John good report morwong do you have a pic first one that i have heard of in QLD
Use to catch them in Sydney cheers
Went out for a flick at Green. Left wello ramp about 1600 and parked in 4.5mtr water (low tide). About 1700 they started to hit the sp. Caught a 47cm squire & 48cm morwong?
A few of the hits were substantial and had two bust offs on the 4kg rig.
I think the bigger snapper are starting to move in. One of the bust-offs was a big head shaker, had the rod bent fully loaded and the drag singing. Wish he had hit my big rod. Would like to have seen this fellow.
Was back at the ramp by 1930.
4.1m Rainwater tank & 50hp4st donk- go the plastic
John good report morwong do you have a pic first one that i have heard of in QLD
Use to catch them in Sydney cheers
Nice work, I was out there thismornig and got done by a good fish at wello aswell.
Reelchippy... there's plenty of mowong up here mate
the Morwong ya get in Sydney arent the same fish they call Morwong up here. Not even close.
GREG
Have to agree Greg. We used to catch heaps of Morwong off Culburra/Kiama. They had the long slender fin raking back along their body. What they call a morwong up here is totally different. Alot of people call the old slatey Mother in Law fish a Morwong.
What we caught down south were a real sweet chew, delicious, what you call a morwong up here border on rubbish............
Yes- Understand the Sydney fish is the Blue or Red Morwong. The one here is Brown/dull silver and ok fresh. Have been told they don't freeze well.
Sorry didn't take any pictures as there was nothing special about the fish, both being rather small.
Hi tang-guy
No burly. The snapper along the reef edge don't need much encourgement once they decide to go on the chew. The problem is getting them to that state. There are huge numbers around various parts of the bay and I normally don't use burly for them.
I did see another boat with lots of birds around them and I assume they were using burly. Would be nice to hear from others on the use of burly for snapper.
I always use a burly trail around the bay islands. Usually the frames from the previous trip sending out a low but constant trail sploshing around in the engine well, and always have lightly tuna soaked chook pellets when things get a bit quiet.