Can you still get Jacks up there this time of year??
I have heard reports that they are catching good quantities of tuna in the bay just inside the bar at tin can. Anyway, 2nd hand knowledge, make of it as you will.
Roydsy
Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!
The TCB / Rainbow pro's are known for some very suspect activities, of course proving it is another issue. You only need to have a yarn to some of the different people around the joint to work out things are a little bit on the " deliverance " side of life out that way.
I know for a fact, first hand, saw it with my own eyes while driving around the bush near Poverty Point of some shonky operators. Also have witnessed some slightly dodgy stuff at the back door of the co-op too.
I think that from Bundaberg to Hervey Bay should be shut down to all forms of fishing / crabbing, simply because there are some extremely rare and very unique systems in that area which really need to be protected for the long term. Seasonal closures just arent enough for sustainable rehabilitation of fish / crab stocks and the ecosystems that are part of. These systems need a break and it needs to happen before its too late. Shut down that stretch for two years, then move along and shut down another stretch of coastline eg Hervey Bay to Noosa. Work the rotation so that every six years its shut down for two years.
I dunno I just have bad dreams that things will end in disaster.
Catch & release is the ONLY sustainable fishing practice.
The commercial fishery is the only primary industry that has no idea of precisely what stocks are available. For example every beef cattle farmer knows that he has X amount of cattle and manages his property accordingly with the correct practices to ensure sustainability & viability, YET NOT ONE pro fishermen provides any true management practice or input to fish stocks. They simply seem to kill, kill & kill - ifs its undersize and therefore unsaleable then its gets tossed over and further depletes fish stocks. Nets are very unforgiving and indiscriminate.
I think more pro licenses should be revoked or bought back.
Just my thoughts of course.
James
Roydsy! Ga day! Its true longtails are on the bite in that spot, some what. But homework on what the the feed is, is the key.
P/S They are big!---------------------------------------12.5kg,s. hint! 40gm,s.
best of luck.
minno
Hi Silent
We are staying at marroom caravan paek a powered site green ford and a white 4.35 apache Ally craft 30 HP JONNO IF YOUR IN THE AREA COME SAY HI
SHANE
BIG_UNIT,
Like I say to NOWHERE BOB & WEAR THE FOX HEAD
You're welcome to share the side story about good/bad things happening in Tin Can Bay area...
That's why we have the forum for...
Thanks Silent; I'm stoked to find a platform where big people can discuss the things I'm passionate about. Also I think exchange of opinions is critical to reaching understanding and compromise.
Peace WTFH. I'm sorry I replied with hotter words than I should have. I know about net & trawl from family up north. I bought the guy a beer to pick his brain about local banks & holes when I first turned up to Rainbow / Inskip.
I doubt that there will be a solution found that will satisfy everybody. So compromise positions will need to be found.
Commercial operations are just that - commercial operations facing the reality of Cost of production V. price. The local Net & Mud Crab operators are all small businesses who have gone into a trade in good faith. [WTFH I think 90%+ are local.] If public opinion says the Sandy Straights should be closed to commercial fishing - How do you compensate these guys? Strong parallels can be drawn with timber industry. There are only so many whale watching /charter fishing jobs. I don’t ever like seeing a small mob of people being done over.
Big Unit – You have put your finger right on the 100 million dollar issue – stock levels. Every year we [as a society] harvest seafood stocks and assume next year’s population will be the same – based on observations from previous seasons. We have no real understanding of all the factors that combine to affect populations. However I think the continued harvest-particularly of short lived species-proves that to date the effort has been largely sustainable. If the effort put into catching fish suddenly blew out then that would be a bad sign. But pro catches are more or less the same, with no major increase in effort. Now in the SS there is increasing pressure both rec & pro – this will have to be managed if the stocks are to survive.
Big Unit I strongly disagree about banning all take from the area. I think Representative Areas declared as green zones are a good start. To ban all take would-I think have an unacceptable impact. If you search back through my posts you’ll see that I fish for pleasure not tucker, but I wouldn’t want to take away anyone’s right to go and catch a feed.
Sorry to be so long winded, but I think this is a big issue and as my grandad used to say “big problems never have easy fixes.”
