Gulps & Powerbaits : A Con-job or are they for real ?
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Gulps & Powerbaits : A Con-job or are they for real ?

Thumbs down Gulps & Powerbaits : A Con-job or are they for real ?

Four weeks ago, I decided to give SP's a try, after reading the many comments in the Gulps vs Squidgies thread. Seems the general consensus that Gulps should (theoretically) attract more fish.

So out I went, bought a couple of DVD's (BCF's Snapper/Bream/Flathead disc has some footage shot here on the broadwater with this guy hooking up flathead using gulps and powerbaits), and Berkley have an excellent DVD on their SP's with this guy gettin stuck into Bream, Flathead and Jew in various saltwater clips.

Off to BCF I went and "invested" some of my hard-earned cash in all the right gear that I'm supposed to use on my rod. Fireline, vanish leader and an assortment of Jigheads from Wilson, Nitro and Gamagatsu, plus a pile of gulps and powerbaits in all shapes and sizes, from white shaky shads in 3", mullet, grubs and such, white, pink, brown (pumpkin seed), all-in-all $150 worth of goodies.

Despite doing everything instructed in the DVD's I have yet to hook and land a single fish on these little plastic wonders.

Starting a month ago, the first two weeks were 100% fishless for the first time in my life (I'm 42 and have been fishing since I was a teenager). Not even an undersize Bream or whiting on a 2" shrimp on a little jighead with a size 4 hook.

2 weeks ago I started to go and pump yabbies again and take 2 rods out with me, either a 7ftr for the estuaries, or a 9ftr for the tally river breakwall, and my usual 12ft'er with sinker and size 4 hook for a cast with a yabby.

When the water's relatively clear you can see the fish move around down there, and casting any of the gulps in there doesn't seem to do much except for the Bream and Dart chewing the friggin tails off, casting into the beach side.

Yesterday, an entire pack of gulps demolished within the hour casting into the surf, Bream and Dart absolutely love them tails. It would eventually be completely gone. Whether it's these, or a white shaky shad on a bigger hook/sinker jighead, makes no difference, they just love chewing off those friggin tails instead of hitting in from the side and getting hooked up.

There's some decent sized fish in there, as I found out when I grabbed the other rod, put a yabby on the hook, and cast it into the same area, hooking up into the odd good-sized dart and plenty of toss-me-back undersized bream.

No such luck with them gulps. All the fish do is chew into the tails, eventually rendering them useless and destined to be replaced. Suppose that's how the company makes its money.

Away from the surf in the estuaries, the plastics are even more useless because toadfish absolutely LOVE THEM !!!

An early morning session off budds beach last week saw 1 pack of 2" shrimps in gulp nuclear chicken gone, 2-3 casts, chop chop and the rear end chewed, and half a pack of these little fellas (picture above) gone. 2-3 casts into the early morning darkness sees the tails chopped up and eventually gone.

Toadfish.

Tallebudgera River up near Yabby island reveals that little whiting also chase after them chomping into the rear ends of the plastics. As the plastic becomes visible in the shallows on the retrieve, I can see whiting, toadfish and some other fish with a zebra patten nibble into the plastic's rear end. Bigger fish seem to ignore them, and they're in there because when I cast off the footbridge I can see bigger fish swimming around the gulp with the littlies mucking around with it and chomping on the tail. Repeat same exercise with a yabby, yep the little fish usually beat the bigger fish to it, stealing the bait, but the bigger fish try a little bit harder though.

Cast after cast next to one of the bridge pylons produced nothing on the M1 overpass, nor down below the Gold Coast Hwy bridge at Currumbin Creek. Repeat same exercise with Yabbies, and nibbles galore, lots of lost yabbies, but landing the occasional fish here and there. Lots of undersized bream around, but it proves without any reasonably doubt that Gulps are over-hyped and DO NOT outfish all other bait, that statement on the packet is misleading and should be against the law.

"Fish Eat it" might be more true, but should make a reference to the tail or rear end of the plastic, as my personal experiences see a relatively small number of chomps into the actual body of the gulp, compared to tail hits.

Toss a yabby on a #4 hook in there and it won't take me long to hook up something, usually a small whiting, toadie or a lucky flathead (took yabbies to Budds Beach last week and used the 7ft rod with the plastics, and the 9ft with the size 4 hook for the yabbies.

