Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Touchy Wood M & G. 2/3rd June

Touchy Wood M & G. 2/3rd June

Fred ‘Touchy’ Wood, Memorial M & G 2007

The inaugural Fred “ Touchy “ Wood, Memorial Bream M & G will be held on the weekend of the 2nd and 3rd June 2007 at Jacobs Well.

Ausfish members and their families and friends are invited to participate in this event.

Fred loved this area known as ’ The Pin ’ and his Bream fishing.
    The ’ members fishoff ’ will be divided into divisions :-

Seniors....SP’s
    Seniors....Bait
    Juniors.....SP’s
    Juniors.....Bait

A prize pool will be divided between participants according to the judges. NO ENTRY FEE WILL APPLY. But, a gold coin donation will be greatfully accepted and can be passed onto the VMR.

All species will be eligible for a prize, but the focus is on Bream. All Bream category winners will be determined by “ Secret Weight “. That is, a weight will be determined prior to the commencement of the event and should any member weigh - in a fish of the secret weight, that will be declared the winner. Should two Bream weigh the same, the first weighed in will take priority. Only the Judges will know the weight and this will not be revealed until all fish are weighed in. Other rules do apply.

Weigh-in times are as follows:-

4pm - 6pm Saturday 2nd June and 11am - 12 midday Sunday 3rd June. The judges will supply electronic scales and the judges decision will be final. One or more judges must be present at the time of weigh-in to verify the weight, species and member. The weigh-in station be be situated beside the VMR in the park. This will allow boaties to beach their craft and walk to the Station to weigh their catch. The Ausfish Banner will be displayed so you can't miss us. Live fish can be weighed in, please provide a suitable container for this.

There is camping and accommodation facilities available from the following link.

http://www.gctp.com.au/jacobswell/default.htm

I suggest you get in early if a Cabin is required. Mention that you are part of the Ausfish Memorial M & G. All bookings can be done online.

There is a hotel very close by as well a park. The boat ramp and VMR are within earshot.

Tides:-
    Friday Saturday Sunday
    0418.....0.60 0457.....0.61 0537.....0.62
    0945.....1.73 1026.....1.71 1109.....1.69
    1542.....0.39 1617.....0.40 1635.....0.43
    2229.....2.38 2306.....2.38

Full Moon is on the Friday night.

There is a growing prize list for this event:-

2 x Alvey reels

Custom Built Bream Rod

Tackle Vouchers

Lures

Stickers

Mobile Car Detail

and much more.

There is also a great offer of a Fully Installed Home Security System. This is valued at $1,250 and will be auctioned. The proceeds of said auction will go to the local VMR. This system is transferable, so should you know someone that would like it, be there to bid on it.

On Sunday at midday, the presentation will take place , immediately followed by a FREE BBQ for all.

Should you have any issues on the day, call my mobile , that is in my public profile.

Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 20-05-2007 at 08:48 PM.

Re: Touchy Wood M & G. 2/3rd June

Members that have put up their hand are:_

Poodroo, webby, searaider 2, NeilD, Jonno, Big_D, Ausfish, Marlin_Mike, T1, 01wombat, longtail, stevedemon, JEWYJUBE, PinHead, Lucky_Phill, nickone, SCOTTYGC, troutlover, finga, Horse, smiley_doobinator, rubba, Cloud_9, thesav, Big_Puff_Daddy, mariner_22, gruntahunta, thedeckie........Aigusto & Bec, CHRIS aka GWH, craigie, MICHAELG,

Sounds like a reasonable crew and a few have added their kids and / or family.

This will be a great day / weekend, whatever you want to make of it, so this is a good opportunity to not only put names to faces of your fellow Ausfish family members, but get the kids out for a fish and a chance to put some nice prizes in the warchest. Touchy was a great family man and he would be thrilled to see a tribe of youngsters running amuck down the Pin.

More members are welcome and it'd be good to put ya hands up so we know numbers to cater for , for the BBQ.

Cheers phill
    Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 20-05-2007 at 08:49 PM.

