Thread: Peel Is Friday 1st

Peel Is Friday 1st

Well after an aborted attempt to get round that tanker spill on the M1 L Friday morning, at 5am finga and I gave up on the Gold Coast offshore and retruned t Raby Bay. very disaapointed that Murphy's Law canned a planned trip offshore with a good forecast

Launched at Raby Bay and ehade over to old faithful South West Rocks at Peel.
    Got smashed every bait when it hit the bottom. Squire.....4 freaking billion of them. All throw backs, some very very close but all went back.

Eventually finga is onto a decent one, gave him some stick but scotty y won and he went into the ice box. Then Mike finally gets a keeper at just a tad over 35cm. Then it shut down, even the littlies went home, so we went round northern side near the Hanlon, nothing.
    Beautiful day, calm warm no wind to speak of, so decide a run to Harrys was in order.

Same again, lotsa small squire........................... and Lilly and baby were there again, just wating for us to throw the small squire back in and slam!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thye got breakfast

Great day, disappointing couldnt get off shore down the coast cause of that damn petrol tanker, still a great day on the bay so cant complan.

Re: Peel Is Friday 1st

Yep, great day.
    What do you mean give me some stick??
    Some dental floss and a iddy biddy graphite rod is plenty to pull up a tiny 40odd cm fish.
    It was my first experience with Lilly and Jnr and was worth every a $million (well nearly if I had it) to me. I had a ball feeding the throwbacks to them.
    At one stage Lilly was playing with one like a ball. I reckon if we had a tennis ball she would have thrown it back to us and played like a dog.
    A day I will remember for a long time.
    Thanks Mike

That's two days fishing with only 1 keeper for me and I wouldn't have wanted the days any other way
    To me, the day is what matters. Not how full the esky is
    Last edited by finga; 03-06-2007 at 07:27 AM.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

A full esky is only a bonus hey Finga? What's the plan tomorrow mate? Going for the Hatric? 3rd time Lucky? Give Uncle Frank a call!!

Yep, fish in the esky is definitely a bonus..not a necessity.
    Today the cook and I are going for a drive down to Jacobs for a sticky beak. (hands way to sore to fish after yesterday ) Then go over to Paul's and try and get some squid of his pontoon and help Torryn (she's nearly ready for the rod...she's nearly 2 ) feed the bream off the pontoon.
    So in short...yep doing the hat-trick... A relaxed, enjoyable hat-trick with still only one keeper on the cards.
    Last edited by finga; 03-06-2007 at 08:03 AM.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

how r u , was out around peel near the houseboat about a week ago, do not know if the dolphin near the beacon was the same one u r talking about, but put on a magical display of flips and dives. Great to watch although nearly shat myself when I heard the first splash. Goggles

You will know lilly when you see her.............almost half her dorsal missing, and usually got junior with her

Lilly and Baby were haunting me today at Harrys.Same deal though plenty of small squire and sweety's and a 4 foot shovelly .

Darryl.