G'day fellow Ausfishers,
Here is my situation.
I would love to upgrade from the 385 Explorer to say a 5 mtr centre console so i can get outside a bit further & without having to wait for those perfect days. You know the ones, they always happen to be on a Tuesday , Wednesday or Thursday with the usual 15-25 knot SE change coming through about 3.45 Friday arvo :-) Anyway, I don't have the spare cash according to the Minister for W & F but that doesn't stop the daydreams does it?
This is my question to you all.
Has anyone ever thought of buying a boat ( or has bought a boat) with say two other keen fishos so the purchase price & running/maintenance costs are only one third of the price of going it alone? Just wondering what everyone's thoughts are on this . (or experiences if they have done it)
Ideal purchase price would be about $20,000+ which means $6000 - $7000 each. I could sell the explorer & only have to put in an extra grand or two for my share. Fuel, rego, servicing etc would then be one third of normal as well.
Options available to me are ... buying a boat from my employer(Quinnie) at an ok discount or welding a killer kit platey myself with help from said partners. The second option is realistic as I have been welding boats at work for about 5 years & am now doing the electrical & fit out stages for a change of scenery.
Bring it on fellas, good & bad!