Thread: Camping Townsville Area

Camping Townsville Area

Am looking at heading out for a camp for a night or so in the near future with GF before heading off to Thursday Island for 2 months. Am wondering if anyone has any suggestions within a couple of hours drive of townsville that would be good for a night or two. Have a 4wd, but would rather somethign that isn't too difficult to get in to. Prefer to be near USABLE water, and as far from anything else as possible. SOmewhere nice and quiet wher we aren't going to be bothered by locals or other campers. If anyone has any suggestions, it would be muchly appreciated!

Re: Camping Townsville Area

Hi Dan,
    I am Townsville based, so here is a suggestion for you..

Murray Falls National Park - Located approx half way between Cardwell and Tully (2hrs north of Townsville)
    Like most good camping areas, busy during holiday season but outside the season you may find only a couple of campers there at any one time...Its quite a large camping ground so you could setup in a more remote spot...Great freshwater swimming area with waterfall - large camping area with good amenities, not close to any particular fishing spot however 30 minutes away is Cardwell and the Hinchinbrook or 30 minutes north is the Tully River- you will need to book for a permit click on link below for more details...
    http://www.epa.qld.gov.au/projects/p...cgi?parkid=155

Hope this helps...
    Cheers!
    Iesha

Ta Iesha

Was probably after something away from designated camp grounds, after some REAL camping, no facilities, and was going to be taking dog with me so national park and camp grounds are out of the question.

Anyone else with any suggestions?

Quote Originally Posted by Dr_Dan View Post
    Ta Iesha

Was probably after something away from designated camp grounds, after some REAL camping, no facilities, and was going to be taking dog with me so national park and camp grounds are out of the question.

Anyone else with any suggestions?
    Hi Dan,

For some where close mate you could follow the road up Hervey's Range and camp at KeelBottom Crossing, its the first causeway you'll come to, about 1/2 hour from the Willows or you can push on further along the Highway till you get to the Burdekin River Bridge Crossing on the same road. Its about 10-20km I think from the end of the highway from the Towers to Greenvale. Or another option is to camp at the Burdekin River Bridge before Charters Towers. All places are safe to swim and all hold Perch, Dewfish, and Sooties. And all no more than 1.5hours from Townsville

Rob Dickson
    Last edited by dicko1980; 17-04-2007 at 08:04 AM.

Eh Mate,

How's the new 4x4 going.

Where was the invite eh mate?

No worries, hopefully i'll see you up on TI when your up there.

When you get back, we'll organise a proper trip up into Lakefield if you want?

Anyway mate, Have a good one.

Bigfella Ben OD

haha, would have invited you, but under strict orders from She Who Must Be Obeyed that we need some "us" time before heading off for two months! Def keen for lakefield sometime, just depends on what time i can get off.

Dalbeg weir could be a goer mate. We're heading down there on Sunday so i'll let ya know what it's like for camping. I havent been all the way out to the weir yet but from what i have seen it's great fun getting out there, and being so secluded it would be a fun weekend, wink wink...lol

The campground at Fletchers creek isnt too bad with a short walk to the Burdekin river on the right,a freshwater creek running through the campsite and the great bassalt wall to investigate to the left of the campsite. Whilst it does have some facillities it is large enough to be "on you own " . It's only about 40k's north of the Towers.About 20k's back towards the Towers is a road that leads to Riverview that can be a good camp and access to a creek that runs back into the Burdekin river.At times can be very secluded.

Thanks guys, given me some ideas.

Dalbeg weir would be a great spot. We were out there on Sunday and even though the track in was a bit rough and great 4wding, i reckon it would be a top spot to camp. You would need to take enough supplies to be self sufficient though.