Thread: New Boat

New Boat

I am about to jump into my first boat. I have looked at a couple that I like and would like some advice from anyone who may have some advice. I have looked at a Cruise Craft Explorer 500 and a Cox Craft Rumrunner 11 (5 metre). I have also seen a Campion. The Campion was on display at Sanctuary Cove and it looked really good. Apparently it is made in Canada. It has a Volvo penta inboard/outboard 200 hp. The boat was $55000 with trailer. Seemed pretty good deal as it had all the works I want to use it for pleasure boating and also fishing so I think I want a half cabin with a couple of berths.
    Also has anyone got any thoughts on the advantages/disadvantage of an inboard/outboard

Re: New Boat

Couple more to add to the mix
    5 metre Seafarer Venus, 4.9 Goolwacraft Sahara and if you go to 5.5m -
    http://www.pmmarine.com.au/evolution/
    http://southcoastmarine.com.au/?id=goolwacraft&sid=new
    http://www.raeline.com/models-cseries186.asp
    These Rae Lines are sold in Aus, nice Kiwi boat.
    The Evolutions are by accounts excellent value, designed for fishing.
    My preference would be either the Goolwacraft Sahara 5.3 or the Venus for a 5m.
    Have fun with your choice, the range is endless and worthy of maximum research!
    These are of course only mono hull options!
    Personally I'd go for an outboard, being the devil I know better.

g'day sheehan, it might affect me more than yourself but both my wife and I are just over 6 foot and when we looked at 5m half cabins there's no way we'd be able to comfortably overnight in one. we then decided that the cabin on a 5m boat simply took up too much space and decided on just a day boat. i guess i'm trying to say that ya should jump into em and make sure they're going to do what ya want. before you spend some hard earned any way.

ps. we looked at the rum runner and liked it a lot. the reef runner cuddy would have been more suitable for us though because it had heaps more deck area at the back.
    Last edited by PADDLES; 02-05-2007 at 09:25 AM.

Have a look at my boat (see link below)

It has 1.9m bunks and can still be towed byt he family 6cyl car

Retired Honda Master Tech

Thanks for the info. I went into the websites and liked the look of the Seafarer Venus 5 metre. Anyone ever owned one. My major concern is to have a boat that handles choppy conditions and doesnt roll around too much when anchored.
    I like the look of your boat Spaniard. I had a look at the Haines Hunter Bree and they look a good boat. I was a little concerned about how they handle in choppy conditions. Yours looks in very good condition. How many hours has the motor done?
    I am going away at the weekend but will contact later in the week and might arrange a peek.

I own a CC 500 Explorer and love it,very stable on the drift or at anchor,great boat to come home in if the weather turns to sh!t,it will thump a little more than your Hainses and other cigar type hulls if you decide to hamer it (there has to be some trade off for the stability) but your never going to sleep in it,they are built to go fishing.

Hi Sheehan

If you want solid with very good seakeeping ability, good at rest, a very good resale and excellent aftersales and spare parts service that fits on the trailer asit should and goes off and on easily then look seriously at the Seafarer. They build them with heaps of glass so they are heavy but that does help at sea.

Yes I'm prejudiced, I have one and have found all the above to be true and no I'm not in their employ and have yet to be paid to tell people about them, but hey, maybe the cheques still in the mail?

What could go wrong.......................

Also have a look at the Polycraft 5.3 and 5.99. Strong, stable, good ride, but you'd need to check the fitout to see if it will suit your needs. I am a bit of a one-eyed poly fan, but I've got to admit I'd have Spaniard King's boat in a second if I was in the market. Look seriously at it, it has lots of good stuff in it.

Hi Sheehan,

The engine has 327 hour on it and has been serviced every 50hrs but I can elaborate on that further if you get serious

Quote Originally Posted by Sheehan View Post
    Thanks for the info. I went into the websites and liked the look of the Seafarer Venus 5 metre. Anyone ever owned one. My major concern is to have a boat that handles choppy conditions and doesnt roll around too much when anchored.
    I like the look of your boat Spaniard. I had a look at the Haines Hunter Bree and they look a good boat. I was a little concerned about how they handle in choppy conditions. Yours looks in very good condition. How many hours has the motor done?
    I am going away at the weekend but will contact later in the week and might arrange a peek.

Still for sale garry?

Sheehan

Garry's boat has no trouble with the chop at all ! I spent one of my most memoriable days fishing every aboard the mighty "Megabite" just a little better than 10kg of nobby

Hi Ian,

usual stuff mate plenty of tyre kickers. She will go on boatpoint at the end of the month

Thanks for all the info. I have been doing a bit of research and I think you are on the ball Chimo. The Searfarers are much heavier than most boats which means more stability. I went and had a look at one and like the look of them.