Thread: standard hi-lux

standard hi-lux

hello all i have a stock 1990 dual cab hilux and i was wondering if any of you's would be able to tell me whether 32x11.5x15 muddies would fit under without any problems with bottoming out or any other problems off-road

regards dagwood
    Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 14-06-2007 at 06:16 PM.

Re: stnadard hilux

Not sure on the exact dimentions, but I had the same vehicle as you, 'cept she was an '82. It ran the same size rubber with no issues

yeah no probs she will just be a slug on road

No they won't fit easily... you will have issues at full lock full compression.

The other thing is if you have anything lower than 4.88 diff gears you will find it will be very slow on the take off (Hiluxes are anyway).

Your best bet is to fit a 2" lift to increase your drivability offroad, and give you a bit more room in those guards.

Is it an sr5? They have even less room with the flare fittings etc.

There is no way you'll fit them under a bog standard one without doing damage offroad.

Mines an '03 sr5 with 2" lift blocks and 15-20mm torsion bar windup and cruiser offset rims. The guards still needed 'persuading' with a grinder to run 285/75 16's (33's but skinnier than 12.5's) and they'll still bind in places.

I'd say you'll need a ball joint lift minimum to fit them, or a body lift, neither of which is too hard - and body lifts can be legal too - good luck.

C.J.

They'll dig in on the beach Darryl is the only prob I foresee. You'd be heading up here soon wouldn't you?

Lindsay, The info is actually for my son Chris. Him and his mates are into bushbashing where as I only want to borrow it for up the beach. I was trying to talk him into an alround tyre so we could have the best of both worlds but he has his mind set on these muddies. what ever happens I will get up the beach at the earliest opportunity. Haven't even had time to take out the boat lately. Will give you a call when we head up that way.
    To everyone else thanks for the info. Hopefully Chris has taken it on board.
    Regards Darryl

I had a 92 single cab with 31's, had heaps of room left over so you shouldn't have a problem. If you do then do the 2in lift, looks good too.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

They will go strait under no worries at all.

Re: standard hi-lux

I have a 93 solid axle (same as yours) and i have the same size muds. i have a 2" suspension lift and they still rub on the back of the gaurds on full uptravel, it might just be the suspension flex on mine but i would think they would scrub on a stocko even worse.
    Tys