Tweed trevs

Thread: Tweed trevs

Tweed trevs

Went down the tweed again last night to test out the new reel(daiwa kix)cost me an arm and a leg but woa what a fantastic reel.Had a ball catching many many trevs on a variety of lures.There were a few larger models there,Hooked one but pulled the hooks on him.Ben

Re: Tweed trevs

Nice fish old mate. they are such good fun.

Cheers Brett

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Ben,
    Well done mate, good stuff.

Is it the angle of the photos or are they fat Bigeyes? They look pretty solid!

Were they full of baitfish?

Cheers, Jeff.

Yeh Jeff there bigeyes.Dont know what they had in them as i throw them all back now.But the river is chock o block full of herring so i think they are having a pretty good feed.

Ausfish Gold Member

good stuff mate,
    were you landbased or boat?

That's a fancy looking reel, I'm surprised you let it touch the ground, no casting knots now I hope.

nice trevors mate, way to break in the new reel

took my new reel down today that set me back 500 dolla and as i was walking to the spot i tripped on a slimey rock and there goes my new pfluger combo as it skidded accross the barnicals all i coul say was "please dont scratch" but it did nice deepy on the reel and a ripper on the rod ...before i even casted the thing

How ya living?

ash,Landbased mate.

barkers creek,What a bugger.I think i probably would have cried mate.

Pete,No mate she is an absolute pearler best fishing reel i've ever owned.Did you nail a big greenback yet?

gday mate
    great work looks like ya had a bit of fun there
    just a quick question
    where abouts in tweed did ya get them?????????

the best way to get them is to just walk the north wall have a few casts in each spot and if you don't get 1 in the first 5 casts move on, you can't miss em. although the much BIGGER models are found in summer. i have caught them all along the north wall up to and sometimes ova 5kgs during the height of summer, great fun. oh yeah, good fish mate...

Gday Big rodders,I met you a few weeks ago when i was fishing down the coomera for some bream on poppers.There are still some biguns in winter to mate and the chance of a good tailor you just have to work your way through the littlies.Ben

I agree with you on those reels blooey. I recently got a 4000 caldia kix for snapper fishing, and the first fish i caught on it was a 30kg GT! I was blown away that i actually landed the thing! The reel didn't let me down, the drag was very smooth and consistent and it was taking alot of pressure. Nice fish by the way, very healthy looking.

Quote Originally Posted by simonpp82 View Post
    I agree with you on those reels blooey. I recently got a 4000 caldia kix for snapper fishing, and the first fish i caught on it was a 30kg GT! I was blown away that i actually landed the thing! The reel didn't let me down, the drag was very smooth and consistent and it was taking alot of pressure. Nice fish by the way, very healthy looking.
    Aaah - That was you! I was down at Sporty's on Friday talking to Tony, and he told me that the guy that purchased the other kix 4000 broke it in with a monster GT!! Well done mate! - I purchased one also....had a few decent fish on it, but nothing like a 30Kg GT!! Good to know that it can handle something of that size! What sort of Rod did you match it to? (Got mine on the Team Diawa Advantage 8-17 pound 7 footer)

G'day Blooey

I Was Just Wondering What The Lures You Were Using Were... I Saw The Slug On The Photo But Was That The Only Type Used?