Thread: Another Fraser Island comp report

Another Fraser Island comp report

Well what a great couple of weeks it was. We end up fishing 8 days straight using over 800ltrs of fuel for just under 1100km on the water.

There were a heap of us in the house comprising of 2 other boats ("flamin riptide" and "fisha bit'n") and also Shane Boese and Mitch (redspeckle) who were fishing the beach. This year myself the oldman and Rob (maccamania) fished togethor and we had a blast with rob in fine form and pulling plenty of good fish.

Caught some stonker fish before the comp started which included Macca pulling a 16.4kg red and myself a 4.8kg Red Throat. We almost cried when the red hit the deck knowing it was going to be extremely hard to catch another brute like that during comp time but atleast we caught a big fella during our stay and a big congrats to Rob for a trophy fish.

The current was roaring and made fishing tough with it slowing up a little on the last couple days of the comp which made fishing alot more pleasant.

Headed to a whole new area the last day and spent hours on flat ground trying to locate some reds. Found a small patch of reef which produced nice Moari cod a 10kg red and macca hooked another brute. The fish was in view when all of sudden the hooks pulled and I watched a big Red head back into the depths. Hard to say how big but it certainly looked up there with his 16.4kg red caught earlier in the trip.

Caught up with loads of people including many ausfishes which makes the comp all that much more enjoyable and I would encourage others who have never been to get up there next year as this comp will blow you away.

Thanks to Shane for organising the house and all the other lads for helping when you guys did. It was pleasure sharing a house with such a top bunch of blokes and I hope we can all do it again.

I'm sure macca or the other blokes can add more if they want.

Sorry but good pics have been kept for next months BushnBeach Mag along with a full report.

Re: Another Fraser Island comp report

Doesn't get much better than that Greg some beautiful fish there.

Avast ye matey!

Some great looking fish there Greg. Eight days fishing in a row, you must have fixed that fishing itch by now! You will have to go back to work for a rest!
    I am off to Sweers Island in a week and if I can catch half the ''colour''you guys did I will be rapped.

Cheers Troy.

Well done, hard to see those pics getting topped, but I suppose i will have to get Bush&Beach. Top work.

Nice fish mate that big red's a ripper, shame it wasn't cuaght a few days latter
    What weight did the hoo and trout go, they also look good, and was there much snapper around where did they come from?

Cheers Ty

Great stuff some nice colour there, that first red is a stonker of a fish.

cheers dave

great loooking fish good work

Nice fish Greg,and thanks for posting some great pics for all other members to enjoy.
    Cheers - Voda <:{{{{{><

Hey Greg,

Looks like you had a blast.
    Some awesome fish in that lot. Thanks for sharing.

Kind regards,
    Craig.

1 can only dream!! top work

Some top fish there Greg well done! Sounds like a great week up there...might have to get up there next year!
    Benny.

Some quality fish there Greg well done for a big effort, the weather conditions were good to us for this trip.

Those trout look spectacular, makes the one we caught look like a baby

Was the Red that Rob caught his PB? top stuff Rob

your fuel usage makes mine look good at 133lts for 7 days out

Cheers Murf

Oh wow, what an awesome trip . A MASSIVE, MASSIVE thanks to both Greg and Terry for letting me share with you what I can only describe as the trip of a lifetime.

I was over the moon when Greg phoned me to ask me to come with them. Funny thing was I’d already organised a trip in July when he asked me so I wondered if I was going to be able to get leave for this trip as well. As it turned out I did and all is well (had to do a few jobs around the house before I left though…), but back I go in July – can’t wait. I’m trying to talk Greg into coming up but so far I’m unsuccessful.

8 days straight on the water was pretty tough going, but the boys on “Fish’a Bitin” did 9 days straight . I take my hat off to those guys.

As Greg said, we stayed in a house full of top people and we all got along great. It was a pleasure to meet all those guys and a big thanks to Shane for organising the house. And Rhys, thanks for the sleeping bag mate – it was very handy. It got a bit cold out there on the verandah on a couple of nights. I owe you a trip in the Lure – a bit different to your boat though – you might have to bring some wet weather gear…

Most days we were in constant contact with the Flamin RipUide crew and it was great to have two boats looking for new ground and constantly keeping each other informed of what’s happening. Birdy on the Flamin RipUide nabbed a well and truly legal sized Red on a soft plastic . First time I’ve heard of it being done. I’m not too sure exactly how big it was, but that was unreal Jas.

The event itself blew me away. This was my first time to the Toyota Fishing Expo and the shear scale of the thing was no less than impressive. It was great to meet so many people and to catch up with others that I haven’t seen in a while.

Greg and Terry, I’d just like to say that I had an absolute ball and I learned more in that week and on other trips with you than I have over the rest of my life. I would never have caught that red by myself. It really is your fish – I was just the lucky one who’s bait it decided to smash at the time. And the fact that it was caught 3 days too early for the comp doesn’t phase me in the slightest – I am just so stoked to have caught it at all. It got beaten during the comp anyway but that still doesn’t matter to me – I’m still over the moon.

Thanks again.
    Last edited by Anne-T-Dote; 01-06-2007 at 02:46 PM.

G'day Murf, Yeah mate, that's my biggest ever Red by a country mile. It was a pleasure meeting you up there.

greg

looks like u had great succes...

was looking for ya on the board each nite.

its a bugga to score a BIG red before it started....

"carl" from the other boat "outlaw charters" nabed the $2000 for the job fish....
    myself nothing big but plenty of .........

indian head proved no problems for the boats ..... used two landcruisers connected to the tow vehicle...

i will be there for sure next year with "snappa" .....