Sunday - Bribie Bridge- Jack

Thread: Sunday - Bribie Bridge- Jack

Talking Sunday - Bribie Bridge- Jack

On Sunday I managed to get a pass after Mother’s Day breakfast – so I shot up to Bribie and was fishing in my waders at Buckley’s Hole around 10.00am hoping the last of the run out tide would produce. Conditions were dreadful after about ½ an hour I got a 30 cm Cod on the Gulp Pumpkinseed Minnow Grub followed about twenty minutes later by a 30 cm Bream on the same plastic. Then it went dead and with the wind howling and the swell getting up I decided to give the bridge a try. I had a flick around the newly dumped rock walls on the island side and managed a couple of Pike then it all went quiet. I drove up to White Patch but by now the tide was too high to fish off the drop off so after several snags and I decided to go and get a cup of coffee.

At 4.00 pm I found myself back at bridge this time hoping the run in tide and higher water might bring the flathead out. Sure enough after about an hour the 2” Gulp Shrimp got munched by a 44cm Flathead – I had now been fishing for nearly 7 hours for two very modest keepers.

At sunset I drove over to the other side of the bridge and thought I would have a few last casts around the mangroves. I wandered down out under the bridge lights and suddenly the plastic gets absolutely smashed and I am on to what I think is a decent fish. Couple of runs later I realize I have my first Jack on. He was landed safely and photographed - as I removed the hook he bit down hard again on the plastic. I ended up freeing and removing the jig head but not the plastic and as he swam away he was still holding it firmly between his teeth – I wonder if the Gulp’s give them wind! One more cast into the dark right under the bridge and wallop I am on again - this time it was a 62 cm Flathead – into the esky he went with the Bream and the smaller Flathead – and suddenly I had had a pretty good day.

Ausfish Gold Member

Re: Sunday - Bribie Bridge- Jack

love the colour in that jack, nice fish

Great report mate.
    good to see fish getting caght in the passage. I havent been out for a while myself. these reports around bribie gets me eager to put the boat in ASAP

neil

great session mate,

its good to see jacks are still around

Nice report !

Ausfish Platinum Member geoff72's Avatar

nice work mate,great couple of keepers there,persistance certainly piad off for you.
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

classic example of 'never say die' attitude MM. nice fish allround. top effort.

. 8.9 .

c'mon, take the bait....

Nice jack...Well Done!!

Give it a few more mins pays off again........reward for the time put in .....ive never caught a jack...but love the look of them.....one day
    ..Greg...."Termites pay the bills"..... Trailcraft 475...75 Hp E-Tec

Top work mate nice fish

Great Fish Well Done

You certainly earnt them fish MM! A fitting reward for your patience and not a bad way to spend a day.congrats!!!

well done, persistence does pay off, i would have been on my way home by 12.30 & missed out on the good stuff

Ausfish Platinum Member -spiro-'s Avatar

Well done mate i have'nt seen any deccent fish around the Bribie bridge in years
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

nice work mate! that would have been a pleasant surprise when u saw it!