Well with my tinnie now finished and legal I will be there for sure. I will be using my house as base though seeing as I only live 10-15mins drive from there. Can retreat back to the comfort of home and be back on the water on day two. Aigutso will be filling my deckie spot I believe. Will we be meeting at VMR Jacob's Well? What time are we meeting?

Andrew, no set time to meet, but needless to say our crew ( Big_D, PinHead, Alan Wood and myself who are sharing a cabin ) will be there from Friday arvo. We will be up and about early saturday morning though. TMD will be anchored somewhere close by.......

Forgot to update this:- if you all can... place a piece of red tape, bunting etc in a prominent place on your boat ( antenna if you have one ), just so that other Ausfishers can identify you as well as the Judges/ Security/ VMR / Us... while on the water and at the ramps.

There is a chill in the air nowdays, and you know what that means !!!!!!!!!

G'day Phill , All set here mate kids are excited and i have plenty of bream bait in the freezer

Think we might be in the cabin next to you , will be there fri arvo . going to head out and set the pots not long after we arrive

looking forward to catching up with some people i have not seen for a couple of years , kids are counting down the days

Jason & Family.
    ... i only work to support my fishing addiction.....

UPDATE
    It has been brought to my attention that maybe a ‘ menu ‘ for the Free BBQ on Sunday should be exposed. Well, it’ll be simple.

1…… Snags on Bread with options of Cheese and Onions, served on a servette.

2……Hamburger pattie on a bun, with options of Cheese, Onions, Tomato, Lettuce. sauces are included. served on a servette.

Now, should you have any special requirements as per dietary restrictions, please feel free to BYO and our newly appointed Chef ( ) for the day will cook it for you.

Further, should you want to sample some of the Bream / Fish you’ve caught, there will be batter and bread crumbs available to cook them in the Wok, or on the BBQ plate should you want.

Any other suggestions, please feel free to me pm.

count me in and i'll get the wolf in tow (nothing quite like wok fried catties mmmmm)

Phil, just checking on Cragie's plans but I expect we would come down Sat for a bit of a fish and then spend Sat night to m&g - if you know what i mean. Probably sleep in the back of the truck or the boat - whatever.
    Do you need my TV again to watch a test or anything?
    Sav

Phil,

Yes, I'll be there mate, pls add me to the list above !!

Going down Friday, fishing through till Saturday Arvo/evening then joining up with you and the crew through till the Sunday B-B-Q.
    All going well I should have a few fillets to share around.

Sav and I will book into the camp ground for Saturday night.

Thanks and regards,

Craigie.

Phil

I'll be theremight even have kids in tow- look forward to it

Michael

Ausfish Platinum Member gruntahunta's Avatar

Hi phil.....just a question about Sat nite entertainment and eating and drinky arrangments....should we bring our own cooking thingos for Sat nite s dinner and breaky Sunday morn?

Yep, you'll have to look after yourselves on Fri night, Sat etc. We'll have the big bbq out on sunday, but if you stay at the camp grounds they have bbq facilities there.

Look forward to catching up again Craigie. Don't go parking any housebaots on sandbars now !!!

Yep, Sav, good to see you again, and NO , we'll have our own tele, !!

Not long now people.

Its been a LONG time now since i've been to one of these things... but hey why not. I'll come down...

Wouldn't be a deckie spot on a boat free would there?

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    Andrew, no set time to meet, but needless to say our crew ( Big_D, PinHead, Alan Wood and myself who are sharing a cabin ) will be there from Friday arvo. We will be up and about early saturday morning though. TMD will be anchored somewhere close by.......

Forgot to update this:- if you all can... place a piece of red tape, bunting etc in a prominent place on your boat ( antenna if you have one ), just so that other Ausfishers can identify you as well as the Judges/ Security/ VMR / Us... while on the water and at the ramps.

There is a chill in the air nowdays, and you know what that means !!!!!!!!!

This is where an official Ausfish flag would come in handy. If they had them I would proudly mount one on top of the antenna. Phill will we all be launching from the ramp where VMR is located?

Geday Poodroo ,
    The VMR is located at the Jacobs Well Boat ramp / car park .
    The Caravan Park is directly behind the Car Park for the Boatramp .

See you there .
    Searaider 2
    Searaider 2