offshore moloolaba.

Thread: offshore moloolaba.

offshore moloolaba.

Gday all headed off moloolaba early wednesday morning to banks with a mates dad.arrived on shallows in 20m of water about an hour before sun up. An hour into it the old fella started to get crook and went into sick bay ( My cabin ) not to return for a while. I had a good berley system going and before long started attracting fish. I had 3 floaters out and 2 bottom bashes. Being the only one on deck of my cat i wasn't short of room. before long had a great run on a floater hooked it and was into a decent fight, Half way through pulling this fish in one of the other floaters got bashed so i flicked the bait runner off and was on on that rod too. Getting the first to the boat to find a snapper of about 3kg so i put him on the deck a quickly through out another rod then grabed second floater which was already hooked up, almost landed it and the other 2 got bashed realizing i had a line up of rods to wind in with fish on. Landed 3 all around the same size. By this time i had to get the old fella up while fighting the 4th snapper this one considerbly bigger when a dolphin came around between the motors and took it .We both saw this happen as it was only meters away.What was worse he played with it for a good 20mins right behind the boat teasing us throwing it through the air like a toy. Managed to set out the floaters again for nothing but a 20kg great barracuda. Moved out to about 80m water for a few quick pearlies before heading in. water temp 23 degrees on sun light and 23.5 out deep around 10am still too warm. Saturday morning 2am headed out again with intensions of fishing banks after seeing a predicted great forcast on all our weather forcast sites but got a nasty shock when heading towards blinker out of rock walls of moloola river. Straight into a solid swell and slop from every direction as well as about 25kn of breeze met up with the other boats at blinker and decided to hang around murphys to see if it would calm down but only got stronger.Pulled the pin and went home discusted in predicted forcast. Did anyone else head out on weekend?

Ausfish Platinum Member -spiro-'s Avatar

Re: offshore moloolaba.

the ones you lose are the difference between a "good day and a sh!t one" atleast you got a feed and a day out.
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

yeah we found wednesday's weather ok but saturday was crap. Nice rig ya have there spiro it looks familiar did you buy it a few years ago from goodwin beach bribie area? Did you head out on weekend?

was out all weekend.

Was planning a trip up that way but called it off the night before because a mate that lives there told me it would be shithouse weather.I think i trust him more than the BOM.

Good too see the rain but! had shit loads on the coast over the weekend. Reef King where did you go did ya get a feed ?

I fished Murphy's on Thursday with Wags on the Water. We struggled a bit but managed a few nice tuskies. Conditions were pretty ordinary. Wags had fished the Banks the previous night for not a real lot.

'gunna' did ya get a chance to see what the water temp was in close we tried murphy's sat till lunch time and managed 1 squire 52cm good shows everywhere on sounder but. We had 22 degree's in close. Even livies didnt fire

hey tried to go on sat but only got out tho outside of caloundra bar and turned around it was crap and tryed again on sun but the weather was crap again

yeah i sat on me family jewels twice before getting to the blinker in me cat.
    The boys in mono's with me got pounded.

Was out off south passage on saturday and it started out at 15knots and was gusting to 20-25 by lunch, swell was 2-2.5m. Terrible conditions!

i did get out on fri went to the 12 mile to my normal spots fond fish but they never come on the chew chucked everything at them but only came home with one sweetlip and a crap ride home caust the wind had already come up about 4.30pm

Anyone getting any good quantities of big snapper yet? We had a great session in april snatching 20 in 3 hrs on banks up to 5kg but not much since.

Quote Originally Posted by wadeo View Post
    'gunna' did ya get a chance to see what the water temp was in close we tried murphy's sat till lunch time and managed 1 squire 52cm good shows everywhere on sounder but. We had 22 degree's in close. Even livies didnt fire
    Yep - temp was around 22. We also had good shows on most marks. Lots of good shows of smaller fish - most turned out to be happy moments !!!

Quote Originally Posted by gunna View Post
    Yep - temp was around 22. We also had good shows on most marks. Lots of good shows of smaller fish - most turned out to be happy moments !!!
    yeah we got happy moments too but not many. on wednesday last week water temp was 23 to 23.5 degree's on banks. Looks like this weekend is blown out too.