Thread: Fresh water an estuary fishing in Mackay

Fresh water an estuary fishing in Mackay

Hey all, i'll towing the boat up to Airlie beach for about a week this june/july. Aim is to check out some of the estuary and fresh water options while we are up there aswell as some canoe creeks for sooty grunter/jungle perch for future dates. So if anyone has any starting points they'd like to share feel more welcome. Even just dropping a river name just as a place to start (half the fun is finding the spots yourself i reakon)

Re: Fresh water an estuary fishing in Mackay

I'm told Cattle Creek is running at the moment & is top canoe country.

Fitzy..
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

enjoy your trip, looking forward to seeing what you catch

Here you go, mate.
    http://www.fishingline.com.au/Queens...hitsundays.htm
    Check out 'Spots Of Interest". Seaforth, Constant ck and Murray ck are good areas to try.

Wink Re: Fresh water an estuary fishing in Mackay

On the river mouth side of the old bridge in Mackay CBD is a eating spot, on the river. There are lights shining on the water that pull the bait fish at night. Tie up on the edge of the light and cast back to the wharf where the light is set up. I have had some top sessions on tarpon there at night. 60cm tarpon on fly make this spot an easy one if your in town. The ramp is close by, but keep a eye on the tide run as it hoots up there.
    Cattle creek for soots is a top option, and dummpleton's weir( not sure on he spelling of this one) is an easy land base option. Have a chat to the gang at fishingworld in shakespear street in mackay. They cut the mustard on my first visit to the area. Just watch the run, and logs with eyes and you will have a ball up there.

Bassbuster

Funnel creek, canoe -baitcaster-toga. Range road between sarina & nebo follows railway line , creeks along the way wortha shot 2.
    Ta

Thanks for the replies fellas, by the looks i'll be heading up on the 7th. We'll spend a couple of days fishing faust and a couple of days at eungella and the rest of the time driving around looking at skinny water. Does anyone know where i can get my hands on a good map or a series of good maps for the mackay and prosopine area, preferably topographical?

Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy87 View Post
    Thanks for the replies fellas, by the looks i'll be heading up on the 7th. We'll spend a couple of days fishing faust and a couple of days at eungella and the rest of the time driving around looking at skinny water. Does anyone know where i can get my hands on a good map or a series of good maps for the mackay and prosopine area, preferably topographical?
    G'day mate, any of the bigger bookshops sell them.

Department of natural resources have them in stock , but mackays smallest/biggest scale is 1-100,000 . You can order them at any dnr office if that is easier, check if 1-50000 is available because the skinnies show up heaps better.
    Ta