Any other comments from others on restored cruisers? The why's and why nots? Those for and those against?
Rod, the Ocean Pro/Runner series of donks are all 25 inch (hence the ocean name).
Pod close to the bottom is excellent. Pod following shape of the bottom is perfect. Raised pods are a canti-lever problem.
Re the Pride/Caribbean Palomino (this one was plated a Caribbean but yes, they were made by both companies which were owned eventually by International anyway) I always check dealer pricing around the country on various boats as a way of gauging values in various states. Those dollars would have been achieved in QLD going by what I see from QLD dealers. However, they may be taking a small or large or no knock at all on their advertised prices. I don't know.
Thats why I am heading up there when I get this 34 Mustang finished to spend a couple of days on a fact finding mission and understanding how things tick in QLD and particularly in the Sunshine Coast area.
Iwant to knwo who is good for outboards, who is good for jetskis and who is good for stern drives. And then, who is good for all 3 of these.........
Any other comments from others on restored cruisers? The why's and why nots? Those for and those against?
are these the type of boats you are looking at ?
Nick,
I read with interest your ideas.
I too have bought and sold many boats in my short life, and no doubt will have many more to come.
The only question I have at this point is your intended market.
In Qld (I'm on the Gold Coast), I don't think we have quite the same market you guys do down there. There is quite a bit of money in SE Qld, and most buyers are like the previous poster, who mentioned he'd rather buy a later (1995) production model boat for the same money as a just refurbished 1980's classic.
IMHO, it is the same with the later model Bayliners or Searays (everywhere), they would rather buy one of these for 60K than a refurbed savage or other. How much will the aforementioned Savage cost you? By the time you've fitted all the mentioned options (showers, pumps, holding tanks ect ect), and including your labour, I feel that style of boat will cost too much and price it out of being worthwhile.
Just my opinion, feel free to PM if you like, and i'd be interested to meet up when you visit the area for a chat.
This area is very touchy, and you really need to know what will work. As I said, there is heaps of money here and the marine market is a very good one, with the right idea.
I purchased a 21 foot Seafarer Cabin Cruiser (half cab) a few years back. Excellent 115 94 Yammy and very structurally sound - late 70s. 21 degrees from stem to stern. I hooked into her my Hitachi polisher and cut her back and polished - great look. I then added trim tabs, a host of electronics and radios, anchor windlas and stainless bowsprit, bilge pumps, auto float and switch to suit, dual batteries and holders, extra rod holders, cleaned out alloy fuel tanks and re-plumbed them, ran all new HD wiring, worked over the steering to make it quite good for push/pull, new gel coat underneath where it was a bit thin in parts, carpeted, new ring pulls for the panels over the fuel tanks and the list goes on!
I got the boat at an excellent price with the trailer (very good multie roller made in 98)
. She is a great, reliable sea boat with huge bunks and plenty of storage. She has all the modern mod cons for a boat of its size and then some. I would not see much change from $90k or so for a new Seafarer with all the gear on a good trailer at a guess.
BUT....I have done all the work. I am not sure what the re-sale would be, but I have saved on the labour big time and have loved doing it. I know that each soldered joint is properly twisted and soldered. I know that each terminal on the new bus boards are tight. I know that each piece of wiring is of a higher amp rating that it need to be. I would immagine that if I where in business doing the same job and had overheads that I would not want a suasage less than $40k to make a modest profit from it - that said my boat would never sell for $40k even though I know she is rock solid - it does look it when you closely inspect the detail also.
Then there is the quesion of the motor....will it be reconditioned for the rigs you do and if so a proper job not just rings and a hone. For a good re-co you are talking big money. At the end I suspect that the price you would need to ask will put people off - you would really have to offer a geniune warranty to get people sniffing I reckon that some people woiuld be wary that the warranty is not backed by a large company.
There is also a question of technology in the hull shape. For example I had a 70s V16C and as good as it was a new variable deadrise hull is likely to be better. Many people wont want to go 'back' as they might perceive it and those who do, like me are prepared to buy cheap and then do it as they like it, and in their own time and budget. I would not buy my boat from a repairer with all the gear for the sort of dollars that you would need to sell it for, and to be frank I dont think many would, but this is just my 2 cents worth.
It's the same as someone buying a '61 EK Holden.
Some people would spend mega bucks on one and others would just go and buy a new Commodore
Find the right people and the ideas a goer.
Personally I'll have the two boats pictured above before a new boat.
But I've been told I'm just an old fashioned old fart. That might explain the HZ in the shed.
There may well be a market in SEQLD for classic boats. Trick is finding the right people.
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good
What are you doing on a chatsite today after yesterday?
We are a little worried about you!!
PS Hope that C is resting up and thats your excuse!
What could go wrong.......................
you might well be right Finga, but its a big call...hope you do well mate if you open up
Hey Pete,
Hope you enjoyed the night. Sorry I couldn't catch up much, it was extremely hectic!
Had some car dramas yesterday before the big day.
In turn had to postpone the trip a day to take the XR back to Ford again tomorrow.
Turn up at 730, make some noise, leave by around 10 hopefully (if they have the part I need!)
I didn't fancy towing the boat six hours without brakes!
Thanks for the replies guys.
I see you have got a few threads going with differennt ideas in the hopper for a future business.The one i like is the seatow and the mobile mechanic one.I think these would be a good idea.I could use the services of a good mobile mechanic if you decide to take that path.BM if you dont mind me asking how long have you been a qualified marine mechanic.
I dont hold a trade ticket Paul but I have been around boats from a young age and servicing, rebuilding and repairing them for 4 yrs now.
A good mate of mine who was the National Service Manager for Mercury (and he wasn't technically qualified either) was the one who encouraged me to get into the servicing and repairs.
I went through this "qualified" procedure on the fishnet forums about 3 yrs ago. People there have had over 3yrs of advice now and as such i have done much servicing and repair/rebuild work for fishnet members.
So yes whilst I don't possess a trade ticket (I may look at the RPL concept at some stage but I really don't care, it would only be to answer yes to a question such as yours) to me I consider my qualification lies int he happy customer base I have and the low instance of issues arising from my work.
Obvioulsy people are free to choose their repairer so those that choose me fine, those that don't fine also.
As an example, a customer of mine with a 34ft Mustang which I have been looking after for about the last 18 months has destroyed his engines essentially through lack of use and very stale fuel (used twice in 15 months). I am now repowering with 2 brand new 330hp 5.7 MerCruisers, fresh water cooled. The Bravo 1 legs need to be stripped to redo the seals and the gimbal bearing on the startboard transom plate needs replacing. Without doubt, more little things will crop up along the way. His is just under $20K for the whole job. He has 12 months warrnaty on my work and on the new engines.
Last edited by BM; 08-05-2007 at 09:26 AM.