while I am waiting for my boat to be delivered im trying to learn as much as I can about boating and I was Just wondering how wind direction effects the conditions on the bay and what are the most pleasant wind direction to go out in ?
The most pleasant is none, but because its the bay, you will hardly ever get that,....depends greatly on where your fishing..a SE..if it isent to strong is ok to slip across to moreton, where it will be calm..then its all downhill if the SE stays in till the arvo....NE can be a pain......Sw/S can get very lumpy....its a big bay and any wind can be anoying/unsafe...pick the good days stay home over 15 knts...unless your getting a fair size boat...
..Greg...."Termites pay the bills"..... Trailcraft 475...75 Hp E-Tec
Hows it going mate
Have to agree with juju the bay can be a real pain in the arse the chop gets real steep and close together and can make your ride very unpleasant in
also the bay can go from glass to outright dangerous in no time at all
if the bay is going to be over 1m i normally head offshore instead
Also it depends on where you leave from. If you head out from Scarborough you will find the chop flank on most of the time if your heading to tangalooma
Russ
Any direction as long as it's going with the tide
Yes. Wind against tide in the bay is the worst, gets very choppy.
Remember - tide coming in, its moving north to south, tide going out, its moving south to north. I remember it by imagining a cup, water coming in (north/top -> south/bottom), water going out (south/bottom -> north/top).
which end of the bay are you residing, striking. se might be all very nice down the bottom end but up our end it's not real nice. top call meherio.
Big tide differences ( ie more water moving ) will create a different chop against the wind than a smaller tide difference in the same wind
make sense?????
Last edited by wiz; 22-05-2007 at 01:18 PM.
What's been said so far. I also try to travel on slack water, top ot bottom of tide, weather permitting.
You will also get a different ride from differing ramps to the same location. Scarborough to Comby (as the crow flies) can be a nightmare, and it can also be a breeze with a following coming back, and is totally different than Nudgee to Comby.
Beware when returning in summer as flat seas further out in the bay, bely the lumpy seas close in from inshore breezes........St Helena to Manly can be a bummer on a fine day ebbing, and you can hazard a guess at the conditions if you see yacht masts in the distance
See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.
The bay can be like the weather in melbourne......i went over to teh sandhills one morning in a 10 k SE...run in tide low was at 5....got over there about an hour later there wasnt a breath of wind....Forcast was foe 10-15 se.......at around 9 am ...in came a 20-25 knts W SW....bay came up as rough as guts...one of the worst trips back ive ever had
..Greg...."Termites pay the bills"..... Trailcraft 475...75 Hp E-Tec
Man there is a lot to take in there.... I reside down the southern end of the bay near beenleigh.....not sure where i will launch from yet though.
yeah mate heaps to take in alright, it can be a downright treacherous piece of water for a small boat. everyone who goes boating in the bay will have had a not fun experience at one time or another.
Striking
I only tend to hang around the northern end of the bay north of Mud Island and beyond. There is nowhere to hide if it gets nasty up that end. North of the Pearl Banks buoy it has some very shallow banks that can be treacherous.
I think the worst breeze in the bay is one you don’t see coming. Always be wary when a SE change is forecast as they can come through earlier than expected and can build to more than forecast when they first come through.
Take it slow and check the following sites:
http://www.seabreeze.com.au/graphs/qld.asp
http://www.bom.gov.au/cgi-bin/wrap_fwo.pl?IDQ17500.txt
http://www.buoyweather.com/wxnav6.jsp?region=AE&program=nww3BW1&grb=nww3&lati tude=-27.0&longitude=153.75&zone=10&units=e
http://www.bom.gov.au/oceanography/tides/MAPS/brisbane.shtml