Barwon Banks, Nice Sat night out ?

Thread: Barwon Banks, Nice Sat night out ?

Barwon Banks, Nice Sat night out ?

Left Sat arvo 5pm for BB,
    Got there after dark & went to 70m, nothing happening.
    moved to 90-100m, NE blowing, not what was predicted.
    moved back to Mid banks anchored up for a sh&t night of
    N,NW again not predicted.
    Had a sleep, woke to wave over the bow and through the hatch.
    Yes, It was closed but not locked down.
    Now it was a SW + white caps.
    Left BB at 7.30am for a slow wet trip home at 12-21knots. (depending if pointing to Noosa or the Glass house mountains.
    Got passed buy cats & bigger boats, must be a message there.
    Anyhow 2 keepers for 90 lts of fuel, saved on bait & didn't eat the packet of
    chips I took.
    + >10nm out, starboard light went out, then lost port, GPS kept turning off, no worries have compass, then lost compass light, no worries have star in sky, until the clouds came over it, Lots of foul language & a change of fuse all set again.

& to add insult to injury I watched the news tonight and they said nice day today on the water should be another nice day tommorrow.

One to forget, that's my report.

Anybody else out there ?

Re: Barwon Banks, Nice Sat night out ?

Have to have one of those days - Makes you really appreciate the good ones. It can only get better next trip.

Ausfish Platinum Member -spiro-'s Avatar

Snap been a while since i've seen you post for out there. first trip in a while?
    Bad luck allways next time
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

De-Ja-Vu.

I've had those times, just not quite that bad.

Look on the bright side, It can only get better from here.

I went out yestreday early morning - left ramp ~4am with a great 20 knt wind, went to Murphys and that was that - came home with 2x snapper and 1x cobe - not too flash and glad I wasnt on the banks

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Yes Snapp....I know exactly what you mean. We left Mooloolaba 2pm Saturday and you could have water skied to the northern Banks. We got a decent feed thanks to the dusk bite, but then the weather closed in...white caps, rain, you name it. We were going to persist and hang around for the dawn bite, but decided to pull the pin at 2am as it was damn uncomfortable.......I kid you not it took us 4 hours to travel home

I was out off gneerings too on sun am, not a very nice day at all, couple of reefies and a black tip.

I was also impressed when i heard how nice it was for boating last nite on the weather.

Yes Snap, we got out to the top end of the banks at 5.15pm, thought the light ne would die after sunset, how wrong we were!

Screaming N-NE until about 2.30 - 3 am, then screaming SW-S 20+ knotts, don't know how the forcast could be so wrong!

Absolute crap of a trip back first thing in the morning. ( 2 hours )

4 fish, about a 100 litres of fuel.

Has put me off doing overnighters at the banks.

Bill

Snapp I feel for you.

Its important to tell others what can go wrong and to be self sufficient as much as possible as obviously you are.

I just recently went out and bought 2 inflatable PFD1’s for night use. I remember one night leaning over the cowl trying to untie an 80lb mono line off a prop on my own in 1M of slop…AAAHHH.
    The seabreeze site seems to be getting better at short range predictions and I am using it more than others at the moment. Although I do check the others as backup, BOM and bouyweather as well as synoptic and stick my head out the window. If the palm across the road is flapping in the streetlight its back to bed to try my luck elsewhere.
    Got to hate those westerlies coming home.

It will be better next time.

Yeah mate they definately srwed up the weather reoprt on that one I was out on the gneerings on sunday morning was predicted to be 5-10 more like 15-20. We were goin to head out to murphies but turned the corner of pt cartwright asnd got hammered by a good 1.5m chop so decided to stay in close. We only got a couple of keepers as well. Comming back around lunch time it was beautiful wouldn't you know it.

Ausfish Premium Member

Hate to say it but I'm glad to hear I made the right decision to catch nothing in close than to head to the banks to catch nothing in discomfort!. I was a hairs breadth off heading wide myself Sat nite.

we headed out sun 1pm
    flat as a tack 45-50klms all way
    got a few fish

was going to go out on sunday but last minuite saturday night decided to f/g our kill tank into the boat turned out to be a good decision judging from all the reports. on sunday afternoon went to spinaker to see how people went started talking to a bloke who ownes a 7 meter noosa cat said weather was real lumpy but he got some nice snapper and a cobia

cheers tassie JR

Your not alone. We headed out Sat arvo with perfect conditions and headed 95km up on the Hards only to be met by a raging current. Headed Back in 15km and current was better but missed the arvo bite. Only got about 10 fish. Decided to move back to the start of hard have a sleep and get ready for the morning bite. Got wet, pounded by weather and pulled anchor twice. No sleep. Headed home 430 am. Had a freak wave break in front of us cleared the front bow rail of 7m cat busted clears in and drenched us. 4hrs 15min home.

We left Sunday 12 noon for the northern banks Bugger all fish except for a 7kg nobbie.I'll never go on the dark moon again 2 weeks before on the lead up to the full you could have walked across the pearlies to about 2kg. Bring on the next Full Moon. And the snapper...
    Cheers John