Thread: Boating thefts

Boating thefts

Well it has just been over 12 months since some spineless thieves broke into my shed and stole $14 k worth of my fishing equipment....of course i had it all insured ...and the insurance companies finally came to the party....

I was just wondering how many others out there have had this happen to them...my stuff was never found...

Cheers Mick

Re: Boating thefts

me for one, had very bit of good gear stolen, the thieves actually removed the window from the garage, had a fight with insurance but got it in the end, but had some irreplacable stuff stolen, and I would give anything to get it back, my stuff was also never found.

Problem with me is i have a fairly good idea who it was..police cant prove it and i would never accuse someone unless i was 100% sure.....nothing worse than being blamed for something when your are innocent...The dicks stole my sounder head unit along with the plotter head unit and left the aerial and transducer....smart crooks arnt they....

I have stuff photographed, but i have 5 rods that were custom built years ago ugly sticks with sic rings they cost me $350 each like 20 years ago...hard things to replace...everything is locked under the house but it they want to get in it wouldnt be that hard, our house is one of the few around here that hasnt been broken into...its something that i often think about

It enrages me to read of peoples' misfortunes due to the dishonesty of others out there. No wonder insurance premiums are so high. Just last Saturday we had some charmer jump our fence and come into our yard and just for the heck of it smash the driver's side window on my wife's Pajero. Nothing stolen so it makes me ask "What the hell was the motiff?" Police were called (goodness knows why) and then insurance was organized. Job done in 24 hours which is pretty good. Some years ago someone broke a looked gate and stole our dog too. Bloody lowlifes. Sorry you guys had fishing gear stolen.

some people are just so lame
    90% of the time you know the crim a friend or a friend of a friend
    this is somthing that happened to my mate shows how jealous some people are
    he saved up by quiting smoking his mates didnt
    he saved by buying a cartoon a week not drinking at the pub every night
    he finally saved up enough to by a 12' tinne with a 6 hp
    went out 3/4 times a week always took his mates if they wont to go never asked for a cent for fuel or bait
    came home from hospital one day found his boat smashed up with a axe
    found out 2 days later that it was his mates cause they wanted to use it and he wasnt home
    some people steal for gain some steal cause they think his got a job he can afford to replace it other just do it cause they are to lazy to have a go

any one that steals is waste of good oxygen thank the goverment that they pay the dole so others can go to work to get ahead
    (ps not saying all poeple whom recieve beinfits are criminals but unfortunatly there is a minority that think they are owed somthing for nothing)

What can you expect, the punishment NEVER fits the crime.

That's if they get caught and then if they even get punished.

There's always an excuse and let's face it, the way the law is at present, it's probably the victims fault.

Smart move JUJU....Until you have to have a claim then you are really left in the dark unless you study your policy and know how hard it is to prove that the items actually existed...If it wasnt for my brother in-law being so camera happy then alot of my gear would not have been replaced...I was pretty slack when it came to keeping reciepts ect...Now i keep everything...including photos..serial no ect...

I would say the worst thing would be trying to nut out what is missing...i have a shed full of gear and after my claim had been settled i found other small things missing...i think you can still claim them...but by that time it had all but given me the Shi$ts...

Cheers Mick

PS so other Ausfishers...keep records....photos ...or any proof you can that the items you own actually exist...you NEVER KNOW !!!!

Oneday Mick.
    One day the scum is gunna slip up and the proof will be there.
    Sounds like you had some unique stuff and in a place like Tassie it'll turn up somewhere, sometime. Some things are just too well known and too hard to cover-up.

When I was working I had a flash battery drill. Pretty unique and only one in town.
    I was wiring up some cinemas and one night the lot went bush. They really wanted it as the drill was in one place, the charger up the other end and the box in a locked box.
    It took 3 years but I found it.
    Long story fairly short...lots of details left out.
    The dopey scum got me to put power on his block.
    The dopey bugger didn't pay me
    The dopey bugger got p-ssed one night and I picked early the next morning to 'visit'
    The dopey bugger had it in his boot which was left open after he got a cartoon out.
    I didn't do a thing until I 'persuaded' him I need my money more then he does and I gave him 1/2 hr to go to the bank. He got the idea I wasn't happy as he went and got the money.
    In that 1/2 hr I went and visited the local friendly coppers.
    The dopey bugger tried to talk his way out until the coppers found my initials inside the drill where the battery goes.
    Dopey bugger got 3 months as he was already on probation and 12 months loss of license etc etc as he went and got my money still drunk. The coppers were watching him.
    Very entertaining morning and all over by 8am.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

hey I just remembered a real stupid bit of 'security" on behalf of a well known bank, a few years ago I parked my car to run into a shop, and I did not realise that my wallet was in the console, when I came out of the shop (5 minutes) the window was broken and the wallet gone, sh!t, I went straight to the Police station about 5 minutes away and reported it, the guy said, beter get your credit card cancelled, OK I said, he offered to let me use the Police station phone, I called the bank and finally got onto someone to help, told them all I could and a second later the person said, OH that card is being used right now at an ATM, but the pin number put in is incorrect, I said, I guess that is because it was just stolen, remember that's why I am talking to you, I explained that I was in the Police station now and could we have the ATM location, the reply was a very stern NO as that would beach the privacy laws, I told the police guy and he said give me the phone, he also got the same response from them, now I know that there is privacy laws and they are there to protect your personal life, but I think this was a bit over the top, my wallet was found empty of all cash and cards, but still had my drivers licence, a bit later at a nearby club (with an ATM) and about 500 yards from the Police Station and the scene of the car break in!

Just makes you wonder Noel where we are going in society doesnt it...Bloody red tape...bring back the good old days i reckon....

I hate insurance companies but i can understand why our premiums are so high...because of low lifes roaming around with nothing better to do than steal from people who have worked hard for what they have got...so all you low lifes out there....get of your ARSE and get a job ....