Thread: Offshore Noosa Saturday 2nd June 2007

Offshore Noosa Saturday 2nd June 2007

We headed of on our company fishing trip out of Noosa on Saturday. With a reasonable forecast everyone was in high spirits heading to Noosa on a charted bus. On our way up we decided to have a wager on the biggest fish caught by throwing in $5 each for a total of $130 prize money There was a bit of debate over how do you determine the biggest fish with so many different species on offer? So in the end it was decided it would be the biggest squire/snapper that would take the cash.

Getting into Noosa we encountered some light showers which was an omen for the day ahead We loaded the two boats at the harbor and the banter started between the two boats on who was going catch the prize snapper. We left the harbor at about 8am up the river and the guys were already into the beer. I hung back on cracking my first beer as it was blowing 15knts already. I suggested to the guys if they hadn’t had brekkie a few cans before we got out there was not a good idea which fell on deaf ears and would come back to bite them in the ar$$se later

Safely over the bar we motored to our destination about 45mins away east of Noosa. It was apparent after getting over the bar there was no way we be going towards Double Island Point like we did last year because conditions were rough. After anchoring at our first spot we had 4 blokes go over the side screaming “RALPH” yep the ones into the beer Fishing was very slow with very few keepers coming on board. After moving spots a few times over the next 2 hours we had another 4 blokes screaming “RALPH” over the side. In the end 4 blokes didn’t even wet a line and the other 4 to there credit tough it out having a yak here and there while trying to fish. Us and the guys on the other boat were the only ones along with another boat that tough it out in the conditions. The other charter boats headed back early due the conditions and to get back over the bar before the 2:30pm low tide.

We probably tried about 8 – 10 different spots in ordinary conditions with a few keepers coming on board at each spot. We managed 18 keepers on our boat with my personal tally being 2 tuskies, 3 sweetlip, one big squire and my first dolphin fish. I managed to latch onto an absolute arm buster towards the end of the day which the deckie was calling as a big cod. This thing was not giving in I’d take back about 3 meters and it would take two back with brute force. My 15kg-24kg Livefibre was loaded to the max and wasn’t game to lock up the drag due to the brute force this thing possessed. After an epic struggle and my arms burning we finally got to see what it was, an 8 foot shark of some description which finally bit through the line while still about 4ft under the surface. A lot of pain for nothing ! The deckie changed my rig over to a two hook snood with a ball sinker early in the day which I’m now a fan of rather than the traditional dropper rig.

The highlight of the day on our boat was 10mins of fun when a school of Dolphin fish came out to play smashing dropperbaits, floating pillies and slugs cast at them. There were a heap of small ones with a few bigger models amongst them and we kept about 5 of them. The other boat only managed 10 keepers with the highlight being a massive greasy cod which was to big to keep so with a few pics alongside the boat before deflating the swim bladder and sending it on its way.

As it turned out the other boat didn’t land a keeper squire/snapper and I had the biggest of the two on our boat ! U buety $130 to me !

An ordinary day on the water blowing 20kts with a few fish compared to last years 5knt winds and plenty of fish but that’s fishing and there might be a few not keen to go again next year.

A few piccies of the trip.
    Last edited by Black_Rat; 03-06-2007 at 09:42 AM.

Re: Offshore Noosa Saturday 2nd June 2007

Nice read Damo, and congrats on the $130, and bragging rights for the next 12 months to boot.
    Youve almost gotta feel sorry for old mate in the red and white shirt in the pic, he doesnt look like he is enjoying himself one little bit. Still, its one way to reduce the numbers along the side rail

BRian

Good to see the sick ones having a ball,fish count was down but your up $130 bucks can't be all bad.Welldone.MICK.

4 of the worst ones basically didn't move the whole day, they'd find the most comfortable position and close there eyes and hope for the best I haven't been in that position before (touch wood) & never hope to be seeing how white in the face they were. I have more photos but action "RALPH" shots and the guys faces will be kept a secret

Yeah the $130 didn't go astray and I had a ball all be it with my arms still hurting today and my thighs killing from trying to lock myself onto the rails in the weather.

Credit must be given to the the skipper from the MV Trekka & Trekka 2 trying to get us a feed in ordinary conditions

You didnt add anything to thier beer did you...just to help the odds??
    ..Greg...."Termites pay the bills"..... Trailcraft 475...75 Hp E-Tec

shame about the weather, good old coastwatch stuffed it again, we headed about 40nm out sat morn returning today at midday, the further out we went the more the wind picked up it was 25-30knts at times.

juju,

Nothing added, all self inflicted despite my advice

reef_king,

The the winds were blowinging big time, we anchored on many spots and at times the current was next to nil & the next spot it was roaring close to 7knts
    Last edited by Black_Rat; 03-06-2007 at 06:57 PM.

ooHH ! Some hurting shots !
    Last edited by Black_Rat; 04-06-2007 at 01:49 AM.

love the hurting shots you'll have to remember the kwells next time

cheers pete...

I've been there but not for a very long time , i bet they won't be on the piss until they get out there and get that first decent fish on deck

Theres old mate in the red and white shirt again, no wonder he is crook, he has his head stuck in a bloody rubbish bin.

Ohhh very funny!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yep, i have a little bit of pitty for them about 10% but the rest is just funny. As we have all been there once upon a time. AVOMINE saved my life... otherwise i probably wouldnt even be an open water fisherman...
    Lets see if they go out again soon!!!

Good on ya Damo, top report

the $$$ were a bonus, great to get out there with the mates

still sorry you missed Fraser this year

Cheers Murf

Quote Originally Posted by murf View Post
    Good on ya Damo, top report

the $$$ were a bonus, great to get out there with the mates

still sorry you missed Fraser this year

Cheers Murf
    Murf,

I swear to God Murf one more swipe at me for missing this years comp & then i'll have to start plannning now for next year

Quote Originally Posted by Black_Rat View Post
    Murf,

I swear to God Murf one more swipe at me for missing this years comp & then i'll have to start plannning now for next year

Cheers Murf