Looking to purchase a Navara stx, has anyone had any experience with them. I have to tow a 6mtr platey, any feedback appreciated.
Yes Greg,
an Ausfish member here ( a couple actually ) have that vehicle.
I have the 2002 model and have towed a 6.2 platey all over the shop.
Can't fault them yet, then again, mines only done 150,000k's
Haven't got one myself, (got 93 Patrol), but know a few that have and they very happy.
On Special at the moment to ABN holders, in NSW anyway
greg l have 2002 model as well tow 680 hanies to fraser twice and anges many times 103000kms on it.
Thanks guys, thats what I hoped to hear.
Phil,
You have an ST-R not ST-X.
The ST-X has a 2.5L Diesel that is more powerful/more torque than the 3L in the ST-R. Pretty sure the ST-R towing weight is 2800KG braked and the ST-X either the same or 3000Kg.
Last edited by John_R; 16-05-2007 at 04:27 AM.
Greg,
I have the latest STX, nearly done 11000k's, it's the 4.0l petrol auto, so far it has been ok, just a few things that have annoyed me.
The headlights aren't real flash (before someone says put spotties on it,if they were half decent in the first place I wouldnt have to), shits me having to take the keys out of the ignition to open the fuel cap door, has no button on the inside to open it, maybe a saftey thing....dunno!
One of the quarter glasses in the window is loose and rattles, the vent cover for the a/c at the drivers feet fell out today, no height adjustment for the seat but generally not needed (but would be nice to have) as they are a fairly comfortable seat.
All the electronics for the the 4wd is obviously state of the art, this car has a mind of its own when bogged it sort of wants to do its own thing which I found annoying.
Loves the juice, all in all, generally I like it, just a few things that bug me.
What I will say is, the sucker has got a mountain of grunt.
Thanks for your honest feedback Paul , you said you got bogged , do you think the car is generally good in the sand or not.
Probably a bit of a deceiving statement there about being bogged, we actually were trying to get bogged to test some off road equipment, I was in 4wd and tried to put the car in 2wd to really bury it, problem is the bloody thing was too smart and knew that it was bogged and wouldn't let the car engage into 2wd.
I have been to Double Island a few times now and generally fine in the soft stuff, last time I went up I towed a trailer and in my haste to get back home left on an incoming tide which had me basically from Freshwater to the first cutting in the soft, had no problems at all, although I did chew through a heap of juice which you would expect, poor thing was working pretty hard with the trailer on, basically dragged the trailer through the soft stuff.
Geez Maxi, you dont really think Nissan's get bogged by themselves do ya!!!!
Paul,
I have never owned a Nissan but I think that is about to change, all the reviews on this vehicle indicate they are market leaders in there field.
Thanks for your help mate
Not sure if this was scuttlebutt or good info, but worth a mention. A bloke @ a Renown 4x4 accessories chain store mentioned teething issues with the manual gearbox on the STX TD. Apparently not surviving the torque loads from the beaut TD engine. He thought the older model was very tough and a better buy for now.
Not sure if this was genuine as he is a self confessed Hilux man.
Maxi
I tow my 1.8 tonne Kevlacat with a 2003 model diesel Navara & am very happy with the performance. Cruise along at 95 to 100 kph on the flats and dont have to change down too many gears on the hills. Have done 95,000ks with no motor/gearbox problems etc.........
Cheers Chris.
G'Day,
I took delivery of a new ST-X TD in the 6 speed manual yesterday.
Took it on the highway last night, drove just like a sedan. Nice and quiet, you only really get the diesel noise at slower speeds.
I don't know what some people are complaining about when they say that it is sluggish ... this may be true if you are comparing it to a Clubsport!
3 Tonne towing capacity is a bonus.
Geoff
Yes Greg I purchased a D40 Navara 2.5 diesel stx auto 4/06 travelled 38000ks. Very satisfied with comfort ,handling ,performance and economy tow a 5.6 mtr inboard/outboard bowrider tows with ease up from Batemans Bay to Williamsdale south of Canberra, also tow a horse float. On a recent trip to Wilberforce return towing the float ,approx 700 ks fuel consumption 14.5 ltrs per 100 ks using cruise control set at 105 on freeway. I am very happy with the ute (have owned a varity of 4wd utes and waggons over the past 25 years). I must admit I have one problem wich the dealer has yet to fathom out . At around 2000rpm approx 100 kph under load up a slight incline with the float on it gets a vibration in overdrive. I am booked in to take the ute in with the float and demonstrate the problem on a peice of smooth freeway. Would be interested if anyone else reading this email has a similar problem.
John J
I am also about to purchase either a
navara STX 3.0DT Dual cab
triton GLX-R 3.2DT Dual cab
Personally, I like the sleeker look of the triton, but ask people's opinions on there preference and why.
Also, i am looking at registering an ABN, whats the tax implications or requirements to get an ABN price on a new vehicle?
Roydsy
Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!