Thread: New rig -need bow mount setup advice

New rig -need bow mount setup advice

Ok, first heres the new rig. Its an Ally Craft 4.1m side console with a Johnson 35hp 3 cyl. Its actually a 96 model, but it looks like its only 2 years old! Its a custom job with a deep storage unit under the large padded centre seat, and 3 more storage bits under the front platform. Side rails right round, twin duck bills at the rear, and a bimini.

After 6 mths of looking and drooling at boats, I picked this up for $7,800 and I reckon its a bargain. No livewell tho, so I wont be a threat in the comps for a year or 2 yet.

The main point in changing boats was to be able to fit a bow mount, so I can do more lure work near tight spots. I got sick of anchoring up and using bait, even if I was catching fish. I also wanted a V hull so I can go in and out the seaway.

Heres a few pics of the rig.

Re: New rig -need bow mount setup advice

OK, so now I need to set up a bow mount. Ive bought a mInn Kota RT 55 ap, and Ive got a quick release bracket. Any advice on what NOT to do, or any good tips appreciated. I know theres been a few posts on this in the past, like JTs setup, but the pics are all gone with teh change over to teh new ausfish server, grr.

Do I just get an aluminium welder, (I know a mobile one) who will cut the bow rail and weld on the plate? I have a deep cycle battery, so I need a plate for it under the floor too.

Im going to mount my Matrix fishfinder too, so I might get a marine electrician at Coomera to do the job professionally. Im at work almost 7 days a week, so I dont mind paying someone. Im not good at tools and stuff, let me be right up front about that.

SO where should the fishfinder go? Should I try and mount it halfway between the side console and leccy? Im going to want to see it when Im driving and fishing, so I might get a bracket made, and mount it halfway up on the right hand side. I guess it will be a transome mount transducer. Has anybody put the transducer right on the leccy?

Thanks again guys. Maybe someone can save me some mistakes before I start cutting.

hi mate i had a 4.1 topender that i put a bow mount minnkota on all i done was to cut the bow rail 1.5 inches from the roller to 1 inch from the first post and mounted the quick reliese bracket with only three of the 4 bolts supplied and uded the rubber chocks to get fairly levil never gave me any trouble

so maybe I dont need a welder, just cut an bolt on?

Hi Andrew,

I did the same as Dan099, just cut the bow rail off and used 3 of the 4 mounting bolts and the rubber spacers to attach the quick release plate - no welding. I'll find some pics of my one and put them up. If this is the way you want to go I'll be more than happy to give you a hand to install.

I have mounted a transducer on my electric, I have a Lowrance X-125 on the bow and a Lowrance X-51 on the console. With the Matrix you have you could do what Marty did and get a spare bracket and transducer. When you are under way you use it on the console, when you are on the electric fishing you just move the head unit to the spare bracket on the bow. A nice easy set-up and cheaper than having two complete sounders. I am sure marty can pointyou in the right direction with getting parts.

Thanx JT, I think Ive covered everything with the leccy now. Bolts and rubber is the go. Any reason why everybody puts them left of the bow, and not to the right side?

Ive asked marty for an opinion too. Twin sounder brackets is something I hadnt thought of. That sounds good.

As for the electric motor the advice sounds good, also think about the position of it when it is not in use i have mine mounted so it sits directly above the gunnell- and it is not taking up any boat space, however i had a plate welded on my boat. A mate of mine has a side console boat he has his sounder mounted on an L shaped bracket on the left of the console, that way driver and passenger can see it and when we stop to fish we just spin the matrix sounder around 180 degrees so we can both see it when lure fishin from the front cast platform

Mounted on the left it is out of your line of site when motoring.
    Be sure it is angled across the bow so it sits out of the way way when you are not using it, you still see some coming straight down the middle of the boat, what a pain.

Hi Andrew,

Here are some close-ups of my electric set-up. Pretty straight forward. Looks like most of the do nots have been covered. Angle the electric off to one side so its out of the way when up, put it on the left so it's out of your eye line when at the console. Put in a 50 amp circuit breaker or fuse as close to the battery as possible to cover over-loads.

Anyway give us a ring when you are ready.

This may sound a bit crazy, but has anyone fabricated up a bracket to go over the bow rail, so you don't have to cut the bow rail.

Whichway

Quote Originally Posted by whichway View Post

This may sound a bit crazy, but has anyone fabricated up a bracket to go over the bow rail, so you don't have to cut the bow rail.

Whichway

You would probably need a very long shaft to then reach the water. The plate would be setting up another 200-300mm above the gunnell.

I'am starting to mount mine this coming week on a plastic 4.1 challenger pollycraft. Where I cut my bow rail, I'll try to fit a plastic chair leg protector cap over the cut rail. This should stop water collecting inside the rail and protect anything from getting damaged on the cut end.

Thx everyone.
    -left side mount gives better vision when driving, I hadnt thought of that, duhhhh, thank god for ausfish.
    - mount the plate at an angle across the gunnel. Yes, I had thought of that, but I was trying to only cut one section of railing. I guess it needs to be at more of an angle than in this photo (attached)...... I might have to cut 2 or 3 sections of rail, but I can live with that.

- a swivel bracket for the sounder is just what I had in mind. I will get that sorted.

Many thanks for all the good input, especially JT, those pics are just what I wanted mate. I'll let you know if I need any help.

Last edited by the gecko; 12-04-2007 at 12:42 PM. Reason: spelling error

The guy who sold me the boat said his mate got a bracket that mounts right onto the borw rail itself. He thinks you can get em at Whitworths?

I dismissed this idea. I think the clasp wont be strong enough to grip a rail and might come loose under way. Im also concerned about theft - it would be easy to unbolt. The motor is padlocked to the quick release bracket and suitable to be left on the boat. If the bracket itself can be removed easily then so can the motor....

Good idea tho, let us know if you solve the issues, and design a rail bracket. They make a 48" and 54" shaft to cover extra distance.

Well heres the result, just for those who might be interested for thier own boat.

I tell you what, its a scary thing taking a hacksaw to your pride and joy.....
    I made the cut on the bow rail and put some rubber caps on the ends from bunnings. The 3 bolts on the plate worked fine, and I put some marine carpet between the plate and gunnels instead of rubber grommets.

Ive done a few trips and it all works fine. Thanks to everyone for the input, especially JT who offered to help cut up my boat, lol.

The battery will get mounted below deck, and the sounder will go on a swivel bracket in front of the side consol.

Looks great Andrew, feels good to have done it yourself too.

If you were worried about cutting off the bow rail, wait until you get out the hole saw to put in livewell drains or bilge pump outlets in the hull - that's scary, I think I measured those two jobs about 1000 times before I cut the holes.:undecided::undecided:

See you on the water.

Last edited by JT; 10-05-2007 at 03:41 PM.