your front tires up over something but dont have enough traction to pull yourself up and over it.
great pics i hope to go one day