new long boat

Thread: new long boat

new long boat

I am looking at replacing my 5mtr plate boat and going to a glass long boat about 5.2 - 6mtr.
    I have been looking on the web at:

Southernstar
    Goodwin
    Wild Lizard
    Stinger
    Hooker

What I am after is the good and bad points of these boats before I fly all the way to Brisbane from Darwin to take one for a test drive there are not to many of them up this way as everyone seems to go for alloy.

I am currently waiting on prices from a few of the dealers but if you know what they are worth please let me know.

Ausfish Gold Member

Re: new long boat

mate theres a second hand one for sale at barries marine in home hill just south of townsville looks like new bit closer for u

Quote Originally Posted by ozbee View Post
    mate theres a second hand one for sale at barries marine in home hill just south of townsville looks like new bit closer for u

ozbee...any chance of finding out what it is and a few details for me ???? as you say much closer to me than brisbane

Well I just did the deal on a Goodwin 5950 long boat

70HP suzuki on it and all the fruit...

Just have to wait for 2 weeks until I can get it to Darwin.

I hope it is as impressive on the water as I have heard.

2rods

well if thats what you've just scored then you'd be pretty happy with that. Good sport fishing boat thats for sure. Cheap to run as well. I myself would go the 6.8m jobbie, to handle the ruff stuff.

andrew

you should be happy I had a 5mtr goodwin a few years back and it was a great boat

My preference would be for the wild lizzard and you can test run them here in brissie cuz the manufacturer is at springwood i think.
    They are my dream boat to have for the bay and around the reefs

Last edited by tunaticer; 03-06-2007 at 03:31 PM.

Looks like an absoulte cracker. Pleanty of fish in her i bet. Don't suppose you'd divulge the cost of fitting the Suzi or was it already on the boat? PM me if you'd like.

Cheers Chris
    Last edited by Lovey80; 03-06-2007 at 04:52 PM.

Ausfish Platinum Member peterbo3's Avatar

2Rods,
    When I was living at Campwin Beach just south of Mackay a longboat would often be seen heading out to the reef. Four guys, eskies & a heap of gear. We followed them past Prudoe Is one day in snotty seas & they kept going after we called it quits. The longboat (brand ? ? ?) handled the slop well although it was a wet ride. They seem to be very seaworthy.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

Quote Originally Posted by tunaticer View Post
    My preference would be for the wild lizzard and you can test run them here in brissie cuz the manufacturer is at springwood i think.
    They are my dream boat to have for the bay and around the reefs

The wild lizards have a foam filled hull,they have to as the hull skin is so thin.I saw one for sale at a auction house and some-one belted the side a bit to hard and it cracked open(the boat was brand new).

I have owned a Goodwin 5950 with 70 zuke. Brilliant boat!!! I've had it out in Halifax Bay near Townsville in sea so big that you couldn't see land when you went into a trough, and the boat handled it with ease. No I shouldn't have been there, the forecast was 25 - 30 knots, but the gods must have been looking after this dummy that day. Made it home safely and even fairly dry. The boat could be driven into the sea with confidence and come through with flying colours.

It was also very economical to run. There are not too many 6 metre boats that you can run on a 70hp, but it's enough for the Goodwin. It also has a fairly shallow draft so you can run up in really shallow water.

The build quality was good, as was the finish. I had it fitted out like the one in the picture, with centre console and t-top. All the metal work was polished stainless. The console had built-in tackle lockers, and an overhead box with a VHF and a CD player/radio. Had a Furuno FCV 610 sounder and a Garmin colour GPS 182C. Hydraulic steering is standard. Live bait tank and plumbing. High pressure deck wash. Casting deck, storage lockers under casting deck, two more built into the back of the casting deck plus underfloor storage. Massive anchor well. Baitboard you could stand on. 150 litre underfloor fuel. Etc etc etc.

Gavin Goodwin was a great bloke to deal with. He would talk to you about anything, and was willing to help get the boat exactly right.

I would still have it, but for personal circumstances. After sales service was brilliant, and nothing was too much trouble. He even helped me to sell it and get a decent price. At the first opportunity I'll be buying another Goodwin.

And don't fly to Darwin to test one, they are made in Ingham. If you want to test drive one, give him a call. He will go out of his way to help you.

If you PM me I'll give you my phone number etc.

Cheers mate

Beachboy... Thanks for that... makes the mind rest easy..... The boat should be here Friday next week on the barge from gove..

Looking forward to many long years of blue water fishing in her thats for sure.

2rods

Quote Originally Posted by Lovey80 View Post
    Looks like an absoulte cracker. Pleanty of fish in her i bet. Don't suppose you'd divulge the cost of fitting the Suzi or was it already on the boat? PM me if you'd like.

Cheers Chris

Chris, the boat came set up as it is 3 years old... it's got a furuno FCV 600L colour sounder and a Raymarine 435 colour plotter and all of the stuff Gavin Goowin likes to put on (deckwash, 200ltr esky built in ECT)

New they are around $45,000 as mine is set up..... I picked it up for $28,500

Motor has 300hrs on it and the whole rig is in top nic

2RODS