my first longtail.....woohoo

Thread: my first longtail.....woohoo

my first longtail.....woohoo

finaly after all the chasing of birds we have done lately the hard work has paid off...

this morning was a spare of the moment thing......

"come on suze wake up...i want to go fishing again"i said as i pulled her toe.

15 minutes later we were down at manly heading out into what looked like unfavourable conditions.....pretty choppy,but not too bad.

we reached our destination and suze was straight onto a nice spotty.

there wasnt too many birds about but plent of small patches of bait getting chopped at.....
    we pulled up along side a school and tossed in our unweighted pillies.......bang......i was on.....after the first minute of my drag screaming i knew this was no ordinary spotty!

a good 20 minute battle and i had my first longtail boatside....
    man these fish are tough and dont give in too quickly!!
    it passed us about three times and each time emptying my spool.

we got wags over the radio and met up for a chat and the use of his esky.......

by the way wags thats a beautiful clean boat you have....sorry about the blood!

the fish measured just over the 1 meter mark and weighed around 15kg

my best fish yet.........and arnt i happy!!!!..............jez

Re: my first longtail.....woohoo

Bloody wonderful J&S!!!
    Aint it just the best when the hard work and lack of planning come together?
    Good on ya matey, enjoyed every second of that fight did n't ya?
    Nice one.
    jimbo

AWESOME CATCH!!! Well done Jez. They fight hard hey? I got one yesterday on the way back from moreton. Not as big as yours though. It's a monster. I didn't think the longtails would take pillies. I'll have to try them next time.
    Scarby

Thats a pretty nice first for a LT. I'm still yet to get one mysef.

congrats on the first.

There is no mistaking it when your fishing for macs and a L.T. wants that bait or lure. When that reel starts screaming , you know this aint no spotty. Well done mate great fish

Well done !!!...you wont forget him in a hurry....I caught one in sept 1999.........still waiting for another one....but i spent a time there with no bay fishing (old boat was worried about the outboard)...but with the new boat im starting to roam again....they put on a great fight mine was at the 4 beacons and took 40 mins to land...lot of pressure on the gaff man....

Very nice fish - proves you don't need to go far our to get some real nice fish. How did you cook it? Steaks or fillets?
    Tight lines, Look Cool - Act Cool - Be Cool

Ocean Kayak Prowler Elite 4.5 meter

Top effort Jez. That LT looked pretty good in my esky, even though it was missing it's head. I've just upgraded the esky from 62l to 85l and it still looks like it's too small. Might need bigger scales too.
    Scarby - you are right..Lt's don't take pillies cause I was throwin them at em all bl@@dy day. This bloke told me he just got one on a pilly.......

I'll have another crack at them this week.

Wags

Great fish J&S!

simon

just had some of him for dinner.....wrapt in alfoil covered in olive oil,ginger,garlic,coriander,salt and pepper thrown on the bbq and bloody hell they are fantastic! should have been there wags.....100 times better than those mac tuna we have eaten!!!

i will have some more tomorrow done the same way....cant go wrong....jez

Jez&Sue, they are good on the chew and are a hell of a lot of fun to catch. Now that you've caught your first, won't be too long and you'll be out after them again soon.

Well done.

nice LT mate theres been a few getting around at the momment thats a nice one too.

Well done Jez. I can tell how happy you are because there are no pics of the spotty. Lol
    That LT could pass as the twin of my first LT. Mine was spot on 15kgs and I will never forget just how hard it went. Good on you. Sushimi for months.

Well done Jez and Suze beautiful fish there and would have been heaps of fun!!

Mickstar

Thats a stonker first fish, well done.

Cheers and Beers
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies