What reel do I need/want???

Thread: What reel do I need/want???

Question What reel do I need/want???

Gidday all,
    Well I've got my little project rod all finished and I've broken it to the cook that I haven't got a reel to use with it (and I even survived)
    So what reel will suit??
    It's a 6' Hastings blank rated 6-17lb with a chucking weight of 1/8-1/2oz.
    It's set up for an overhead reel and I want it to learn to chuck plastics.
    I probably won't catch anything on the plastics but I might learn how to throw something other then my Alvey's
    Money wise up to $250.
    So suggest away!!
    Cheers and ta

PS if anybody has something that may suit me and want to sell it...I'm open to suggestions as well.
    Last edited by finga; 09-06-2007 at 07:17 PM.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Re: What reel do I need/want???

Hi Scott

I recently picked up a great little overhead reel that would have done the job

Are you after a low profile or barrel style!! I would have though the low profile in a Shimano!!

Oh and the other thing...I hope you still have your patience...because those overhead bait casters sure take some getting used to!! I must have sat in my back yard flicking a small sinker at a log for hours and hours. Even then I regularly got birds nests etc. So good luck with it mate.

BilgeBoy

how dare yuo swear.......learn plastics??????????????????????? you been sniffing something? The dark side isnt luring you is it??????????????

MIke

mate if your chasing a nice easy to use and troublefree baitcaster,,,

theres no such thing

however,,, sitting beside that fuel tank in the shed thats got your name on it i have a shimano ""lexica lx100"",,,,

i can truly say that its been used about 3 times since new,,, and then i upgraded to the model that i emailed you re the rod blank query

still spooled with the same line that i bought with it

if its gunna help let me know,,,, i'll post a couple of pics for ya

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Quote Originally Posted by Marlin_Mike View Post
    how dare yuo swear.......learn plastics??????????????????????? you been sniffing something? The dark side isnt luring you is it??????????????

MIke
    Just for positive proof for me to say the buggers don't work...that's all.
    And I might be able to cast some else other then the 4 and 6" Alveys.
    Besides I need a new reel and another $15 Alvey isn't go to cut the mustard I"m afraid.
    Don't pick on me..I've been a bit crook

As for low profile or barrel....doesn't really matter to me.
    That should probably read.... Huh, what's he mean??..... Ah, Just kidding .
    I can't use either at the moment so the simple answer would probably be the easiest for unco-ordinated me to use.

I had a quick gander on the net Chop and couldn't find any info on that one. Have you got a link for the specs??

I have been looking into a Calcutta 200b but a bit wary because of two reasons. a) what I've read they say for use in freshwater and b) is it too big for the rod??
    Last edited by finga; 09-06-2007 at 07:47 PM.

Finga, if you are gonna use it to mainly throw spastics up to 1/2 oz, why not go for a spinning reel? depending on the type of reel-seat you built into the rod (trigger?), shouldn't be a drama. I can see no benefit using a baitcastor over a small eggbeater for the intended purpose. PLUS, you will cast further with the egg....

Just food for thought.

Damo
    Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.

Thanks for the input Deiter but with the type of pistol grip it has that's impossible.
    Cheers Scott

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    Thanks for the input Deiter but with the type of pistol grip it has that's impossible.
    Cheers Scott
    Don't forget old mate "Hacksaw"
    He can make the impossible possible.
    Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.

Do you plan on casting below 1/8th of an ounce? What are you chasing with them?

The lighter wieghts you try to throw the harder it will be to avoid birds nests.

If you aren't going below 1/8 of an once I would probably go a Daiwa HRF. Mate picked one up yesterday from anaconda (got them to match an online store then take 10% off the difference) Ended up just in your price bracket. Competing Shimano in that price bracket is the Chronach.

If you want to cast much lighter weights, well, good luck.

Quote Originally Posted by RobGoesFish View Post
    Do you plan on casting below 1/8th of an ounce? What are you chasing with them?

The lighter wieghts you try to throw the harder it will be to avoid birds nests.

If you aren't going below 1/8 of an once I would probably go a Daiwa HRF. Mate picked one up yesterday from anaconda (got them to match an online store then take 10% off the difference) Ended up just in your price bracket. Competing Shimano in that price bracket is the Chronach.

If you want to cast much lighter weights, well, good luck.

Mate, to be honest...Don't know.
    Very new to this caper and learning as I live. It'll probably cost me a mint in mistakes but that's life.
    Pretty keen on the Calcutta 200b. Any opinions good or bad??
    Cheers and ta

Finga
    the calcutta 200b is a great little reel, on special ATM $189, cheapest i seen for a while

Crackerjack: Where can I get a calcutta that cheap???

Finga: I reckon you should take the rod down to a tackle shop chuck a Calcutta on and see how it feels then decide, if you want something a bit light you can try a lowprofile baitcaster.

Just remember this will not be a breaming rod.

Last edited by RobGoesFish; 11-06-2007 at 08:52 PM.

Honestly, calcutta 200b is not going to cast weights less than 7g any great distance. Even then, 7g is going to be a bit of a struggle. My recommendatino would be to look out for a Daiwa Alpha 103 or a Shimano Scorpion 1000 (prefered and one for sale in fishingmonthly website (not mine)). Both will be able to cast 7g further and start to dabble a little with less than that. Upgrade both with carbontex drag washers and you got a beast of a finnesse reel!

I own a HRF and pick my millionaire CVX 103 everytime for anything less than 10g. Spool is too heavy(25g) and magforce z doesnt' work as well with lighter weights.
    Last edited by turley; 11-06-2007 at 08:52 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by RobGoesFish View Post
    Crackerjack: Where can I get a calcutta that cheap???

Hi Rob, Cairns tackle n bait has a sale this week Ph 40314040

scotty,,,, same as you,,,, couldn't find any info,,,,,

the tinny's about to get wet again,,, when we return i'll phone shimano and send you through whatever info i find

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE