Thread: Fitting Rod holders

Re: Fitting Rod holders

Quote Originally Posted by Sea-Dog View Post
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Sea-Dog
    I dunno if this would work, but to my mind I can't see why not.

Since the tube of the rod holder is round in section, but mounted at an angle - couldn't you just drill a small pilot hole in the appropriate place, then use the holesaw, but held at the same angle that the tube of the rod holder is at?

Wouldn't that cut a hole in an eliptical shape?

Eg. cutting a round bit of salami at an angle produces eliptical shaped slices.

Same principle, just drilling instead of slicing.

Cheers, Ross

Excellent - I thought my brain was functioning correctly. Who says you can't learn something from slicing salami.

Another salami trick I have learned is to lay out slices of salami between layers of paper towel, then pop into the microwave for about a minute.

No greasy, fatty salami - Just little salami biscuits..... Yummm
    mmmmmmm makeing me peckish now

Ahhh now I understand how people use the hole saws, thanks Sea Dog!

Although I reckon I will go with some of the other methods as I don't have a hole saw.

I do have salami however and next footy match will be beer and salami biscuits for me!!

cheers, Evan

Dignity and seadog have got it. The trick is to have a longer guide. the standard drill bit in a hole saw is too short act as guide when cutting with the hole saw at the required angel for the rod holder. A normal drill bit being longer than the hole saw drill bit will do the job.
    I have a piece of 1/4" round (steel) about 4" long that I use as a guide.
    I first drill the pilot hole using the holesaw drill bit without the hole saw fitted (always drill the pilot first without the holesaw, they can make a mess of paint and gelcoat if the pilot drill grabs as it goes threw and you are not hanging on real tight) . I then replace the drill bit with the guide and screw on the right size holesaw. I then hold the rod holder next to the gunwall with the holesaw & drill resting in the pilot hole. Angle the drill to the same angle as the rod holer you are holding, put the rodholder on the gunwall while not moving the position of the drill, hang on and drill away carefully. The 1/4" round bar guide does the same job as the longer drill bit but it holds it steadier than the drill with less catter.
    If you want the rod holder facing out a little over the side of the boat, again hold the rod holder near the inside of the gunwall and rotate it to the desired position to get the drill angle and rotation correct and drill away.
    Easy as, done it heaps of times in ally and f/g boats. No clean up with files, rotary burrs etc.
    Regards wayne