Thread: A good day, then smashed at spot X

A good day, then smashed at spot X

Hi all.

Went out yesterday from Vic Point for a run and a fish as it has been 2 weeks and I was itching to wet a line. Started out drifting out off Peel for a while, only my brother got a hit and it took him around and around then PING! Bastard.

Headed off to the Northern End of peel and had a drift around. Out of the blue a washing machine on the surface and tuna everywhere bailing up a bait ball. Flicked every rod with a shiny thing on it we had - nothing. Bastards. Drifted again then got my first ever fish on an SP to the boat. A pike - didn't care as I broke my hoodoo on the placcies. Took a 4" shad in pumpkinseed on a 1/8 TT head.

Shot up to St Helena around 3ish and pulled up on the bommies on the Eastern side. Got a couple of small squire on the SP's and some little sweetlip on bait. Mrs got a nice little squire (don't mind the big thumb in the pic - she doesn't handle fish ). Its a great nursery there and with the numbers of little 'uns around I hope this is good signs to come for the Bay.

Motored out off Wello for a drift - nuthin - not a sound. OK last chance and shot off to a NEW (well my first) Spot X. My first cast - on a smelly strip of mullet and a PB squire to the boat. Loved it. They were on thick and fast squire, sweetlip and a nice bream. Kept 3 for my brother as he is the only one that eats fish! A great spot and one we will revist.

Only hiccup was when decided it was time to head back, I took a wrong marker and ended up in Cleveland!! Didn't recognise a damn thing at night and I guess as it was my first time out there in the dark it only took me another 1hr to work it out (along with 6 ciggies as I ran out of beer ).

Hope you all had good weekends. Tight lines all.

Puff

Re: A good day, then smashed at spot X

Good on ya Puff Dad,

Now you can go out and beat that PB you just set.
    Get into em mate!

Always good to post a pb! Might be worthwile investing in a hand held gps for the run home though!

Will you find Spot "X" again?

Cool Re: A good day, then smashed at spot X

Quote Originally Posted by Chrome Dome View Post
    Will you find Spot "X" again?
    LOL - mate I got there in the light - might struggle if its dark!!!

The GPS idea floated was a good one too......wondering if the Mrs would appreciate this as a wedding anniversary pressie.?????

Good reprt Puff. You shoulda just posted the the pic of the esky and told us it was a 100L job! That woulda got tongues wagging.

Damo
    Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.

Puff Daddy

There's no substitute for getting on the water at Gentleman's hours ( you didn't say what time you started in your post but I know!! ) and catching fish, a PB to boot!! You had an action packed weekend! Makes me look a bit sad getting up at 4.00am......

Good read!

Good stuff Puff Daddy. Makes it all worth while when you feel the head shakes whilst winding in the fish. Had squire for dinner tonight myself. Nothing better than fresh fish although now that I know that you don't like eating them you can always feel free to pass them onto me via my brother if you want (and provided you can find your spot x again)

I marked Spot X with a float I had - damn thing is I forgot to tether it to the bottom....

Puff