Silent I hope you found a quiet creek and many good fish on your trip – or did you make the bad weather call?
We have the Stocked Impoundment Scheme for the fresh so why not have a system in place for the salt ? Basically all fisheries should be user pays funded.
I feel a strong need to see GREEN ZONES used in a different manner than the present way. If you divided the GSS for example into six divisions and closed each division for 2 years on a 6 year rotation. I come from a farming background and we manage paddocks this way to ensure that each paddock gets a break and we can increase productivity in the long run.
For the two year period it means each division would get regeneration and re-invigorated.
Dont stop anyone catching a feed BUT make certain that they have payed for the priveledge and also give the fish stocks a chance to flourish.
Bag and size limits need to be altered to protect fish stocks.
James
I have no in principle concern with fishing licences, reports from NSW indicate a high level of (grumbling) take up.
The crop rotation model could work, especially with TCB / SS. Limited No of access points (boat ramps) mean you could publicise it effectively, and details schmetails could be worked out (EG transiting with product on board?).
The pros already pay a resource fee (licencing) I think this could be manipulated to make some forms of fishing more / less viable. EG If your primary issue is by-catch, then up trawl fees & down tunnel netters.
Interesting thread, I like.
Nowhere Bob,
I agree with the peace bit.
Unfortunately with the GSS, nothing is going to change after the EPA have now been through & made their changes. Recreational fishers had restrictions put on them & the pro's had none put on them. The Fishing Party were virtually non-existant in this debate & Sunfish put up their arguments, but all that happened was that on the introduced mapping, virtually from River Heads south, all was coloured as yellow which is a no take zone for professional, BUT then there is red lines across this yellow area which allows professional take. Try & work out the logic on that. There is also some green zones & go slow zones for migrating birds etc. & part of some creeks & inlets.
All this was derived by some kids fresh out of university who did a study trip for a couple of days/weeks & were then thrown to the wolves at the public forums. They even reckon dugong were found wayyyy up in the farther reaches of Kauri Creek (impossible) & also found some endangered types of jelly fish & some kind of water rat at the lower end of the GSS past Searys Creek. They must be rare, as no-one had ever seen or heard of them. Basically they had no knowledge of the real world & proved this by the amount of unanswered questions they couldn't provide.
Anyways, the recommendations were implemented & the rest is now history. It was a piss poor effort by any of the local members at the time in the way that they showed virtually no effort & even reluctance in stopping the whole thing happening. Basically, from what I can see, it was driven by the Greens & the fishing industry & the government in due course acted accordingly, as they do have a responsibility to encourage industry throughout the state, BUT I reckon the GSS will not sustain the continued pressure from professional activities, as the recreational guy is flat out catching a bloody whiting in the area. In my opinion, I reckon the take by recreational fishers is about 20% & the rest is professional.
The above reasons are why I say if you are in the Moreton Bay area, you must get massive public support to fight the changes you are in for. There was even (muted) talk of setting up fish farms in the GSS, but to date nothing has transpired, so watch out for that one also, as the feed may introduce disease that could wipe out the native stocks anyway.
NOW HAVE I GOT YOUR ATTENTION AS TO WHY PEOPLE ARE PISSED OFF UP HERE.
WTFH
Silent,
My wife and I were there last week, unfortunately well timed with a windy week (should have been there the previous week). So windy we did one trip to Inskip area before giving it away)
The ramp at Norman Point (the one next to the Coast Guard) has taps for washing down so just bring a hose and tap fittings to wash your boat and flush the motor.
But reports are that there is tuna and mackeral in the bay and a few reef fish around Bluff reef. Go and see the bloke at the tackle shop on the main road in (Kidd Straight I think), near the IGA store. He seems to know the area.
Good luck anyway
Robersl, with a few things going my way I might get up there Saturday arvo. Dont forget the aeroguard, youll need it in the van park. Theres a lot of water out there but sometimes the best fishing is in the deep holes at creek mouth (last red marker) and deeper holes up L gutter. See the shop for details on sticks marking the chanel. Hope the weathers fine and you enjoy the area.