Search for the 40cm+ bream

Thread: Search for the 40cm+ bream

Search for the 40cm+ bream

hi all,

headed back down the GC again last nite in search for 40cm+ bream. it was quite slow and quiet everywhere we went. we went to spot x for our final flick before we head home.

bream were smashing up my cut up bait. landed 2 large bream but not quite 40cm. 1 was a 38cm just 2cm shy of my target but still a nice catch with 6lbs. the other was 35cm.

my bro in law was flicking sp's and he landing quite a few undersized flatties. i saw him getting quite alot of fish so i decided to put a sp on. first cast.. waited abit.. winded in.. ah crap snag.. tried pulling it out, but then it started moving, i'm on.. it was a decent one.. fighting hard.. up comes a good size flatty. 50cm+. my first decent fish on sp. went home happy, but no 40cm+ bream.

maybe next week.

robbie

Re: Search for the 40cm+ bream

Not 40 but good enough in my books....
    ..Greg...."Termites pay the bills"..... Trailcraft 475...75 Hp E-Tec

hey mate,
    i also live on the Goldie and struggle to get descent bream in salt. i live on a fresh water canal and i have cracked the 40cm mark numerous times with my biggest goin 42cm. Awesome fish there mate good work. i hope i can start getting some decent ones in the salt too
    cheers Josh

Nice Breabo's mate, keep giving those placcy's a go mate.

Cheers WS

The old bream saved us in the wind saturday arvo,A couple of tearers there mate

thanks all for your comments..

sure is fun catching fish on SP's.. but at the moment i still prefer bait.. dont get me wrong i will still use both.. just some days bait will outfish plastics and some other days it's vice versa

robbie

Nice Bream there Robbie.Can I ask what bait did the job for you?Personally I get the BIG bream on small live poddy mullett,on a gang of small size1 hooks in a suicide pattern.

Ausfish Platinum Member alleycat's Avatar

Robbie ive had real good catches of bream on the culprit swim fin grub in motor oil colour, big w has them, match it with a jighead with a no/2 hook and you should go well, 3 inch berkley minnows in smelt scales also a good plastic for bream.

38s a ripper.

I reckon the big bream haven shown up yet. Give em another 3-4 weeks, then try mullet flesh at night.

Great catch mate. That 38 will become 40 over the years.........."the older I get the better I was" theory

Ausfish Gold Member

Thats still a great catch mate!

Cheers, Mick.

WOW well done! Nice to see some bream comming in to the Sea Way.

They are really good quality bream, congrats!

It's only a matter of time for the big one though, throw a cast net in the seaworld penguin pool when the staff are not looking, there's heaps of 40+ cm bream in there!! I'm sure they won't mind if you only keep one!!

Last edited by Scalem; 20-06-2007 at 10:12 PM.

Well compared to my zero Cm Bream and flat head you are doing extremely well. Once I get my act together in a coupla weeks and my ribs heal, I'll be heading out to try for some quality fish like this.. Nice haul mate

Hi Rob,

nice catch down there on the Goldy. I had never seen a bream bigger than my biggest of 38cm also. Until a few weeks ago i was chasing Barra up near mouth of the Fitzroy in Rocky. My mate who I was fishing with (who is not a fisherman) landed a silver bream 48cm, on a large live prawn under a float.

What is the biggest bream that anyone has heard of?

I think I attached a pic. Still learning....
    tourproexpeditions.com.au