Thread: Advice on what type of boat needed

Advice on what type of boat needed

G'day all,

I am seeking some advice on the purchase of a new boat. For the past 5 years I have had a 4.1 metre Brooker Safari with a 30 hp tiller steer and it's time to upgrade.

The majority of my fishing is done in Hervey Bay, out in the bay and up the creeks, with the occasional freshwater dam trip. I am now looking to upgrade to something that will do all this plus the odd trip outside.

I have a budget of around $30K and have been looking at the american made Triumph 170CC, though the transom height (?? from floor to gunwall) seems too low. Also considering a Galeforce boat.

I am looking for a centre or side console boat of about 5 metres with a 90 hp, and a bow mount electric, any suggestions?

J T Rider

Re: Advice on what type of boat needed

How are you going. About two years ago I bought a 4.65m Stessl Truck with a center consule and I put a 60hp Yamaha stroke on it. It was around the 24k when I had finished but I did all the wiring myself (except the motor ect.) I use it in the bay up rivers and I have also fished the dams in it.
    It is a great boat to fish out of with two to three people in it. When I orded it I asked for a bow mount electric plate to be fitted and the Minkota autopilot works great either chasing bass in the dams or flathead in the rivers. I could not be happier with my dession to puchase the set up. I hope this helps.

Last edited by iwonna_snapper; 02-06-2007 at 04:34 PM. Reason: Pour spelling

Thanks iwonna

I've considered the truck and also a mako frenzy. I'm kinda new to boats, only having my safari for five years. Thought maybe a fibreglass or plastic boat may be a bit more comfortable and quiet. Any thoughts??

have a look at the Webster Twinfisher 4.9. Can either go a 60hp 4st or 90 2st. Very stable platform you can get a CC or the bassmaster platform system. Should be able to get one for around those dollars. If that was my price range and needs thats what i'd buy.

Cheers Chris

I think you are looking in the right direction glass would give the best ride I just dont like it in small creeks. the plastic would be the way to go providing the hull is a good design unlike the polycraft too wet. I like the triumph but also have a look at some of the long boats they handle well and can run in very little water

Quote Originally Posted by krazyfisher View Post
    I think you are looking in the right direction glass would give the best ride I just dont like it in small creeks. the plastic would be the way to go providing the hull is a good design unlike the polycraft too wet. I like the triumph but also have a look at some of the long boats they handle well and can run in very little water
    Krazyfisher

What's the issue with using fibreglass boats in creeks......easily damaged??

hi mate , ring australian bbs on 0755649082 or email brumbsmarine@bigpond.com tell us want you want and you will be very supprised in price.. currently built a new 5.2utility centre console with heaps of extras ,90hp e-tec on braked switco trailer for under $29000 .....
    did i mention its a new twin skin alloy hull with 4mm bottoms. .. worth askin about
    theres a write up in qfm soon

I have been looking at the galforce boats as well. I am yet to find someone that is not happy with them. Wanye Camp has one too as well as a few other mates i know.