Thread: Wello/Green and George's Gutter

Wello/Green and George's Gutter

Its been a long time since the boat was wet... so with good conditions predicted I put off the work and studies for one more day and prep'd the boat - called George (GES) for an early morning Wello Assault - the plan was to get a few early fish and home by 8... YEH Right!!

Reached Wello at 4.30 - as T said the drift was very slow and the fishing was slower it wasnt until after daybreak that I had my first hit - George had one shortly after and boated his at 56cms - nice fish after that it was still dead about 7 headed over to Green where I finally latched onto a 50cm mobel and several smaller ones around 35 which went back - except for one which couldnt be revived. We saw some nice longtail surface action in the 10-15kg class which had us drooling but they were moving quick and not very consistent so we didnt chase them.

We were starting to get desperate so downgraded our size expectations from 40cm minimums to 37 and kept one more at green. Finally after giving up on Green we headed to "George's Gutter" so named after my partner in crime who introduced me to it. Its our fail safe spot - close to home and never fails to produce something - by now the tide had reached its high and started to turn the drift thru Georges gutter was perfect and produced another 4 keepers up to 40cms and a few throwbacks around 35cm as well as a line burner on the final cast which ran me into the reef rubbing me off in the process... bugger! but thats what keeps us coming back for more.

With 8 keepers in the esky we could have bagged out on one more drift but we headed home instead.

Stated off really slow - but ended up OK - the fish werent huge but they played the game... eventually!

Was a REALLY nice day on the water - glass out from 6am - 10am... perfect!

Adam

Attached are a couple of pics - as you can see by the big Cheesy grin, George had to be pressured into taking a photo - he loves to fish... doesnt like photos much
    Last edited by Adamy; 18-04-2007 at 01:46 PM.

Re: Wello/Green and George's Gutter

Good work Adamy, some biggish fish in there you'd have to be happy with that! Fish for the next few weeks anyway!

Mickstar

i new i shouldn't have read this!!!! now im super jealous sitting here at work!! great catch guys, was that 56cm buldozer caught at wello???
    " Sea 'n' Things " 420 Quintrex-Suzuki 30

I go home and you start catching fish huh?! Seriously though, had i have had more time, we would have gone to Green a bit earlier but really wasn't worth it with the timeframe we had.

Notice us in the background of the pic of George? TINN went out this morning too for a family session and he said the Mackerel were putting on a real show with fish jumping a metre out of the water nailing all the baitfish!! Couldn't get them on SP's though...

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Dam good catch adam, that area seems to be holding a few fish.

Getting good at catching a feed there Adam. Too much practice maybe? Well done mate. Getting real close to getting the old tinnie back in the water.

Nice one Adam/Ges. Some good snaps there.

Looking forward to the winter run. Looks promising so far

Foggy

Good to see you back on the water Adam,

Tell me if your game plan isn't in reverse the next time you go out. "George's Gutter" 1st??? They are very respectable fish!

Nice stuff guys got a decent catch there. Wello was very quiet I am expecting it to fire very soon just got to keep going I guess. There was mackeral every at wello what a sight chasing bait schools for hunderds of metres in the shallows in the deep couldn't even get one interested
    It's all part of the fishing experience

Some nice size keepers there Adam.
    Great to see you back out there catching a feed.
    Did you get the squire on the n/e side of Green?
    You know the spot i'm talking about
    Care to share the plastics used today?
    Cheers Brent

Thanks for the comments guys!!

High n Dry; Yup the 56 was caught at Wello - not a bad fish for there - but theres bigger to be had yet - as T said you can just make out his boat in the background.

Droo: Whens those holidays mate? I owe you a trip!

Brian: Georges Gutter is a pretty special place - but I reckon it only fishes on a certain part of the tide due to local conditions - I dont think there's any monsters there mostly the kids playground - heaps of 35 - 45cm fish but I did have one line burner today that would have gone well over 50 judging by how easily it took line (on a firm drag - 6lb braid) so there maybe the odd hoodlum there - will definitely be spending more time there - in the last 3 trips have caught shark, tailor, flounder, squire all on 5 inch jerk shad gulps.

Brent: We got a stack of squire NE of green - nice ground there. Only the one decent one (50cm) but about 5-6 just legals which went back and a heap of unders.

Funny story: My fuel line broke at green (thats not the funny part) while I was fixing it we nearly drifted into these old blokes who were anchored up fishing for bream and they were slaying them in the 25cmish range anyway they saw the placcies and asked if we wanted to borrow some bait... ha ha very funny - fuel line fixed - next drift I pulled the 50cm fella out from almost under their boat... wanna borrow some plastics?

Plastics that worked today were berkley powerbait 4inch pumpkinseed (stick bait), T's infamous TMSK (thready killer - my second last pack) Lime tiger 5inch jerk shad gulp and the nuck chicken 5 inch jerk. I didnt get a hit on your personal favorite - but then again I wasnt fishing with it when we hit the fish - which were in patches - when we hooked up there were sometimes double hook ups - so they were schooling and feeding together as opposed to being spread out.

Adam

Quote Originally Posted by Adamy View Post
    Droo: Whens those holidays mate? I owe you a trip!
    G'day Adam, the holidays will be next month. I am trying to see if the boss will let me go the first two weeks in May. I really need the time off. Haven't really christened the new outfit with a decent fish as yet but have caught some reasonable squire on it.