A Big Day Out

Thread: A Big Day Out

A Big Day Out

Went out Anzac Day with my Brother Glenn (Cervelo) and Green a little after sunrise. Played around with SP's between the other boats for 1/2 hour or so with only a handfull of just under reefies and a couple of Lizards. I counted 27 boats on the eastern side

Decided to move wider and look for pelagics. Ended up at Cowan via Harry's, Sandhills, 4 Beacons, Nelson etc. for little results . Spent a lot of time chasing Longtails but they were pretty spooky. Headed home via a couple of spots in the shipping channel area before arriving back at Green at about 4.45pm.

Decided that we had little to lose so we had a quick fish and ended up with seven Squire to just over 52cm in about 45 mins or so We also had a big Spaniard chop one of Glenn's Squire in half about five metres from the boat in only 3m of water

A long day with a lot of Bay being covered but a few fish at the end of it all seems to make it all worthwhile

Last edited by Horse; 25-04-2007 at 09:15 PM.

Re: A Big Day Out

nice Haul Neil, what plastic did the damage on the squire mate

Yella
    We were using Gulps. Most were taken on Pumkinseed in either Minnows or Minnow grubs

G'day Neil,

That's a full day on the water mate. Nice conditions for it.

Very impressive haul of squire. Nice timing to get back to Green late and miss the crowds.

Do you find that you get more tails bitten off with pumpkinseed than other colours?

Brad.
    Last edited by For Steve; 25-04-2007 at 09:24 PM.

Brad

Pumkinseed seems to attract everything so you get a lot more loses but they seem to still work best for me

Ausfish Platinum Member Aquarius's Avatar

G,Day Neil, Mate that result makes the 12 hours spent on the bay worthwhile.
    Was a top day for boating and the fish is a bonus.
    Cheers Brent

Well done on getting a feed. When I was out there I decided to give the Snapbacks a go and I have to say there were some fish down there with very sharp teeth to be able to chew a Snapback placcie in half with one chomp. Tried quite a few different types of placcies and apart from the unstoppables I could only manage to boat everything that fell short by 1 or 2 cms of being legal. Thank goodness I don't rely heavily on feeding the family with fish or we'd have starved ages ago. lol Next trip will be the one. Probably have my own boat in the water by then.

hey Neil,

how do you find the minnow grubs work in comparison to the normal gulp minnows. Ive only ever used minnow style stick baits but might have to give the grubs a go next time.
    Do you just let them sink and a few hops etc like the minnows?

Nice work Neil! ADAMY and I were out at Wello/Green on Tues Night (to beat the masses and experiment with a few things) and came home with 1 Cod (ADAMY). A lot of throwbacks and about 6 smash & runs all mainly at Green! Wello was super quiet.

Take care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

The wind was up a bit with over 0.5m of choppy swell so under5 these conditions I normally just drift them behind the boat with the occasional jig. I like the 3" Minnows when everything is calm and still. I have been playing with 5" stickbaits but find they are too vulnerable to getting their tail chewed off. I reckon a softy M&G could be worth while to put forward the different techniques people use

Poodroo and T1

There were a lot of throwbacks in the morning but very few later on. The 34cm Squire on green must be on steroids as they are fighting well above their weight. A couple of unstopables are still heading for NZ. T1 there is at5 least one more Spaniard for you to have a crack at.

Top feed Horse well done.I happy you got a few in the end,reward for the effort.Cheers.

Smile Re: A Big Day Out

How often that "ill just try there", or "just one more cast" can make a day...