TOP SESSION & NEW PB for PHILET – Green 02/05
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: TOP SESSION & NEW PB for PHILET – Green 02/05

TOP SESSION & NEW PB for PHILET – Green 02/05

Hi All

After reading all the good reports coming from Green over the past week or 2, and with Wello being a real stretch for the past 4-6 weeks, Phillet and yours truly decided the conditions were too good for sleeping! 4am at Manly boat ramp and off to Green for a quick flick before work.

Territory BEEFAMAN was the 1st stop and not much action to blink at other than a couple of undersize Snaps. We slowly worked our way across the eastern ledge coming to rest at Territory AQUARIUS (or close to it anyway). Same again but at 5.30am, the flick switched, alarm sounded and bang! They’re awake!! What a ball! Phillet, who is a bait man at heart (just won’t admit that plastics are good sh%t!), always seems to do quite well on my little rig and didn’t disappoint! Zzzzzzzzz ‘he’s on!’ comes the call as a minor struggled ensued until it got to within 5m of the boat and then the fun started ZZZZZZZZZZ……ZZZZZZZZZ…..ZZZZZZZZZZZZZ – obviously didn’t like the boat!! After about 5mins or so of up and down and side to side, a new PB for the big man at 60cm hits the esky!! Woo hoo!

For the next hour, we must have bagged out on legal Snaps at least twice over! But with a 60cm in the esky, and being the ‘Snapper Huggers’ ( ) that we are, we decided that only fish over 40cm would be welcome! By the time we got to ‘head to work time’ at 6.45am, we were having such a great time that the ‘what great bosses and team players we are’ speech came out and a board meeting was held on the water extending our stay for another hour! I love these adhoc board meetings!!! And especially with such great outcomes…. For a 30min period at one stage, I was onto a fish a cast with the majority between 35 & 38cm.

Nonetheless, we kept working the same area and by 7.50am, Phillet had added another 2 at 48 & 50cm and I’d dipped in with 3 at 42, 44 & 46cm. We also lost 1 good fish each to ‘reefing bust offs’ and stupidly, I lost a TOP fish to knot failure! Now, some may say I’m being too harsh on myself but after this next line or 2, you’ll nod in agreeance… 2 casts earlier, I looked at the knot joining my braid and fluorocarbon and thought it looked odd ie appeared a bit twisted. I’m thinking that I need to change it before I lose a good one to a potential knot failure then thought ahhh, another cast or 2 and I’ll change it at the end of this next drift before we reset (out of a combination of excitement to get back in the water, complacency and laziness). Well wouldn’t you know it? 2 casts later and BANG!! ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ POP!!!! F#ckin useless Mo Fo!! See, stupid!! And a harsh lesson learnt (I hope)!

We also had some BIG hits and misses and it’s the best fun I’ve experienced at Green! For those interested, SP of choice was the TMSK Special – in fact ALL fish but 2 were caught on it with the 48 & 60cm specimens caught by Philet were on a (not at liberty to reveal unfortunately)… 3/0 1/8th TT Jighead with 12lb Fluro.

A few interesting pic’s below…. The 2nd pic is of one of the keepers I got that had 2 hooks in it’s mouth – one very old rusty 4/0 and a relatively newer 4/0. 3rd time (un)lucky for him as the TT is hard to shake!!

The 3rd pic is from the contents of another fish (as I always like to see what they’ve been munching on)… It’s certainly not one of our placcies so if it’s yours, feel free to PM me your address and I’ll post it to you….

Oh, and as Phillet is scared of someone recognising him, we can't show you his face on AF (again)...

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Re: TOP SESSION & NEW PB for PHILET – Green 02/05

Nice feed of fish there T1 watch out as the Phil-et is closing in on your P.B mate maybe a few less trips for him

Well done once again
    It's all part of the fishing experience

Nice catch T1.

Thats real keen to be out before you have to be at work.

Good on ya T.You did yourself proud AGAIN!!!!I'm determined to get out there now and do as well on bait.LOL.

The one ith the hooks must have been one of those unstopables...stoped !!...that place is really firing at the moment isent it.

Hey T1,

you and Phillet did right thing going to Green this morning.
    I didn't get any luck at Mud and first time no fish in esky after many trips
    eh...I should move to Green to try out new spot next time

PM sent

A very entertaining and action-packed report T.

It's good to know that fish still feed with old hooks in their mouths. I'd wondered about that.

Green has been fishing well. I've only been to the area in the last couple of months and it hasn't failed to produce. However, reports suggest the southern bay islands like Coochie and Macleay are also firing for squire.

What a great way to start the day!

Brad

Great effort there guys bet philet had fun with that 60cm job. Has anyone had any luck at st helena?
    Adrian

Good read T1.

Console yourself with the fact that you're not the only one that doesn't pay attention to knots...........neither of those hooks appears to have any line attached

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Good read mate geez you would think the 60cm one would have learnt his lesson obviously not.

cheers pete...

Good report yet again T. I must get back down to Green again, the only thing is the massive crowds on the weekends. Unfortunatley for me i start work at 5am, so no pre-work trips for me
    Marty.

Great report there T

That spare plastic looks like a gulp bait swimmer.

Looks as though I need to be paying moe attention to green for a little while

How was the weather overall?

Ausfish Platinum Member dogsbody's Avatar

Good to see there gettin bigger T. And your knot should of, could of, didn't. That'll learn ya.

Avast ye matey!

yeee haaaa love the placcies i cant say it enough. dont they turn it on when they see the boat!!! looks like part of my poggy pilly i lost last weekend. gets crazy when there on a fish a cast. did u laugh histericly like we did? hi 5s all roung i still havent tried green yet any tips?

Mate

Great catch there

Green seems to be hot to trot at the moment. I tried Scarb before work this morning for zilch. Had to try there as the other guy is a northsider and work is over that way. Couldn't help myself and dropped the boat in at Manly on the way home this afternoon. Result, one at 51 kept and two legals and heaps of unders released to fight another day. This was all just on dark. Two big hits and long runs both saw the hooks pull well into the fight. I should have been out there this morning instead of wasting a good tide on Scarb