• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ashh
    Ausfish Gold Member

• Mar 2007

coupla fish: coomera river and broadwater

had a quick drift up the coomera river friday arvo flicking plackys and drifting some poddys, managed a few flattys this one went about 39cm on plastic, and all I could get on the liveys were these bloody catfish

took mum out for a fish in the broadwater today, pumped some yabbys and after we had enough yabbys I had a quick flick and first cast nailed this little flatty 38cm.

Caught heaps of undersized whiting, sole, flattys and the odd breambo but managed this good sized whiting on a yabby, personal best for me 37cm , let mum have it for dinner. Nothing to special but had good fun day fishing outa the boat.
    .......Ash
  • ffejsmada

• Dec 2006

Re: coupla fish: coomera river and broadwater

Ripper whiting mate!!!

Comment

• 84mick
      Ausfish Gold Member
      • Aug 2006

Thats a good looking whiting there and lizards!

Mick.

Comment

• whatscracken
        Ausfish Gold Member

• Feb 2007

Bloody nice whiting mate, Well Done

Comment

• greenie.77
          • Feb 2007

some good fish there well done

Comment

• vb4me

• Mar 2007

Cant complain about that. Couple of nice fish there.

Comment

• chief

• Feb 2006

Nice way to spend some time with a few flathead on plastics but mate that whiting is a beauty

Comment

• gregdeeth
                Ausfish Gold Member
                • Aug 2006

nice whiting

Comment

• richieboy
                  • Apr 2006

That's a great whiting there mate. I just get goosebumps when I look at it. For some unknown reason it reminds me of the grinners I pulled in this morning. What the......$#@%$@#$^

Rich

Comment

• ashh
                    Ausfish Gold Member

• Mar 2007

sure was a good whiting, I called it for a bream as it was fighting quite hard then a flatty coz of its weight on the line, but yeah surprise surprise...

Someone was telling me, that they heard from someone else that....
                    #1 grinners are apparantly are as good tasting as whiting???, so long as you dont mind the thousand or two bones in them and
                    #2 they are good live bait for something??

is there any truth to these statements??
                    .......Ash

Comment

• the gecko
                      Platinum Member
                      • Jun 2005

Sounds like a similar session I had there last week, just bream and cattys.

Yes, grinners can be eaten, but usually arent.....why bother.
                      They can be good live bait for some offshore pelagics, but theres nothing in the rivers that takes them.

Fishing- It's only an addiction if you're trying to quit.

Comment

• Murph77
                        Ausfish Gold Member
                        • Nov 2006

Stonker whiting mate, well done

Comment

Working...
                        X