Thread: Got a Boner on the beach....18-04-07

Got a Boner on the beach....18-04-07

......Have heard some reports of good whiting on the sunny coast beaches recently so I headed down to Marcus Beach this arvo to try and pluck a few for a feed.Arrived an hour before low tide and caught some nice juicy worms which were in reasonable numbers....then found a nice gutter.
    First cast I hooked what I thought was a small whiting but looked closer and realised it was a juvenile Bonefish.....Only a small fella but my first...
    Tried to let him go but was hooked to deep and I couldnt revive him.
    Continued fishing through till about 5.00pm and finished up with 21 whiting and threw back about 10 undersize fellas.
    Great arvo on the beach light winds and perfect conditions.

Re: Got a Boner on the beach....18-04-07

Good one. I have never even seen a real Bonefish. Thats a great haul of Whiting off the beach

Good stuff Pete.

A mate of mine got a boney under the Sheraton bridge a few years back. Yours is the second i've heard of from the Sun Coast. Well done. How long was it?

Top haul of whiting too mate.

Jeff.
    Last edited by ffejsmada; 18-04-2007 at 07:53 PM.

Good stuff mate, we got a few recently aswell.

rockfisho

Quote Originally Posted by ffejsmada View Post
    Good stuff Pete.

A mate of mine got a boney under the Sheraton bridge a few years back. Yours is the second i've heard of from the Sun Coast. Well done. How long was it?

Top haul of whiting too mate.

Jeff.
    Only small at 26cm.

Another one to tick off on the species list Pete.

now thats a tasty feed for a good arvo session and thats an awesome bycatch ive heard they were around fraser as well nothing big though

Got a Boner on the beach....18-04-07
    Did you knock it off !

I find it surprising about the run of good whiting and the snaps starting to show up Must be a change of seasons just like the weather

Quote Originally Posted by Black_Rat View Post
    Did you knock it off !

I find it surprising about the run of good whiting and the snaps starting to show up Must be a change of seasons just like the weather
    Yeah the whiting run this year has been exceptional.
    Some of the old blokes here at Noosa reckon its the best they have had in years.
    Big fish too.

Top stuff pistolp, Catching your own worms and catching good fish in the surf.Doesnt get much better mate.Cheers on the bonefish too,Did it go harder than the whiting.

Gee PISTOL, those Boners are found in all sorts of places! I found one in my boxers this morning when i woke up...

Top catch of whiting too! Yummy little things and certainly more satisfying to catch than their common cousins 'nut-ting'.

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Top haul of whiting there Pete.Well done.I couldn't think of a better way to end a day.Cheers.

Nice load of catch there, excellent..

Theres Nothing like a good days fishing.

onya mate!! i think land lubber caught one around 1770 aswell.

What did the boney taste like (the fish) - presume you ate it ?