dont know about the Navara as such, but I have just bought a Pathfinder TI with the 2.5TD (4000ks on it now).
So far, excellent car. Great power for a 2.5, tows with ease and drives really well.
dont know about the Navara as such, but I have just bought a Pathfinder TI with the 2.5TD (4000ks on it now).
So far, excellent car. Great power for a 2.5, tows with ease and drives really well.
So is the 2.5D a newer engine then the 3.0D being used.
In other words, which is better for fuel economy to power ratio?
Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!
I think there is a little confusion about the STX here. The STX is the new shape navara and quite different to the DX.
I have an STX with about 14000kms and Im not that impressed with the build quality. Sure its nice to drive and has tonnes of grunt but it allready has annoying rattles and a constant squeak in the front end that nissan can't find the source of. I had a look under it the other day and found a large nut hidden in an exhaust heat shield......mmm were the.....did that come from. Anyway i removed the nut and the sqeak is still there.
I previously owned a Landcruiser ute that was 14 years old, 12 years of which I owned it and it had less rattles then the new STX.
I am not condeming the new one just yet but its not off to a great start.
Yes, we had the same problem with our Navara STX..... it was like you were going over the vibrations on the side of the road, & like you say.... only going up an incline around 100ks towing something .... it annoyed hubby something shocking..... anyway, Garry Cricks in Nambour sorted it out.... I will have to ask hubby tomorrow for more details as he is asleep at the moment.... but it is running perfectly now
..... some additive.....
He is really happy with the power towing the boat.... heaps of power up hill..... but he also comments how the headlights are crap & has fitted spotlights.... but is still not really happy.... something about the bullbar being in the way.... OK on high beam but low beam not good..... we have some better bulbs but hasn't had a chance to install them as yet.....
Also, the speedo is out about 7klms..... we kept wondering why everyone was overtaking us!
As regards to the last post....
Was told by Garry Cricks because they don't use asbestos in clutch plates anymore, they have problems with slipping clutch plates. Apparently, Mitsuibishi have had similar problems for years & by adding a friction modifier to transmission oil solves slipping problems, which they have done to mine, as has solved the problem & have recently heard of another one with the same problems.
Hope this helps!
Ian1
Would love to know if you can find out what that annoying sqeak is, as i have the same thing, that is drving me batty...![]()
John J ,you Shouldn't Be Towing Any Decent Amount Of Weight In Overdrive, Especially Up Any Sort Of Grade. Light Loads On The Flat Only. Overdrive Is For Cruising Only.
Cheers, Geoff
MAY THE FISH BE WITH YOU!
I too just picked up a new STX. Had it 2 weeks so far. Took it up the A-Break at Mt Mee last wekend and it just walked up the hill. I have the 2.5 deisel auto. To be honest I am really stunned by the engine, not at all like the diesel's i drove when i was younger. The thing almost drives like a petrol engine.
The only thing I dont like is the lack of space for a second battery. There is some space under the tray behind the rear wheels and some more space under the cab just foward from where the driver sits.
Realandy, Talk To Offroad Specialists. Piranah Etc Do A Dual Bat Setup Under The Body, Inside The Chassis Rail.
Cheers, Geoff
MAY THE FISH BE WITH YOU!
I have a Navara STX D40 Auto Diesel, and it flies. When towing my aluminium 4.6m centre console i have to keep checking its still hooked on. Haven't tested it on the beach as yet, but itching to get to Moreton or Double Island. We've got the new hiluxes at work also, so it'll be interesting to compare them when we do a boys weekend of solid fishing. A guy at work who gets back spasms from bad car seats took it for the weekend to binna burra, he said it was one of the most comfortable 4wd seats he has sat in for a ute. Great fuel economy on long distances. Not bad also around brisbane. Getting about 100+ extra than the Hilux
My mate in Mackay just a new petrol model Triton and he said its the best thing he's ever driven. He only tests new cars in the wet, and he said the triton performed the best out of all of them. Heaps of grunt also.
Mark.
Gday all with ref to towing with the auto navara suggest you chk the manual most say to turn off overdrive when towing not 100% sure with nissan but it might be prudent to check before you go and void your warranty.
regards gary
Checked out the Piranah tray today but it can only accomodate an 80ah battery where as i would prefer something a bit bigger (to run the fridge for a couple of days). Since it will only ever get used for the fridge I will probably get a portable battery box the in tray and hook it up via an anderson plug. There is also space behind the rear wheels, so might investigate that a bit further yet.
I have just racked up 2000k on my D40 with 2.5 CRD and manual, I went for the DX model with ABS and dual bags. I am very impressed so far, gets about 9.8 l/100km and tows my 1200kg loaded tinnie with ease.
The things I don't like is the lack of power under about 1800rpm, it feels like turbo lag but I am told that it is more likely lack of fuel required to meet new emmisions requirements (Euro 4?). The speedo is out by 8k's, @100km GPS shows 92k's. I have owned 3 earlier model TD's (Cruiser and Rodeos) without this problem. I have just purchased a DP Chip to hopefully eliminate this and save my clutch a bit when getting up the ramp. I currenly have no problem towing in top gear along flattish roads, it's not lugging and this gap between 5th & 6th is well ratioed.
I have driven most other TD vehicles available in this range and feel that the D40 offred the best value for money.
Jerry
Hi guys
it has been very interesting reading your opinions on the new Navara STX. Have any of you had any clutch problems with htis vehicle. It seems there have been a few reported. I have a 3L Patrol which supposedly also had clutch issues but after 130 K its still good as new. Mabe there are just poor drivers out there.
Any feedback on Navara issues would be appreciated
Brett![]()
G'day guys, Ive done nearly 12,000kms in my diesel manual STX So far no probs always uses around 10l per 100 city or highway . The only thing that annoys me is the speedo being out 7 or 8 k's, everyone I know with one says theirs is out too. Would there be any way of altering or recalibrating the speedo? Brought it up with nissanbut just got the usual as long as its within 10%