Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: ...62cm JACK...

Re: ...62cm JACK...

I think thats the best esturary jack from ausfish for this season.....I cant remember seeing a bigger one this summer, except for reef ones.

Great catch for so late in the season, might inspire the rest of us to dust off the jack gear again.

Unweighted SPs, so you use a worm hook I guess? Or a standard hook? Just a slow poppper type action, swimming with the current? Might have to try that.....
    any excuse for a fish.

that is one big extraction,hes a real trophy,well done .

nice fish mate and yeah good to see fish like that released to live another day.

top effort mate

Bloody Awsum mate top job good on ya.. I admire your Jack work...

Dylan

Quote Originally Posted by the gecko View Post
    I think thats the best esturary jack from ausfish for this season.....I cant remember seeing a bigger one this summer, except for reef ones.

Great catch for so late in the season, might inspire the rest of us to dust off the jack gear again.

Unweighted SPs, so you use a worm hook I guess? Or a standard hook? Just a slow poppper type action, swimming with the current? Might have to try that.....
    any excuse for a fish.

Yes with a worm hook.

top fish mate! well done. 60's are very rare, congrats

Solid Jack mate.Well done.That really is a top effort.

Quote Originally Posted by Chalkandcheese View Post
    nice fish jackextractror, ripper on the lite gear.

i'd like to know what other people have heard/seen on biggest jacks coming from an estuary. ive heard of two this year that were bigger than this one, 67 and 73. I wonder whether these fish have come and gone from the reef, or never left the estuary?
    Its interesting to try and find out there movement paterns i guess some leave and go out of shore and never come back, but i have heard of one being caught on a reef and released then caught again at a mouth of a river at the time when they migrate at the end of the season mabye some come in to breed at rocky headlands and some breed on the reef.

Its interesting to try and find out there movement paterns
    Yes I agree. Its only my second season chasing em, so Im not too sure, but I guessed the equinox might be the signal to move out offshore.(Equal day/night which happens around march 20ish).

I hit a period around early march where they were biting like crazy, and I guessed they were schooling up at this location before heading out to the reefs. Sure enough, they went off the bite after march 20. Of course theres still a few around (obviously), and we know some stay right thru winter, but I reckon most of em are gooone.

I know jacks are on the suntag list, so I suppose we'll eventually get some info on their habits. Maybe more ausfishers would wanna become jack taggers?

nice jack! what type of reel is that on your rod. Is it the hrf daiwa saltist, if so how do you rate it mate.

Cam

Quote Originally Posted by cammo79 View Post
    nice jack! what type of reel is that on your rod. Is it the hrf daiwa saltist, if so how do you rate it mate.

Cam
    It is a hrf daiwa saltist there alright for a cheaper reel they do the job

well done great fish