Thread: W/SW winds good or Bad for offshore?

W/SW winds good or Bad for offshore?

G'Day Guys.Counting down for hook up. Forecast from Newbys buoyweather site is W/SW winds. Thanks for the 7 day forecast Mate
    Whats the concensus. Are Westerlies any good for fishing off shore.
    I dont expect everyoner to agree. Just amongst the guys I work with the response varies from dont bother to caught some great grassies and reds in westerlies heaps of time.
    Funny enough our resident ex pro at work reckons dont bother. Reefies usually go off the bite in westerlies. Then again he is an EX fisho.
    Anyhow whats the concensus.
    Good luck all those going in the Boyne Tannum hook-up
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE

Re: W/SW winds good or Bad for offshore?

Quote Originally Posted by mangomick View Post
    G'Day Guys.Counting down for hook up. Forecast from Newbys buoyweather site is W/SW winds. Thanks for the 7 day forecast Mate
    Whats the concensus. Are Westerlies any good for fishing off shore.
    I dont expect everyoner to agree. Just amongst the guys I work with the response varies from dont bother to caught some great grassies and reds in westerlies heaps of time.
    Funny enough our resident ex pro at work reckons dont bother. Reefies usually go off the bite in westerlies. Then again he is an EX fisho.
    Anyhow whats the concensus.
    Good luck all those going in the Boyne Tannum hook-up
    gday m8 i reckon there a bit like women . temperamental. fishd all day 4 one undersized red 2day n nothing allday monday. i reckon its more 2 do with water temp n moon.

I personally think if barometric pressure rising on the bite they come, if around the magical 1020 then fish come on the bite big time but if pressure falling off the bite they go.
    I dont know how true it is but the barometric pressure playing on their bladder and giving them a feeling of being hungry or full sounds like it may have merit but in 100 ft of water I wonder if it does?
    Maybe if Westerlies around it could mean theres a low around and pressure falling.
    Curious what everyone else thinks or have experienced
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE

Are you blokes having me on? I hope your not taking the piss

Winds and barometric pressure have nothing to do with fish. Air pressure does not effect one single thing below the surface. Pressure on a fish comes from depth of water...... ie Divers get more pressure as they get deeper. As for the winds the only thing theyre going to effect is the swell and my cigarette lighter.

Cheers Chris
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Quote Originally Posted by Lovey80 View Post
    Are you blokes having me on? I hope your not taking the piss

Winds and barometric pressure have nothing to do with fish. Air pressure does not effect one single thing below the surface. Pressure on a fish comes from depth of water...... ie Divers get more pressure as they get deeper. As for the winds the only thing theyre going to effect is the swell and my cigarette lighter.

Cheers Chris
    Are you serious???......Wind and barometric pressure have nothing to do with fish????...........Mate it all plays a part is what triggers a good bite....
    I have met Many a pro fisherman who have spent years at sea at they will all tell you that certain winds shut down fish all together.....NW are renowned to shut the reefies down and are known as NW 'not worth its'.........
    BASS in the fresh are another example and when the barometric pressure is rising the are known to bite well....In a southerly wind they bite well.....In Northerlies they dont.....Barra are the opposite.
    You must be having a joke.....

Maybe i stand corrected. I cant see how barometric air pressure effects anything below the surface its not like the water pressure changes???? Do you know if the Pro's know why this happens or is it just coincidently

Cheers Chris
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Myth Busters!!!!!!!!!!!

fishing is great if you are fishing close to shore
    the problem is getting there and back in those conditions

pete

Saturday night has 25 knts of W predicted. You might get out there but getting home could be a wet affair. Monday looks like the day, 12 knts of SW dropping through the day.
    I'll just be happy to get out and get a feed. The last couple of trips have been scratchy.

Any winds any time all good for fishing just dictates where you go, i catch just as much in northerlies,southerlies,westerlies and easterlies if you waited around supersticiously to get the so called right wind direction and lightness you,ll catch nothing just go when the winds light and you can't go wrong. Bloody old wives tales, since when did people start listening to their wife if you did that you may aswell give up fishing.

Actually, the water pressure does change. Simple physics. Picture this. Half fill a sealed container with water and pump air under pressure into it. The water pressure changes due to the increased air pressure above. It would take some pretty impressive equipment to measure it. But the fish must be able to. The best time to target fish I reckon is when the barometer is above 1020 and falling rapidly. Bass are always more aggresive when the above condtitions prevail. As are my favourite "Moreton Bay Snapper".

Foggy

PS I love the westerlies. Brings the snapper on the shallow reefs alive.
    But as has been said before , nw winds = maintenance day.

the westerly is the "devil wind" as the pros call it! i wouldnt want to be out wide today as the sw is blowing hard!

i have heard that west winds are bad for offsore fishing. i dont know if its true but every since we have known about that we have neva gone out in W winds

cheers alex

Well i have done alright in westerlies, but here's the trick, The fish aren't where you normally find them in a SE for instance.
    Outsiderskip is right by my calculations. In close on the Eastern side of a land mass seems do o.k. Remember how tuna or mackeral will generally hunt into a breeze? well i reckon that's pretty true, meaning that if you can find a spot where deeper water rises reasonably sharply as you move west (like the shallows on the Eastern side of the Cape, there's a fair chance you will find fish. I know a few spots in the bay within casting distance of land that become alive with tailor when a westerlie combines with a rising full moon (and hence tide).

Moral - the fish are still there, just not exactly where you normally find them, and the tactics might haveta change slightly. When you have a think about it, it starts to make sense.

Damo
    Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.

onethousand and twenty fish a plenty