Peel Thursday 19th - Page 2

Thread: Peel Thursday 19th

Re: Peel Thursday 19th

ThePinkPanther it was a spectacular day. Spotty mac in Raby Bay....sure is a wide range of species in there...must be all those clean canals you guys fork out for

Hey PinHead...Holidays for me is like an abstract concept....I cant remember the last time I had a 2 week break. But I have a worked my backside off setting up the business so that I can get a week or 2 here or there. All work and no play makes BilgeBoy want to run away!!!

Bar Up...I have a new word for politicians...I call them "Grinners" I caught my local member today (See picture above). Bottom feeding scum with a big smile!

BilgeBoy

Bilgeboy, who ever said you when your own boss you could have holidays get back to work I have my own business as well know the feeling mike

Quote Originally Posted by T1 View Post
    Let's see what i can do... Remember though, some days they're just not there for the taking!

Take Care T
    Hey T, spot the difference.

Fisho goes out with all the good smelly stuff, fresh as a warm cow pad, fishes for six hours with NADA to show for it. Oh well, they just weren't there today.....

Same fisho goes out with every colour of placcie and Jig Head size, throws them around for an hour or two, still NADA, but the response is "these stupid dang things are a curse!!" I am generalizing of course, but I often wonder how far from the truth this is from one person to the other.

But Bilgeboy, I am not referring to you mate, you are really giving it a good try, T or someone has to jump in your boat and see what's going on. Bait might still be the right choice for you, but it's not holdens or fords, Broncoes or cowboys. It's whatever works according to the conditions and your preferences. Keep at it! I hope this weekend brings a new PB for myself or my skipper for Saturday, here's hoping

Last edited by Scalem; 19-04-2007 at 10:46 PM.

Hey BB - dont forget my tried and true SP method/ technique - it super secret though so dont go telling anyone - and those SP'ers out there that know this little secret but dont want to let the cat out of the bag... dont castigate me for letting this one slip.

OK you ready for it? - Here it is...

Cast your sp out there...... let a few metres of line loose... put the rod in the rod holder and let it sit.... dont forget to wind it in once the fish hits.

Thats it... its the do nothing approach - to be honest I reckon I'm about 60/40 60% of my fish are caught actively fishing the sp and the rest are caught using the do nothing technique. I works best with gulps but Ive also caught fish... good fish too not just unders... on lots of other placcies - so next time give it a go.

Last trip (wednesday) I had a double hook up one one the do nothing (I call it a sleeper) and the other on my "active rod" both legal squire - held one rod in my teeth while reeling in the other fish - then swapped over - great fun!!

By the way - I never have done really well at Peel I reckon that place is harder to fish than most... or maybe its just me.

Lotsa luck,

Adam

Gotta disagree with ya Adam about Peel. Sure, not big numbers, but fished the right way, it produces as much as anywhere else. Maybe need to take you there and show you a few spots....

Second what Mike says... You could apply that to all the islands inc and especially MUD Is...

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Scalem I was just commenting the other day how I have been standing 2 feet from a guy landing nothing while I was hooking in. Must of had sunscreen lotion on his pillie some days you just cant catch a fish for trying.

T1 has made the very generous offer to take me on a run...so I will take him up on that. My feeling is its a combination of technique and the size of the plastic I am using....I may need bigger SP's??

Adam I think you are right mate....The more I move the SP...the less hits I get. I have watched a few Berkly video's and they are thrashing the things around like no tomorrow...so it's got me buggered!! Peel was my pick that day because I had it on good authority that they had been pulling 50cm Snaps from that area...at that time of day!! I had fished Wello Sunday and Monday with little success. I thought I new a little about fishing until I got onto Ausfish...and quickly realized I KNOW NOTHING. JUNGLE I call myself..."Thick & Green" So offers from guys like T1 are awesome.

Hey Mike...On my run over to Peel at I came across a yellow buoy...I got a real shock and throttled back....WHAT THE where did that come from. As It was my very first venture out in the dark I got a little panicked...Was I on a sandbank. No there should be no sand bank here...I know this stretch of water reasonably well and the sounder said 7Mtrs of water??? I figured it was a FAD and moved on. Later in the morning on my way back...I noticed that It had moved closer to Cleveland point. ANY IDEAS???

BilgeBoy

Quote Originally Posted by BilgeBoy View Post
    I thought I new a little about fishing until I got onto Ausfish...and quickly realized I KNOW NOTHING. JUNGLE I call myself..."Thick & Green"
    BilgeBoy
    Welcome to the club mate! I still feel that way sometimes and i've been fishing for over 25 years! YOU NEVER STOP LEARNING!!! There's always someone doing something better/different and you just have to go out with an open mind at times. I can't begin to tell you the number of hours (cold) TINN and i put in last year learning and trying things. Even as we speak, i was just on the phone to ADAMY planning a 'learning' trip for Tuesday night to try something against the odds... Not expecting to catch anything but it will add to our knowledge bank for future purposes.

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

BilgeBoy, if it wasnt a crab pot float, it could be marking soemthing that went down.

Maybe someone lost something overboard and they dropped a float to mark the spot to get it later.

Other than that cant say mate

Hey Mike - you're on mate!! I'll even use bait if thats what it takes

Bilge Boy... time is a bit pressed at the moment due to Uni stuff - but the mid of winter will see some time freed up (I hope) - if T1 cant cure your sp blues - then you're welcome aboard the "mv piece of crap" and we'll sort you out.

Adam

pic of the mv attached

Quote Originally Posted by BilgeBoy View Post
    T1 has made the very generous offer to take me on a run...so I will take him up on that. My feeling is its a combination of technique and the size of the plastic I am using....I may need bigger SP's??

BilgeBoy
    Mate, this should never appear as if I am upstaging T, but I need heaps of practise in the next few weeks so you are welcome to jump in my boat sometime too. Tight lines!!

Hi,

just wanted to know what the fish is next to the boot in the picture as i catch these all the time.

Went to mud island on Saturday and caught a couple big ones all bigger the 50cm.

Also does anyone know if you can eat them if so are they nice at all to eat.

sorry madea mistake
    Last edited by bluefin59; 22-04-2007 at 02:59 PM.
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......