one of those character building trips Kev, just good to be on the water
Kev,
Do you reckon you were getting your baits down to the bottom?
If not then you may find it beneficial to invest in a decent sea anchor to hold you with the current.
I know they aren't cheap ($250) but neither is a day out that far.
- Darren
Kev,
Keep the boat mate you weren't alone. Saw a lot of boats moving about all day.
We were north of Hutchies and fished all the way to Wide C on wednesday. Early action before the change of tide was good with a variety of fish coming on board then the current started truckin!
No fish after this even with good soundings.
A reference I use about current in the deep is the ships coming into port.
If the ships are in close the current out wide is truckin and visa versa.
I noticed on wednesday the ships were a long way out before turning into port!
Coincidence maybe but it works for me.
Scoota...
Mate, I was fishing at anchor. yeah, the baits were on the bottom judging from how much tackle I lost I was hoping to drift but it was a bit uncomfortable with the seas. Have got a sea anchor but haven't rigged it yet. Good job I read about the buggers otherwise I would only have put one rope to it...........would be a bit of a bugger getting it back then, wouldn't it?
See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.
Yeah Scoota, those that were out ther were moving about. When we left hutchies there wasn't a boat left. Saw the last one to us, head off for Wide Caloundra and the deckie was talking to 'em at Scarborough ramp. Said that they had done alright on pearlies there and also had some nice cobia. Was that you, so I'll know your rig in future?
See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.
Gidday Kev,
No that wasn't us you were chatting to but if you are ever out there we monitor VHF 73 all the time and call us up using Scoota or Mi Lady. I will be posting in [going fishing] in future when planing a venture.
Don't have a really good pic of the boat but attached the best. Will PM a better pic in future. Would like a PM of your boat for future reference.
We leave from Bribie all the time and would really like some feedback if you happen to be out there at the same time.
Happy Days
Scoota....Attachment 6429
OK Scoota. Will try and get in touch when we are going out.
Haven't got a full up to date of my rig but the first pic is of her before we modified the bum and the 2nd pic is her bum after modification
Swell....current.......? we were out at hutchies wednsday arvo for 3 hours with 2foot of swell and .5 of a knot of surface current, we ended up with snapper,pearlies,swetties and rosy jobfish but nothing with any size.
There was more than that in the morning, I can assure you. The fact that we were the only rig there speaks volumes. As I said, going home the sea was like a millpond.
To be honest, it's the first time that I've experienced any sort of uncomfortable current at Hutchies. One of my first posts here, when I started going offshore was questioning why the boats there, although maybe only a hundred metres apart, seemed to sit in different directions? I've watched boats pull up, drop anchor, and almost immediately swing round and tighten on the warp. Other boats, such as mine, would sometimes be facing a different direction, or be on slack warp, and were obviously more influenced by wind than current. maybe some of the dive guys here could explain?
It's something that I've never figured out or been given confirmation of by other members, but it really is a phenomena that my passengers would testify to.
Hi Kev,
when you talk of leatherjackets, do you mean the big yellow or purple chinaman jackets?
How thick are they?
We are dreading the arrival of the BILLIONS of jackets that cant be far off now, unless the current keeps them away.
I,m not exagerating either,
we get them so bad that they reach from about 29 fathoms to more than 60 fathoms, so thick that you can catch them from 40 feet under the boat, all the way to the bottom. No waiting.
If you wait to long to wind up, the hooked fish will get eaten by the other jackets.
Is this what you are getting???