Auto V Manual

Thread: Auto V Manual

Auto V Manual

I have no doubts that this is a well beaten topic with supporters from both camps, BUT....

I am about to purchase a new hilux or navara 4x4, with the hilux in front at the moment . Plannig on the dual cab diesel model. I have never driven an auto 4wd and only ever used manuals. I really have no idea what to get. I would like the auto, and a few guys I know that own auto's reckon they are great. However talk to the manual owners and they say the manual is better. It is pretty much going to be a recreation vehicle, plenty of beach trips right up the east coast with the odd trip to the outback, so plenty of highway work. So I geuss the question is who has made the switch and what are the pro's and con's?

Re: Auto V Manual

Hows it going mate
    In my personal opinion i prefer an auto for all 4wding except for soft sand.If you need to rock the vehicle out of a bog it almost impossible with an auto.
    In saying that though your owing capacity is greatly reduced with an auto ie:my auto patrol has a rating of 2.5t where as the manual is 3t
    Russ

Both are good and I have both. Own a 3.0 litre 93 model Pajero with a 5 speed manual and also have a 95 model 3.5 litre in an auto. Both do very well but I have to say that for 4wd'ing I prefer to drive the manual because I feel I have better control of the correct gear to suit the situation I am in. A good example of this is when traversing down steep hills. You can crawl your way down in low range nice and steady without even touching the brakes but I find the auto wants to get away on me given the same situations. Just my own personal preference really. Go the manual.

I changed to auto last year and have found it to be much better in most situations. The best part is when you get caught in traffic eg Gateway and can just crawl along without sitting on the clutch for 1/2 hour. Sand work seems to be easier despite going from a V8 petrol to a small diesel. Trailer manouvering is much easier as well

Its a VB or XXXX question, purely personal preference, for me an auto serves me well but I find myself subconsciously reaching for the non-existant gearstick occassionally, but beach work is pretty easy with the auto,

mike

Hey M8, if your going to be driving your new fourby on the beach, you will find that an auto will be easier and funnier to drive, this is because the trasitions of the gears are ultra smooth which will create the momemtum to never slow down through gear changes. You will also not have to concentrate on changing gears at the right time and all you have to think about is driving and fishin'. Although an auto is not going to beat a manual when is comes to really technical or rough driving, such as rock crailling. An auto is the best option as well for driving in traffic jams!

I have just bought a new auto diesel hilux, it does well on the sand and I prefer it in the soft stuff due to not have the loss of momentum when changing gears as stotty said. Plenty of power. But is a bit quick in low gear when going down steep hills, always having to use the brakes unlike in a manual. only problem I have had is when I have been doing a lot of beach driving all day, i.e. from one end of Fraser to the other and back on a day trip. I have had the A/T Oil temp warning light come on when driving in the soft stuff.
    Last edited by NMK; 10-06-2007 at 09:17 PM.

I had a 97 model Rodeo 2.8 t/d duel cab with 5 speed manual. Great vehicle and go anywhere.
    I now have an 03 Rodeo 3l t/d duel cab with auto trans.
    I have to say that the auto trans over the manual trans is far better. Start up put it in gear and away you go, on road or on the beach it is just so much easier and a said no momentum loss.
    I don't think i would go back to the manual trans again.
    Graeme

My opinion is (from all my experience). Auto is better and easier, even for hard 4x4ing. But manual is just much more fun.
    BD

Yep I have to agree with most of the posts. The auto is better for beach work and general driving and towing. I have a D40 Navara auto.

As with all things technology has improved this greatly, auto gearboxes today are heaps better than the old, my 100 series is auto and is brilliant, it has 2nd start for less wheel spin, (feels like having a clutch), power button that works by holding the gear until the accelerator is lifted (put in drive and hold a gear no need to shift between 1,2,drive) lock up torque converter that would solve NMK's problem by having the engine braking, over drive for the highway,,,,
    NMK by fitting a transmition cooler it will solve the overheating problem,, not sure if hilux's have them but they are cheap and easy to fit. So my choice go with the AUTO, they have come a long way....

its all about personal preference
    go test test drive a couple
    i drive a manual rodeo for work
    my mate has a auto landcruiser that i though was a bit poxy but after driving it it is easy to drive smooth any one can drive was his reasoning his wife wont drive a manual
    if you choose auto make sure you have a transmission cooler fitted spec for towing
    all the best

Quote Originally Posted by russ81 View Post
    Hows it going mate
    In my personal opinion i prefer an auto for all 4wding except for soft sand.If you need to rock the vehicle out of a bog it almost impossible with an auto.
    In saying that though your owing capacity is greatly reduced with an auto ie:my auto patrol has a rating of 2.5t where as the manual is 3t
    Russ
    russ i find this interesting,,, and i'm not doubting your comment as the new Ford Rangers are in the same boat,,, ie auto are 2.5 tonne vs manual at 3 tonne

normally autos are commonly higher in towing capacity,,, whether its a passenger or 4b,,, but the reason behind Ford is the gearbox,,, the truck can quite easily tow 3 tonne,,, but the 'box isn't designed for it,,,wondering if this is the same with your Patrol

Andy,, i've been a manual owner for years,,, all of my 4b's (and theres been a few of em) have been manual,,,, UNTIL this year

after i had the drama with the Bravo,,,, a nice 'lux came my way,,, and it was a concern before acquiring it due to it being Auto,,,but seeing that it only has to last 12-18 months we decided to take hold and test it out,,,

it's actually been quite good,,, i average over a 1000 k's a week,,,(mostly h/way) but when we do play around Bribie and the sunshine coast,,, i can truly say it hasn't given me any surprises,,,

theres been a few makes/models that i have been turned away from due to the auto's tending to overheat etc,,, BUT i haven't changed spots,,,next project is definately a manual,,, (with free wheeling hubs,,,, another thing that took a bit of time to get use too,,,,,)

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE