Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Beware of large, fast moving objects

Re: Beware of large, fast moving objects

go grab a lotto ticket !

At least leaving the Ducati in the shed this week.

Gotta report an incident like that - sun glare or whatever. Thats just not on.

Bit of a tough one I reckon.

Nothing to be gained by getting the guy into strife, but shit..... you could have been dead!!!!! And are most likely very lucky that you are not........

Has any sort of report been lodged?

Would be a bugger of a situation if he did do the dirty on you and you hadn't notified your insurance in accordance within their required timelines.

Hope all works out OK, but as I said, a bit of a tough one.

Have you contacted your insurance at all (assuming you have it insured)?

- Darren

P.S. Not infering you should be insured, have wondered the value myself sometimes but I guess this is one of those occasions when the numbers come up....

Not sure about down your way, but in Queensland, it is mandatory to report any marine incident, no matter how minor, within 48 hours(I think).

You can get into a bit of trouble for not reporting, if they find out of course.

I am sorry but the guy should be reported. His negligence could be someone's life next time. He was probably half asleep, over speed in the conditions, pissed, or not at the wheel. A boat your size not seen due to glare.......pffft...... seems a bit far fetched, but I guess it happens. Anyway, beside all that, I would report it according to the law. Also that damage will be difficult to repair and your boat will never be the same.

Accidents happen but most can be prevented.
    Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!

What a pain in the bum this is becoming.

Just got off the phone from NSW Maritime, & yes, it needs to be reported, legally.
    Even if I contact my insurance over it , they will report it.

If he was just some jerk, I would be there with bells on, but the bloke concerned is a local, & not a bad bloke, he has given us plenty of pointers over the time & I just cant see the point of having him hammered with big fines & possible threat to his lively-hood, the only thing he did wrong was not sees us, he was at the wheel, 'cos I could see his eyes.

Going to track him down & discuss drawing up a binding contract, if that cant be done...........I have no choice but to go legal.

Will let you know what happens.

Yeah, that's the way to go Muzza, just as long as she gets repaired properly.
    Look at it this way, you'll get your boat fixed, he can carry on as normal albeit a bit more careful and you should end up with some of his "secret" spot X's.
    In fact I'd demand some spot X's. LOL

Glad no one was hurt!

I've had a couple of close calls out wide at night. I now try to keep a good lookout and at night I always have a spotty plugged in so that I can shine it in the eyes of a non-attentive driver . I have decided that if I look like being run over again, I will fire up the motor and just gun it out of the line of fire!

Glad to hear that you're all ok Muzz.

As someone else has pointed out, you need to emphasise to the insurance company that your boat, although repairable, may well be, (after repair), structurally inferior to what it once was.

In view of the fact that the rig was flexing, what may have gone on below deck needs to be sussed out before you settle with them.

Good luck with it all, mate.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Whats the chances?

Sounds like you and yours are very lucky to have come out of this ok!
    Good to hear, Sunday was a pretty ordinary day up here also.
    Hope you get your boat fixed up ASAP and i hope W?????? starts wearing sun (prescription) glasses ASAP also.
    Best of luck to you all.
    Catchya!

It is a shame but you do need to report it, one thing for certain if he really does feel bad about the role he played in it and is therefore actually a good bloke he will have no problem with you doing what you need to -if it is a problem to him well he is not a good bloke - be sure of that! and it is then something you can take comfort in to some degree.

Best of luck and thankful no serious injury resulted.

Lucky Boys U Guys

Kevin

Yes, morally you know, that he'll probably end up in deep doodles, but as someone mention and I know it is the law to report it here in QLD and you could well be prosecuted for not reporting it. Sometime, the legality of it make it hard to draw the line, but you were lucky on this incident and amen to that!!!
    Happy fishing
    wayne
    Humility is not a weather condition.

gday all sunday was the scariest day ive ever had at sea .Gleeeza its not my fault i was just doin what i love doin fishn.we might have to come for a ride with you!anyhow we were very very lucky. cheers ida