Thread: How strong is your tie down strap ?

Re: How strong is your tie down strap ?

Trailer manufacturing ( winch post) is unfortunately,self regulated.The post, and the tie down, are important, if you get into a minor accident. It does not take much, to dislodge your boat , especially if you dont tie it down, in some form,and of course, the stronger the better.
    However ratchet straps,dont just have a downward pull,that is why I went to the cross bar,and a straight down pull.Even then you have to be careful, with the sides of the boat.

If you have not experienced it, it really is easy to move a boats position,on a trailer,if it is not secure.
    David

The only decent way to stop the boat going forward in a accident is the 2 chains under the bow with the turn buckle on the one that goes back under the bow. Then the bow eye is the weak point though and how much load can it take? The rear strap will do very little unless you have a tinny with side rails to stop the boat sliding under the strap. The strap only stops the boat bouncing up and down. When you hit something the boat will travel up the trailer and tear of the winch post. The force from a 2 tonne boat at 60 km/h would be massive. Here is a thread from Jan, look at the pic of what happened to the post. Leigh
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...=103937&page=2

Yes too many people put way too much faith in the winch post and the bow eye, in most setups this is all that holds the boat from going forward or backward.

Regards, Kerry.

was waiting at a scales stop in my truck and was listening to a mains road man book a bloke for having a rope tie down un der new queensland law all tie downs must display a SWL so rope is now a no no also all boats must now comply as with truck laws and must have a tow down as well as a front fixture chain also a 2000kg strap is adequate as the trailer weight is below 2 tonne without the boat in qld anyhow. seems as if they dont mind if your boat goes flying as long as your trailer stays attached to it. hope this helps but remember this also applies to anything in the back of the ute also even if it has sides. regards ozbee

http://www.ntc.gov.au/viewPage.aspx?...85093006200200

Load restriant guide. Federal Gov. Don't know if boats are in it but they are still aload. Leigh

PS. 80% forward direction, 50% rearward & sideward, 20% vertical.

The interesting part for a boat is what is stoping the forward movement? Nothing on most setups. Leigh
    Last edited by lee8sec; 13-04-2007 at 03:15 PM.

http://www.ntc.gov.au/viewPage.aspx?...85093006200200

The interesting part is when you get to slippery loads, about 1/2 down. 4* 2 tonne straps to hold .5 tonne. A boat on a boat trailer would have to be classed as slippery load.

Damm is wish i hadn't started to look into this. Leigh

now I'm worried - 2 tonne of boat and only a winch post between the boat and me - there is a chain and turnbuckle, just had a look to confirm and it is attached to the base of the wich post. There is nothing other than weight keeping it on the trailer and if the wich post gives way (2 ubolts hold it in place) what the

Has any one got pics of some good systems, how do you keep the boat secured to the trailer

You can bolt an eye to the draw bar itself (or use U-bolts and a plate) and run a chain with turnbuckle or a ratchet tie down to the bow eyelet.

Remember the formula from physics: force = mass x acceleration.

Ie there is more than just the mass of the boat to allow for. In a sudden manouver the force gets multiplied many times.

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    now I'm worried - 2 tonne of boat and only a winch post between the boat and me - there is a chain and turnbuckle, just had a look to confirm and it is attached to the base of the wich post. There is nothing other than weight keeping it on the trailer and if the wich post gives way (2 ubolts hold it in place) what the

Has any one got pics of some good systems, how do you keep the boat secured to the trailer
    The best i have seen so far is like yours but goes to the drawbar & a second chain from the bow eye that goes back under the bow down to the draw bar near the front roller with a turn buckle, effectively pulling the boat down & back. Was on a quintrex. Leigh

billfisher, guess my concern was that currently with my my set up the restraining chain is on the winch post. I will now add an extra eye bolt direct to the draw bar. I have nothing else and from what I have observed of boats of my length and weight, that is it. Should we have some sort of restraint at the rear of the trailer, or is there something additional to add to the front of the boat and trailer as I am sure that the force is significant in an accident and that a singlr piece of galv chain is not enough

I found some good rachets finally !

http://www.spanset.com.au/heavyduty.html

I rang them today and the guy was very helpful.
    LC = lashing capacity
    The breaking type load is twice the lashing capacity.

Ive got no idea on price, i just got some details of some local suppliers near me.

He said that they can custom make them. The normal ones have a 300mm tail between the hook and the rachet. I want about 1400mm to get my ratchet above my gunnel (so it doesnt scratch the side of the boat) and he said thats not a problem to order and make.

Ive got a existing strap now that looks a lot like the orange one with black stitching, but not sure if thats the exact one.

Well you have your winch post. The safety chain is just a back-up. You can always run a double chain which should be plenty strong enough.

Who gives a ####, buy what you think is suitable.

It seems that most of you guys seem to worry about your boat in the event of a bingle , havent any of you travelled behind a boat that is not tied down on the arse , they bounce all over the place putting undue duress on your hull, & it creates the possibility of load shift which causes more bingles than people realise . If your boat is tied down secure to a trailer you get the trailer & boat goin up & down in 1 motion if you dont you can actually get the boat jumping up & down on the skids or rollers creating an unstable towing situation
    cheers Al.

Is there something better than a piece of carpet to use between the strapping and an ally hull. One trip up to the daly we lost several straps through wear and tear as we would continually lose the pieces of carpet. Suspect mate used cheap straps that time although have occasionally had the same problem on long hauls.