Spent a total of 2 hours casting gulps and scoring nothing but wasting a pack and a half of the rip-off mongrels, and about half an hours' worth of casting into the same areas landed me a 32cm flathead (dinner), 3 undersized bream, a whiting and one of those friggin toadfish that seem to be everywhere, that went back to live another day.

What gives?

Doing everything the guys are doing on those 2 DVD's in terms of how to put'em on the jig, slow retrieves with little jerks and all that, but no fish?
    Last edited by rogersto; 07-05-2007 at 06:20 AM.

Re: Gulps & Powerbaits : A Con-job or are they for real ?

Mate i know where you are coming from, when i started out using plastics over five years ago i had similar experiences. All i can say is keep trying and experiment try a slighghtly faster retrieve or slower one. Sometimes if the water is very clear they can be difficult to catch on sp's. Try an area with a bit more tidal run therefore the fish are more likely to hit your plastic before it is washed away. I now never take bait with me, just sp's and i do allright. If tou do decide that sp's are a con let me know i will take all those rip off plastics off your hands
    Good luck let us know how you go.
    Marty.

Been doing lots of experimenting, doing different things, but keep on getting the same results. No fish on SP's, only chomped off tails. Haven't landed a single thing on them.

tried slow retrieves, fast retrieces, fished in clear water, not-so-clear water, and the murky depths of the Tallebudgera River and upper reaches of the Nerang River (landbased near Carrara, where flatties are supposed to be found).

Fished at the bottom of the tide, from before to after the top of the tide, off the seaway, off the tally river breakwall, slow moving water, fast moving water.

Zilch, zip, nothing. Repeat exercise with the other rod, loaded with a live yabbie, and it gets hit pretty quickly.

Crikeys, yesterday morning the guys with the pillies were hooking up more fish than me and my rip-off gulps, but the moment I switch across to yabbies, I get nibbles, and hook up dart, small bream, and the occasional keeper.

I'm not one to give up easily - but I have never seen such a futile exercise.

My first 2 weeks using the placcies I thought the fish weren't biting, and since the only company I had down there were a couple of guys chasing tailor on whole pillies, and weren't scoring all that well, I thought there wasn't much doing.

But the moment I brought live yabbies and a second rod into the picture, a completely new scenario begun to unfold. The fish are in there, little fellas and a few pan sized ones also. It's simply a case of I present them with some kind of bait, and they either go for it or don't.

One thing's for sure, yabbies and pilchards attract a hell lot more fish to them than gulps do any day.

One thing I agree on, a gulp is infinitly more durable at the end of the line than a yabbie any day. Or a pilchard or mullet for that matter...

But I beg to differ when it comes to attracting fish. Tails chewed off time and time again and the expense of the buggers is a real downside, but I'm keen-as to catch fish on the buggers rather than continually lucking out.

Yabbies are great, but I got to go drive over there, pump them, usually keep them alive overnight for the next morning's fishing.

The whole reason I got into the plastics is the concept of having an assortment in the fridge, and being able to just grab'em in their beaut little blue carry bag, which also contains a small tackle case of jigs and stuff, slip on down to the garage and grab the rod, bucket and knife and head to my favourite spot, travelling light. No tackle box, just placcies, rod, bucket and a knife....

Ausfish Gold Member

I find Sqidgys last alot longer than gulps. Sure they arent 'edible', and have scent like the gulps, but if they dont have the scent, they arent gonna attract the likes of toadfish as they are mostly scavengers, where as a bream will have a go and attack the placcy, usually on the initial drop and more than likely before it even smells a scent. But if fishing was slow, the scent would definately help, maybe, depends what your targeting I suppose

Mate there like being addicted to Coccaine and hurt your pocket just as much, and after sometime you need a monthly trip to a Physco to help stem the addiction.
    but then i'm not one thats addicted hehehehe

Just came back form BCF, bought a packet of chickens to try when i go out this week, last time i fished the plastics while the old man used bait...i caught a few fish but nothing to get excited about....and he didnt do much different except for one train that hit and went straight back under the boat bast the leg of the outboard.....i had the same thing with the tails getting knocked off.....ill give it a few more trys...one good fish would convert me i guess.....i dont know but ..i like sitting there holding the rod feeling the bite...waiting.....not too much into the anount of casting and working of the plastics......if i were catching fish id guess it would be different but when you cast bring in...cast bring in...cast bring in... it gets a bit old....

