Thread: rock Fishing

Question rock Fishing

would like to start some rock fishing would like to know what tackle to buy what size rod? reel etc? what bait? what line? what size hooks etc? the lot.would appreciate some help
    Last edited by cuzincupitt; 04-06-2007 at 10:10 PM.

Re: rock Fishing

Hi ccuzincupitt are you new to fishing in general.

yeah kinda reelchippy

Mate rock fishing not the greats place to start what about the river, beach

yeah i'm doing both them aswell at the moment but want to know abit about rock fishing

G'day mate the very first thing you need to get if your going rock fishing is an fishing buddy, Not one that will jump in after you but one that will call for help if you do. (rock fishing kills more people that any other form of sport in Aust.)
    After you find a buddy then you have to decide what type of fishing you want to do bait or lure. you will prob need a rod around 12'+ and as you said that you are new to fishing I would recomend that you got for a spinning reel to go with it. You can get some good beach rods with a spinning reel for the big stores cheap.
    As for line 20lb is more than enough to stop most fish. As for what typs of terminal tackle you get then it depends on the type of fishing you are going to do.In the ares I rock fish I only use lures as the is a lot of rocks on the bottem and you just loose gear.
    The luses I perfer is RMG Scoripan 150 that dive to 3.5mts for Jews and a 65gm slug for Tailor.
    I hope this helps a bit
    Aussiefool

Thumbs up Re: rock Fishing

Quote Originally Posted by aussiefool View Post
    G'day mate the very first thing you need to get if your going rock fishing is an fishing buddy, Not one that will jump in after you but one that will call for help if you do. (rock fishing kills more people that any other form of sport in Aust.)
    After you find a buddy then you have to decide what type of fishing you want to do bait or lure. you will prob need a rod around 12'+ and as you said that you are new to fishing I would recomend that you got for a spinning reel to go with it. You can get some good beach rods with a spinning reel for the big stores cheap.
    As for line 20lb is more than enough to stop most fish. As for what typs of terminal tackle you get then it depends on the type of fishing you are going to do.In the ares I rock fish I only use lures as the is a lot of rocks on the bottem and you just loose gear.
    The luses I perfer is RMG Scoripan 150 that dive to 3.5mts for Jews and a 65gm slug for Tailor.
    I hope this helps a bit
    Aussiefool

Well said Andrew also the same gear can be used off the beach cheers

thanks aussie,
    what model reel you reckon? and rod? i want something good that will last a long time.what shimano? i don't mind paying good money as i will look after the gear

Quote Originally Posted by cuzincupitt View Post
    thanks aussie,
    what model reel you reckon? and rod? i want something good that will last a long time.what shimano? i don't mind paying good money as i will look after the gear
    Mate the old addage of what you pay for is what you get, Bit having said that my rod of choice for the rocks is a J/Walker " Water Rat " with an Oquma 80 Reel. The rod came as a combo and I paid $45. for it 4 yrs ago and the Oquma I bought 3 yrs ago. I use them almost every morning and have landed some big fish with them including a 16.5 kg Jew. Do I look after them and treat them with kid gloves ..... no way I might hose the reel off once a mth if I'm in a good mood...
    Botten line pay wath you feel comfortable with paying knowing that you have not paid an arm and a leg for something that will sit in the shed if you don't like rock fishing
    Aussiefool

My choice for a good rockhopers rod/reel combo would have to start with a 650 Alvey,preferably one of the vented ones equiped with a drag,I'd match this up to a Wilson MT6144 or a MT 7144,definately not the cheapest combo going but good value for money with longevity being the big plus.Wilson also make a mid and high mount rod in the same models to accomodate spin reels.I doubt very much you'll find the above combo (or quality like it) in your Big-w type department stores so a trip down to your local tackle shop where you can a bit of different gear in your hand and pick someones brain is advisable.
    As has been said rock fishing can be dangerous,my advice would be to get a feel for it fishing into the surf on the north or south wall (Ballina) first before venturing to ocean rocks like Flat Rock,Broken Head etc.

Hi mate

I definetely agree with Andrew, rockfishing is dangerous ,very very dangerous. 12 ft rods will be a good allrounder, i use a 13'6'' because i'm quite tall. Try a basic 650 B alvey, these arent too expensive, but will last a lifetime. 18-20 Lb line. Try something with a reasonably thin diametre for beach fishing, but a hard coating for the rocks. I use 0.4 diametre.

As said before, get a good feel of beach fishing and handling your gear confidently before you venture out onto the rocks.

Borrow or buy a book about rockfishing if you're really keen about it.

rockfisho

hey, apart from estuary fishing, rock fishing is my favourite. i like to fish lite off the rocks, i use a 2500 size shimano exage and maple evotech 2-4 kg rod 6'6 foot. i use 8lb braid and 10lb flurocarbon.... my favourite style off the rocks is spinning for salmon, bonito, tailor and slow retreiving off the bottom for silver trevally with 5-20 grm metals.. i have had some great sessions casting out and retreiving it really fast with my mates and getting smashed, 1 session led to me loosing 50 metres of braid on a bombie..

i seriously recomend you try this style of fishing, it will prove results.

stuart

thanks all.muchly appreciated

Mate,

I think Banshee has said it all with the gear. The Alveys don't break and are far better, more effective and cheaper than the expensive spinning reels which imo are over-rated. Some of these very expensive do-do reels that don't do the job are simply show pony stuff. You know, the ones that start with the big "S". But then, some of us must have them.

I would offer that the line should be about 20lb b/s with a heavier leader.

Take advice from those who have advised you about the dangers of rock fishing. The dangers are very real and should not be ignored. Please take a buddy with you.