Thread: Quiet on the river front

Quiet on the river front

Had a limited session on the river this morning and just had one of those days where things just go wrong. A few bunches of grapes in the line, you know the stuff that just gives you the $%^&%.The young bloke had to work so time is precious when you have that deadline. Only managed 2 squire at 37 cm and a bream at 33 cm . Fished a few livies but couldn't entice any of the larger predators but a young bloke in a tinnie fishing not far from us did manage to tassle with a good jew only to loose it at the side of the boat Overall it was pretty quiet except for a school of mac tuna . We were heading back past the dredge when we could see the birds on fish. Turned out to be mac tuna 3 - 4 kg mark, a few hundred meters off the wharves. Ships, tugs ,moreton barge and ferries and boats entering and leaving the river and we were in between stalking a school of tuna. Dam ,would have loved to hooked one . With the river supplying a few different captures it would have been nice to claim a brissie river Mac tuna. Not our day,and finally Garrett rushing to get ready for work drops a 2 litre coke bottle that explodes over the kitchen wall and cupboards Gee glad his mum is shopping Next time Cheers

Re: Quiet on the river front

I love your posts Chief. An adventure in every one.

That was still an outcome (the fish that is, not the exploding Coke) that a lot of mug fishos would be pleased with.

Ah well, the week will seem complete for you now.
    Last edited by charleville; 03-06-2007 at 05:01 PM.

A good read Chief, Mate theres always a next time to get into those squire again.
    I Favour the quater and new moons during the daylight hours but Full moon seems to fish better at night in my opinion.
    Never bagged out on the squire a couple of days either side of the full moon.
    What moon cycle do you prefer?
    Cheers Brent

Unlucky on the fish front looked liked a lot of boats heading out this morning, the river has been producing some good variety as of late. Work down on the river so get to see quite a bit. Goggles

G/day Brent, yeh a bit quiet today but mate i find that New moon with the later high water with the sun in the sky and fishing that deeper water. WE find the bite is on and the quality is up.
    Goggles.. how are you mate? you don't work on the wharves do you.If you do, do you know that mad maori Hooch ?

Nice report Chief. I reckon it was a bit quiet in genaral this weekend. I had an ordinary 2nd day at the minibucks only weighing 3 fish for a megre totalk of 0.92kg. Finished outside the top 20.
    Did win our heat on Day 1 with 5 fish weighed. Hinterland came 2nd though so we got some reward! Thanx again to Garret. Be in touch mate. (The rig is ordered.)

Rich