I took Old Chris out for one more fish

Thread: I took Old Chris out for one more fish

I took Old Chris out for one more fish

The day was supposed to be a great day with light winds and that is exactly what it was. (at the boat ramp). The bay was OK but by the time we got to “Nowhere” it was blowing about 15 knots. It was still ok as the wind was coming from the south east.

First drop saw my first ever Blind Snapper. His eyes were very milky so it must have been very hard to see. It proves that Snapper don’t have to see the plastic to slam it down.

The Amberjack were there again but seemed to be limited to about 12Kg. They were certainly enough for old Chris. The Pansy Stick that Eric Grell made does not bend as you can see by the strain that Chris is putting on his AJ.

It was a morning when the fish were really on until about 7:30am. That is when we should have gone home.

We did have a great day but hope to have a better one tomorrow..

Frank OO

Re: I took Old Chris out for one more fish

A few nice fish there mate.looks like you had good day.

great catch done well what do u mean only around 12 kg haha that is good enough 12 kg is better then 5 any ways you have cleaned up good to see

Great fish Frank and Chris. Certainly a better day than Thursday, no white caps.
    Hope you have a good day again tomorrow.

Eric&Deb

you went quiet frank
    we thought you gave fishing away
    pete

looks good weather in the back ground. some nice looking fish you've got there, hope the weather gets better for you.
    Ken

jake_snapper_king

We have been getting them to about 25kg but since the cold weather things have gone a bit quiet. I agree with you though they are a lot of fun at just 5kg.

Frank OO
    Last edited by Frank OO; 02-06-2007 at 06:36 AM.

Hi Erec ,Deb

The wind started to blow jast after 7:30 and became a bit uncomfortable but still fishable.

That is the biggest bend the "Pansy Stick" has had in it.

Frank OO

Hi Pete,

I have been away and working pretty hard. I haven't been on the net for a while either.

Frank OO

Hi Ken,

I think I will have to go onto shift work because the weekends seem to be windy all the time. I start planning the next trip on Sunday night so it is always dissapointing when you see the wind come up on the weekend.

Frank OO

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Frank,
    That blind Snapper is a ripper. I've never seen a blind fish before.

Just goes to show how the fish's lateral line comes into play when it has to through necessity.

Cheers, Jeff.

Great Stuff Frankoo Your A Champ. Do You Fish North Of Cape

Moreton..... Cheers Wak69...

Hi Wak69,

I get most of my fish at Cape Moreton, Shallow Tempest, Smiths,Flinders and Hutchies. I don't like Deep Tempest because there is too much current and the only time I go to Wide Caloundra is to take people to get AJs.

I love my fishing and return 80% back to the water for you to catch. Most of the time I just enjoy watching the faces of newcomers when they latch onto a big one.

Frank OO
    Last edited by Frank OO; 02-06-2007 at 10:14 PM.

You bragger Uncle Frank
    Limited the AJ size to 12kg.
    Nice knobbies too.
    Sure beats my singular 3" whiting effort in 5 hours yesterday. I reckon I had just as much fun though

Another good effort and enjoyable day out.
    I hope this wasn't Chris's last fish. I hope he gets about a trillion more in

Question though....why is the pansy stick called the pansy stick??
    Cheers Scott
    Last edited by finga; 03-06-2007 at 06:24 AM.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Hi Finga,

When you are as old as Chris you have to treat every fishing trip as your last. Hopefully he will be able to go out again but he said that "If I die now at least I've caught an AJ"

I asked Eric Grell to make me a rod that won't break so he made me this broom stick. The trouble is that he put this creamy soft velvet butt section on my rod. The definition of pansy is "having velvety petals of various colors" Also the fact that anyone that uses a rod with such a lovely butt must be a bit of a pansy.

Having said that, the rod is certainly no pansy because it is unbelievably strong. I wanted this rod to pull up really big Amberjack and massive GTs. It certainly pulled the AJs up but I still have to find that massive GT.

Frank OO
    Last edited by Frank OO; 03-06-2007 at 06:58 AM.