Thread: GPS points for all

Re: GPS points for all

point made honda900 maybe once we gather a few points and get a map up we could have a mailing list to the members and send out maps made up or a list containing points and species

Heaps available on the net......try this link for some marks

http://www.fishnet.com.au/information/gps/brisb.txt

and the master page here

http://www.fishnet.com.au/information/gps.html

mike

For some starting points, just google "gps marks'' or "stolen gps marks"

I'm sure these will put you in the general areas, then sound around or drift to find your own spot x's.

Wags

have a look here ben , should be some of use to you

http://www.freewebs.com/longtailau/gpsdatabase.htm

Jason.
    ... i only work to support my fishing addiction.....

There are many books on the market with heaps of marks in them. When I started out I got the fish finder book, this is for the northern half of Australia, I live in Innisfail, so it was great for me, I didn't know anyone in town( had just moved) I have visited all the sites in my area and found a few of my own in the process. I plan to travel with boat and if I take the book I will at least have somewhere to start. These books also have other helpful stuff like rigs to use,weather tips in unfamiliar areas etc. The one I get is also updated every 2 years so is always very current and with the odd extra mark or two.

Try going to marinews.com and you might just be supprised at the amount of gps points that are there. It is an exchange site where you should submit one of yours if you take one, as such.
    Recently we went up to the cathederals on one of these marks and you wouldn't believe it one other boat up there and right ontop of this mark. Not another boat to be seen.
    Graeme

Mate

what are you going to learn about fishing this way!! You may as well just go and buy your fish at the markets or hire a charter boat.

If like me, you don't own a GPS, then you are forced to learn more about a species. When do they spawn, what do they eat, what time of day are they active, how do you rig your gear, do they feed on an incoming or out going tide, Do they come on the chew at dusk or dawn...etc etc etc.

Now don't get me wrong, a GPS mark is a great thing to have.....But just for a moment imagine how many fish you could catch if you had researched the what, when and where. Hey, no point turning up to a mark with no idea whats on it!!

Either way, good luck with it. At least a mark will tell you someone else has caught a fish there.

BilgeBoy
    Last edited by BilgeBoy; 10-06-2007 at 09:11 AM. Reason: spelling ooops

Hey Gawby,

I recently took a trip up to the cathedrals, sounded around, caught some snapper from a mark I found.
    The next week I was in k mart and found a book on gps points.
    They had a cathedral one, would you believe the exact mark I had located.

2 weeks later back out there to fish that mark along with numerous others I found out their, only 1 other boat in sight sitting smack bang on the best mark I have out there,
    That's the idea of a GPS i suppose.

Cheers Ryan.
    Last edited by Reel Magic; 10-06-2007 at 12:59 PM.

Ah gone are the days when you lined up a tree and the fourth wave to its right

mike.....not sure wether mr raptis would be happy about you letting out his spot x..........

Quote Originally Posted by webby View Post
    Ah gone are the days when you lined up a tree and the fourth wave to its right
    i have a mate who tells me stories about fishing deep tempest in the 80's , they had rags tied in trees to mark the reef and also on reeders pt to mark the entrance to sth passage

looking at his pics from those days they caught some very nice fish back then though 10-12 kg knobbies were common back then and i have seen the pics to prove it

Jason.
    ... i only work to support my fishing addiction.....

Must admit, Ive never fished with a sounder till last weekend at Touchy's, its when someone figures out how it would all work on a beach, that would be scary I reckon... my old man still reckons sounders are a bit like throwing explosives in the water.. but from what I saw on the weekend, they help you see the structure etc... still reckon you have to know how to read it properly etc ( I didnt have a clue but it was interesting stuff)... and a sounder wont catch your fish for you.

do a google search for ship wrecks , they are a good starting point.

Webby,
    I remember years ago going off Palm Beach with my brother in law. We would travel east for i don't know how long then he would line up Mt Warning with Currumbin Hill and i don't remember something about trees and something at Tweed Heads.
    We were then on or about a reef out there and we caught good fish every time.
    Maybe some of the old Coast fishermen might know where i mean.
    Graeme