Thread: drag on sol 2000 v2500

drag on sol 2000 v2500

looking into buying a sol but cant decide on which size 2000 or 2500, im assuming that the 2500 is going to have a sturdier drag,
    but would prefer the size and weight of the 2000, which balances up better on the rod i want.

does anyone know the drag capacities of each?

i would be using the reel with 8 & 10lb braid.

any info would be great

greg

Re: drag on sol 2000 v2500

G'day Greg,

Not sure about the difference between the two - but here is some useful info for you http://www.tackletour.com/reviewtdsolspin.html looks like the 2500 has in excess of 6kg of drag, at a guess I would say that the 2000 would be similar. If you are only using 8 - 10lb braid I don't think you'll have any problems with either.

Hi Greg

I bought a td sol 2000 about 2 months ago and still have original box, instructions but no where does it reference drag specifications (other than its waterproof). When I compared the 2000 and the 2500 spool sizes were the only noticable difference but I admit I didn't check the drag strengths. I run 4lb and 6lb fireline of the spools with no problems yet. Nice reels.

thats interesting Peter,
    so the main difference is the spool.

when i got my sol 2500 they didnt have the 200 so couldnt see the difference,

i think unless your running 20lb briad ether 1 will be ok.
    there TD reels so the drags are good if not fantastic.
    they would be as a stella.
    cheers Cloud 9
    then it realy gets ughly

the only difference between thse reels is the spool size

Quote Originally Posted by ANGLERnotDANGLER View Post
    the only difference between thse reels is the spool size
    This is close to the mark for most brands ! .... Nagg

thanks for info guys great food for thought

both will handle 8-10lb no problems, i have a diawa laguna 2000 thats 2 yrs old and have never had a drag problem, it has caught some pretty impressive landbased fish so its had a good test. Barra to 80cm, squire to 56cm, 2.5kg parrot, 4kg blackall etc. i reckon ive tested it pretty thoroughly
    that was a 175 buck reel at the time so id say the sol is even better

Hey Guy's.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but it is my understanding that in the daiwa range that most of the 2000's have a 4kg drag and the 2500's have a 7kg drag.

Greg,
    I have a TD Sol 2000 with 6 pound fireline on it, the drag is silky smooth, it is strong and best fish to date on it is a 72cm Snapper that went 4kgs, it handled it no worries at all.
    The only reason i would go for the 2500 would be if you were to use it for chasing macks or tuna, if you were the 2500 would have a slighly faster retrieve ratio and more line capacity.
    Marty.

hey guys

extending on the topic of spool sizes. if thats the only difference in the reel is it then possible to have a 2000 spool for light work and then switch to a 2500 for bigger fish. or do they not fit. has anyone tested it out?

The difference is that the Daiwa 1500's and 2000's are the same but one has a larger spool, while the 2500 and the 3000 have the same gear box. If you fish lightter then go the 2000 if you are a hard core snapper plastic fishermen then go the 2500. Also the 2500 has the larger handle.

gday greg
    at my local tackle shop they do what they call a "drage upgrade" dont ask me how but it cost $25 dollas and it allows u to put more line on and stonger line it also does sumthingh to the drag but cant really help ya with the quistion hope this helped a bit

How ya living?