Mate, I know where your coming from. I have also just starting out using plastics, yesterday i gave them another try out at Mud Island, couple of little nibbles & once the tails had gone the fish didnt seem interested. I suppose it's just a case of perserverence till you figure out the best method to suit your style of fishing. I know i have the right gear, it's probably the action i havn't got right yet, also there wasn't much run out their yesterday. Might be a good idea to get a few of us "Plastic Newby's" together with someone who is well versed in the art to give us a few more idea's. I know for one i am more than willing to learn if it produces the goods. I would be willing to offer my place if other people would be keen to sit down & have a chat.

Andrew.
    Are 30 fishing rods too many????

I was wondering if there is a use for the ones with the tails bitten off?....

Con Job...I did a bit of a test this morning at the marina...tossed some bread in the water and the bream went ballistic over it...I then tossed a plastic in amongst it all...not one fish showed any interest in the plastic...not even the ducks wanted it.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    Con Job...I did a bit of a test this morning at the marina...tossed some bread in the water and the bream went ballistic over it...I then tossed a plastic in amongst it all...not one fish showed any interest in the plastic...not even the ducks wanted it.
    Bloody hell Greg! You've come up with a winner! Quick! Let's find a way to manufacture a placcy that looks like a slice of bread, before Gulp come up with the idea.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

first thing you have to do kev is to come up with some ridiculous name...like the nuked chook or whatever they call it....how about a 3" Crusty?..or a 2" Toastie?

or just a plain simple old 2" crumb.

we all started something like yourself i,m sure but the more you try different things like reducing the size of your leader (ie; thinner in clear water) , changing size and or brand of jig head to suit each plastic (ie; heavier jig for paddel tails or fast current, lighter for jerk baits or split tails and still water) and try attaching the jig with a perfection loop as it gives extra action and freedom to the plastic (its in most knot books) and probably the best thing you can do is cast into your pool (or ya mates) and try different retieves for each plakky as this is how you will understand the best action achievable for each one .
    best of luck.. cheers swano

believe it or not, that's one thing I actually did, swano. got some funny looks from the missus and the kids trying different retrieves and watching how it moves around.

Learnt the perfection loop trick from one of the DVD's and indeed it gives it more freedom of movement.

juju, I first thought run them through some kind of mincer and use them for burley. But then again, they don't attract fish like bread and pieces of fish.

HH17L, I'd be keen-as to be part of that. Wouldn't need to be done at anybody's place but out in the field on some rockwall or somethere where there's some fish.

I mean if I can see somebody real (not on a DVD) actually catching something on these things, preferably keepers not undersized throw-me-backs then there's something there.

I'm hooked on the concept of being able to go out there travelling light, bag of gulps, rod and a bucket, no tackle box, just grab'n'go, but I want to be able to catch fish....

re: Squidgies (ashh) what if you put that spray-on scent on them, the stuff they sell at BCF? Would that make a difference? The best of both worlds, a durable SP - spray on the scent on the body of the plastic not the tail. Reckon the toadies won't nip at the tail, then again, it's not just toadies that have a love affair with gulp and powerbait tails, bream and whiting also chomp into them from the assend...

I know it's frustrating mate, I went through the exact same phase, where I didn't trust them for so long, but it will only take that one fish and you'll be hooked. I'll make one suggestion if I may, if there's a lot of toadfish round, sometimes it's just not worth the effort. They are mean devils and the plastic fisherman's worst nightmare, so best to try another spot if they're thick. Another suggestion for me would be keep targetting the flathead with plastics, there's a reason most plastics fisherman catch flathead first and by targetting them from the start you're more likely to get some success which will keep your faith in them. Good luck mate, I'm sure you'll get that on fish soon, just persevere.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Ausfish Gold Member

mate you could very well dip them in whatever scent you like or feel works best.
    When I fish for bass with my brother in the dams, we have a bottle of the good ol garlic scent and just dip the placcys tail in it.