Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Awesome new Barra hardbodies

Re: Awesome new Barra hardbodies

I picked up some yesterday, four colours, got two of each. I am now ready for my next Barra fix.
    As Jas says, they have a great finsh, almost holographic, hold them in the light and roll them around and see a rainbow.
    From what i can see, they will become to a Barra fisherman what a Jackal became to a Bass fisherman. Can't wait to try them out.

Obi_Wan

Cool Re: Awesome new Barra hardbodies

Cool lures but the buoyancy is very inconsistent at the moment as some sink & some float?? But there heaps cheaper than the Jap & US ones and the hooks are great for off the shelf lures...... Atached is a photo to show size.... the gold one sinks fast and the silver one floats.

Cheers Les

great looking lures

Quote Originally Posted by McCod View Post
    Cool lures but the buoyancy is very inconsistent at the moment as some sink & some float?? But there heaps cheaper than the Jap & US ones and the hooks are great for off the shelf lures...... Atached is a photo to show size.... the gold one sinks fast and the silver one floats.

Cheers Les
    I got a gold on the other day & it floats, so I'd say there's something wrong with that one of yours.
    So far no fish on it, but the same can be said for all the other lures I've got
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Mcod,
    Take the one that sinks back to place of purchase mate, its obviously a dudd. As with anything mass produced, a few slip through the net.
    They are meant to float, but I have some rigged as suspenders, and work a treat in those scenario's.
    That may work for you, however if not take it back.
    Jas

Hi,

Kerrin and I scored a fat 116cm and a 107cm Barra this morning on the Boney Bream before 7:30am.

We were testing it out at 5:00am at the boat ramp, when a big fish struck it near the boat! We weren't expecting that!

Well done Jas on creating this awesome lure with Bushy. As you say,
    'effort brings results!'

The shine and action is awesome. It's an instant confidence lure!

Here's a photo!

Cy and Kerrin Taylor
    Whitsundays QLD

Well thats another dozen barra lures for the next trip. The boys at that big tackle shop in Coffs Harbour? (Obviously not allowed to mention names) seem to like me dropping in. Something about if its new its worth giving it a try.

Will be really interested to see how it works on some of the other dams. Like up in the Timber at Monduran for instance.

Stop posting new lures, will have to buy a few new tackle boxes next. Running out of space.
    Have to chuck out some of the old Nilsmasters and Vibrotails.

Will be interested to see how a few other fisherfolk go with these new lures.

A few reports would be great

Trev
    Last edited by mylestom; 03-05-2007 at 08:15 AM.

Ah, top shelf fish as usual Cy and Kerrin....who needs a boat eh? Bought 2 each of all 4 colours but haven't had a chance yet to give them a swim....now I'm itching. Great lures with so many potential applications and techniques in the fresh.

Cheers and well done guys

Hi Paul,

They certainly are good for shallow water fishing.

What are they?

1. An underwater stick-bait, or

2. A lipless crankbait?

Maybe we should just call them a 'floating bibless stick-crankbait'?

Confusing!

C&K

Guys,
    They are just a bibless minnow!
    Jas

Hey Jas! yeah i will take it back for sure..... had a few hits on the silver one @ Monduran on the last trip but still none boated.
    Gday CY @ Kerrin! Finally got a metery on the last evening up there C ya's up there again soon.

Cheers Les

I don't know if I missed it in all the threads but what is this lure called??

Is there somewhere you can buy them online??

Quote Originally Posted by Boomi Boy View Post
    Is there somewhere you can buy them online??

Sure you could get them from Mail Order (MO) Tackle if you look it up.

They are in there latest catalogue.

Trev

The lure is called a Stiffy Boney Bream
    Jas