Southern bay islands 21st April

Thread: Southern bay islands 21st April

Ausfish Platinum Member Aquarius's Avatar

Southern bay islands 21st April

Howdy Ausfishers, Took my mate Mick out for a squire session today around the usual bay hot spots.
    Started off at the Huybers before dawn and then over to Green to fish the ledge on the outgoing tide.
    Plenty of hits and a couple of squire into the esky before sunrise but after that the place shut down.
    Headed over to Mud to join the rest of s/e Qlds Boats.
    Talk about a car park..lol
    Not much action here so we circle Mud stopping here and there and then back to Green for the incoming tide.
    Still quiet here so off to Wello.
    Chatted to Beefa and (For- Steve) at green and noticed they were pulling a few throwbacks...how did you go guys?
    A couple of throwbacks around the huybers.
    Met up with Marlin MIke, Nice to have a quick chat mate.
    Things were looking grim so i had to try something different to snare a few squire.
    We headed up towards Ormiston and drifted the 4 metre contours and then into the shallows.
    Mick noticed schools of hardy,s hanging around the boat so i got out the 6lb gear and put in a cast .
    Wham i'm on!!!!!
    So much fun pulling in 40 cm squire in 2.5 metres water.
    They sure go hard!!!!!!!!!!
    Total catch for today was 5 fish between 38 and 44 cms.
    A very ordinary day fish wise but who cares when we have weather conditions like this morning.
    Cheers Brent

Re: Southern bay islands 21st April

Still 5 keeper squire is a good effort brent, enough to feed the family he he. Well done mate.

Mickstar

Gotta agree brent, great day weather wise, although that wind got up a bit there for a couple of hours. We didnt have any luck after you left Wello,

Still a nice feed there Aquarius esp for a Saturday. I ducked out to Mud on the Friday and found it quiet too. Think I might have to visit Wello, haven't made it out there yet but from all reports looks promising. Any advise on where to start?

One Day

nice catch there brent good feed, i thought i saw you at mud this mornin i was the red haines signature there. we got a nice feed or parrot and a nice 3 kilo squire. cheers steve

Mate you should try around the Huybers beacon before sunrise.
    To keep away from the boat traffic turn right at the end of Wello leads and drift in the 3 metre zone using very light braid. (2 to 3 kilo max)
    Stay with the bait if possible because the predators won't be far away.
    When working the shallows make sure you use 1/16th to 1/8th jigheads and keep in touch with the plastic because if you let it sit on the structure you will snag up for sure.
    Its a bit like using a fly rod technique.
    Cheers Brent

Quote Originally Posted by Aquarius View Post
    Howdy Ausfishers, Took my mate Mick out for a squire session today around the usual bay hot spots.
    Started off at the Huybers before dawn and then over to Green to fish the ledge on the outgoing tide.
    Plenty of hits and a couple of squire into the esky before sunrise but after that the place shut down.
    Headed over to Mud to join the rest of s/e Qlds Boats.
    Talk about a car park..lol
    Not much action here so we circle Mud stopping here and there and then back to Green for the incoming tide.
    Still quiet here so off to Wello.
    Chatted to Beefa and (For- Steve) at green and noticed they were pulling a few throwbacks...how did you go guys?
    A couple of throwbacks around the huybers.
    Met up with Marlin MIke, Nice to have a quick chat mate.
    Things were looking grim so i had to try something different to snare a few squire.
    We headed up towards Ormiston and drifted the 4 metre contours and then into the shallows.
    Mick noticed schools of hardy,s hanging around the boat so i got out the 6lb gear and put in a cast .
    Wham i'm on!!!!!
    So much fun pulling in 40 cm squire in 2.5 metres water.
    They sure go hard!!!!!!!!!!
    Total catch for today was 5 fish between 38 and 44 cms.
    A very ordinary day fish wise but who cares when we have weather conditions like this morning.
    Cheers Brent
    Hi Brent,

That was me, not Beefa! For Steve and I had a fantastic day - see our report "when flatties outnumber vermin" Good to see you did quite well!

Cheers!

Hey lads, i battled Mud today aswell on the run out tide. Threw back 13 squire, 2 grassies, 1 trevor, 3 cod, 2 sole & some monster grinners. But on the good side 1 kept 5 squire all around 40/42 & 43cm cod. Gunna have another bash tomorrow while weather is good. Also had a play at ST Helina & got killed by small squire. Might see youse tomorrow. Hurru
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

On the bay and pulling a few fish in skinny water , great way to spend a morning

Fishing in the shallow like that sure is interesting!!... Tell me Brent - where do you get the jigheads in 1/16 - 1/24?? I mean with a big enough hook to catch squire - or do you just use the small berkley type hooks? I've gone off the Berkleys since I had an XOS straighten the hook. Cant find big enough hooks in Nitro or TT anywhere - may have to make my own.

I'm experimenting with worm hooks and pinch weight - just for the shallows and my "sleeper unit" working OK so far... have to get together and compare notes someday.

What placcies did the damage today? - If you're chasing the hardies - my guess is baby bass?

Adam

Nice catch Brent, and beats surveying the ramps like I've been doing today.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Whoops sorry Brian (Scalem) I'm use to seeing Beefa around Wello/ Green in the tinny.

Bar Up You managed to put together a nice feed of squire and cod.

Adam i was using the squidgy fineese heavy wire hooks/ jigheads.
    They come in many weights and hook sizes and i have found them perfect for shallow water work.
    Yep baby bass was doing the damage today even had the hardy's thinking it was one of them..lol.
    Cheers Brent
    You should have seen them take to the air when i pulled a squire through them.

Well done mate

G'day Brent,

Nice to see you out there yesterday. Well done pulling up a nice feed of fresh squire.

Until next time,
    Brad.

Nice work Brent.

Wasnt me mate, I have been too busy lately. Soon though, I will be back into them.

Adamy, I only use 1/8th and 1/12th in the TT, with either 1/0 H or 2/0 H. Never had a problem, just need to take your time playing them.